Ratings based on 551 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peachland, BC, Canada

Great city centre hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: It had character but was modern, clean and convenient.
Cons: Improve the heating system. The room was chilly but the heater did not work.
Location: Right in the heart of Amsterdam. All the main attractions within walking distance
We could easily walk to the hotel from the central train station. Despite the downtown location the room was quite quiet. The breakfast was excellent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Sep 14, 2017
The room was well appointed and the staff super friendly. We loved everything about this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Irene, Hotel Management
Dear Tyson, Thank you for your nice review. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay at hotel Sint Nicolaas. We also would like to thank you for your nice comments on our staff. This is really appreciated. We hope to welcome you back again very soon! Have a wonderful day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Amsterdam Hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: Position, excellent accommodation and helpful staff . Very good value.
Location: Close to Centraal Station and a short walk to Damrak for Boat Trips and Shopping, within easy walking distance of Dam Square
Very Pleasant Hotel a short walk from Amsterdam Centraal Station and with easy access to the transport system to reach any parts of the city. Good breakfast, no restaurant but plenty of restaurants to suit all tastes and budget within a few minutes walk. Very helpful staff and rooms were clean an well serviced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by Irene, Hotel Management
Dear Bob, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this nice review. It is great to read that you had a wonderful stay at hotel Sint Nicolaas. How great to read such nice comments on our staff. This is really appreciated. We hope to welcome you back again very soon! We wish you a great day!
5 out of 5
by Frank

Downtown Amsterdam

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
No air conditioning, but the weather cooperated. Great location for downtown access. Would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by Kelly Frieser, Hotel Management
Dear Frank, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our location. We appreciate your feedback on the air conditioning. We realize it could get hot in summer, however this is not something we currently have in every room. This is also known on all booking sites. It is advisable to check the hotel website before your stay, to see what it offers, to avoid disappointment. Air conditioning is not very common in hotels in Northern Europe. We do have fans in every room. Fantastic to hear that you would stay at hotel Sint Nicolaas again. We hope to welcome you back anytime soon! Have a wonderful day!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 8, 2017 on Hotels
Close to train station and other transport hubs and restaurants. Clean, friendly and central. Wifi worked but could have been better
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2017 by Kelly Frieser, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay at hotel Sint Nicolaas. We appreciate your feedback on our Wi-Fi. We will take a look at this and try to fix this problem as soon as possible. We hope to welcome you back again very soon. We wish you a wonderful day!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: Location
Close to the Centraal Station, which is why I chose this hotel, as I had an early flight out. The hotel itself was just ok - I found the check-in staff fairly unfriendly and unprofessional. The room I was assigned did not match the photos on the website - it was less attractively decorated but did have a double bed (I had only reserved a single), which was a nice bonus. Overall the experience was fine, but not great. I would say this hotel is good if you just need a place to stay for a night if you need easy access to the Centraal station, but wouldn't otherwise strongly recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Irene, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is great to read that you enjoyed our location. We appreciate your feedback on our staff. We are sorry to hear they did not meet your standards. We will take this internally with our staff members to make sure this will not happen again. All our rooms have different shapes and sizes. We are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your room. We hope you have let our reception staff know about this so they could have done their best to move you to a room at your liking. We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back again. We wish you a wonderful evening!
4 out of 5
by Steve

Great trip.

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, 5 minute walk from Central train station. The rooms in the hotel look like they've just been refurbished.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Kelly Frieser, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay at hotel Sint Nicolaas. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this nice review this is really appreciated. I am so glad to read that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and that you liked our refurbished rooms. We are looking forward to welcome you back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
Second year at staying here, great location, very friendly staff, nice breakfast, very nice rooms
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Kelly Frieser, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your nice review. It is great to read that you stayed with us for the second time. We also would like to thank you for your nice comments on our staff. This is really appreciated. We hope to welcome you again very soon! Have a nice day!
5 out of 5
by zeeva

Happy stay at Sint Nicolaas.

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
Nice and clean centrally located close to public transportation. Very good breakfast. Close to good restaurants. Free WiFi. We recommend the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by Kelly Frieser, Hotel Management
Dear Zeeva, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is great to read that you had a great stay at hotel Sint Nicolaas. How great to read that you enjoyed our breakfast and location. Fantastic to hear that you would recommend hotel Sint Nicolaas. We hope to welcome you back anytime soon. We wish you a pleasant day!
4 out of 5
by Helena

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels