Ratings based on 861 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Mediocre quality does not match expensive rate

Posted Apr 22, 2018
The only good thing about this hotel is the wonderful staff: the manager who was very friendly and accommodating, the attendant who prepared a wonderful breakfast and was always smiling and was eager to assist guests requests. Now the downside: the room was small and not enough lighting. Toiletries were scant - it only provided a shampoo/body soap combo through a dispenser (I thought that dispensers are only used in public toilets!). The towels were soiled and worn out. We were on the ground floor and when we took a shower the bathroom floor got flooded. If the rate is lower, I might be able to recommend this hotel to somebody considering its proximity to the Grand Central station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2018
Would definitely stay there again. Great value. Central location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

A good choice

Posted Apr 4, 2018
A couple of minutes walk from Central Station, close to everything. The immediate area caters more for backpackers; as a local friend said: "I didn't know a married man could stay in this area." Well, in this hotel he certainly can: very clean, very tasteful, very quiet (I had a room towards the back), good value breakfast, lovely staff. There was even a farewell bag of goodies. Of course little space hey, this is Amsterdam centre, but do you go there to stay at the hotel? Only negative was the pillow: too thick for my liking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Nice hotel in central Amsterdam.

Posted Mar 28, 2018
Location: Near centraal station, Dam Square, Red light district and central shopping area
Great location. Clean room. Staff very friendly and helpful. Ideal for a short stay in this vibrant city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful staff in a convenient location

Posted Mar 20, 2018
The hotel is right in the middle of the red light district, a 5 minute walk from the central train station. So, right in the middle of tourist-land, which has its positives and negatives - lots going on and great access to transit, but it is very touristy, you'll be well served by getting to other parts of the city. I was pleasantly surprised that the hotel was quiet. I can't say enough about how kind and professional the staff are - I travel frequently and folks at the Luxer are among the top of anywhere I've stayed.t location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 11, 2018
Good location, very clean Excellent for a short stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Close to red light district

Posted Mar 10, 2018
Pros: It was close to the train station.
Cons: na
Location: It's in the red light district so there's plenty to see and do.
We stayed just one night and chose this hotel due to it's proximity to the Centraal Station. We had to catch a flight the next morning so it worked out well. The room was small but it served it's purpose. The bathroom is tiny and the blow dryer only worked for 30 seconds at a time. If you want to be close to the action of the red light district this is the place to be. There's a bar/eating area when you walk in. They have breakfast in the morning that starts at 8, but we left too early in the morning to be able to check it out. The room was clean and the staff was friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hole near the action but incredibly cold

Posted Feb 11, 2018
This is a great hotel, it is not too expensive and is located right at the center of the action in Amsterdam. The room was very nice and clean, but it was INCREDIBLY cold this is the only reason I would not recommend it. I doubled up my comforter and was still cold, just be prepared.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philippines

Good location.

Posted Jan 9, 2018
It took us awhile to find the hotel as the frontage is quite small. The sign was not visible at all as only the word "hotel" was lit from the outside. Location was very convenient.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2 days at the Luxer

Posted Jan 8, 2018 on Hotels
GREAT LOCATION. Unbelievable location. You can walk everywhere - and the staff are very very nice.