Ratings based on 1,856 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NEW YORK

BED BUGS

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: YES CLEAN UP THE BED BUGS
Do Not Book this hotel. It is infested with Bed Bugs. The Hotel staff and Management confirmed that the hotel has Bed Bugs. But it does not seems that they are willing to do anything about clearing it up. There are previous reviews that states that the hotel has bed bugs and report it to the staff . But they still did not do anything about clearing it up. They continued to book the rooms and visitors are still getting bits. My family and I stayed for a few days and all of us were bitten with several rashes and itching. We are afraid that the bugs might have come back with us. So we now have to get our home treated. This is a very serious and dangerous health issue that can cause contagious infections. Therefore the low hotel rate, the free breakfast does not really worth it. You will have to send much more for the pain and suffering it will cost you and your family to deal with the bed bugs bit and the cost to clean it up from your personal belongings and home. SO BE WARNED.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shawforth, Lancashire

Good location

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Pros: Central location
Cons: I found the mattresses a little strange for my taste but comfortable enough. After all we were in Holland.
Location: Very easy access to trams, central station, shopping and Red Light District, We had a 48 hr public transport pass
Hotel is only 5-10 mins from the Central Station and Amsterdam Centre.. Hotel comfortable enough don't expect 5 * but clean and warm. Buffet Breakfast very good. There is luggage storage if you arrive early and we were allowed into our room before 1500. Definitely use again as very good value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2018 by Chanel, Hotel Management
Dear Philip, Thank you for your kind review! We are happy to hear that you had a great time in Amsterdam and that the hotel was on the right place for you. We are sorry to hear that the mattress was not what you would prefer but unfortunately we could not do anything about it. We hope that we may welcome you back in the future! Kind regards, Chanel Reception
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Athens, ga

Good hotel in a nice location

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Good hotel in a nice spot close to central station, dam square, and the red light. Hotel had a pretty basic room, but got the job done for a night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2018 by Chanel , Hotel Management
Dear Greg, Thank you for your review We are happy to hear that our hotel is on a good spot for you! If we may welcome you back in the future and you would like to stay longer, i would than recommend to book a double deluxe room. That is a renovated and bigger room. Kind regards, Chanel Reception
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HK

Location is good, but room is tiny

Posted Jan 1, 2018
Hotel location is great which is in walking distance to Amsterdam central station and other attraction. But room is too small.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2018 by Chanel , Hotel Management
Dear Alice, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that the room where you stayed in was to small for you. If you did let us know during your stay in our hotel than we could look in the system if we could move you to a bigger room. If we may welcome you back in the future, please let us know that you were here before and that you would prefer a bigger room. Kind regards, Chanel Reception
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

This is a good basic hotel in the centre

Posted Dec 29, 2017
Pros: Clean tidy and central location
Cons: Nothing
Location: This is a central hotel the best of Amsterdam is on hand
We turned up early not only the hotel take our bags not also booked us in so when we came back later in the day we only had to collect our key Room was clean and tidied daily, staff were very helpful at all times
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2018 by Chanel , Hotel Management
Dear Norman, Thank you for you for your kind review. We are happy to hear that you had a great time in the Avenue hotel during your stay in Amsterdam. Also that our location is one of the best is very nice to hear! We hope that we may welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Chanel Reception
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location

Posted Dec 19, 2017
The first room we were given was not nice. It was small, dingey, with a view to a brick wall and down into the cellar. We asked to move rooms and the staff were very willing to help and left a card and bottle of wine in the room for my friend’s birthday. The second room was larger with a nice view and comfortable furnishings. Overall, the stay was acceptable once we had a nicer room and the central location is great as it is within waking distance and a tram stop outside. Would go back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from warrington, cheshire ,uk

nice hotel close to central Amsterdam

Posted Dec 19, 2017
very nice ,cozy hotel and close to central Amsterdam , good breakfast buffet , very clean room and will definitely be going back for another visit
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from salt lake

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Great location ! Ok rooms ! Location is the key factor !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: bathroom cleanliness
great location, easy walk to major touristy spots.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from amsterdam

Hotel avenue

Posted Dec 10, 2017
The bathroom was terrible size ok if you are a child. The toilet was virtually on top of sink and shower. Clean but so small you were unable to move. Staff could do with some manners. Hello goodbye would be a start. Breakfast was very good. A little cramped due to tables so close. Bed was comfortable and basic ie bedside tables and desk. Only a lift to the floors using key card which they do not tell you about. Plus side close to Dam square station and shop