Ratings based on 6,498 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Decent hotel with a great central location

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: The central location is wonderful. As far as Amsterdam goes, this is priced reasonably. Friendly staff. Umbrellas. Lounge downstairs to rest.
Cons: Frequent plane noise, stiff mattress, small slow TV that had problems turning on, no conditioner in bathroom, high price for breakfast
Location: Right next to a tram stop, in the heart of central Amsterdam, plenty of restaurants, bars, and museums nearby
It was raining when we arrived, but the walk from the train station is less than ten minutes, so we didn't get too wet. It's also possible to take the tram to a stop right outside the hotel -- you can get tickets on-board, so no need to figure anything out. Check in was very friendly and let us know that we could get umbrellas at the front at any time. The room was decent. We had problems turning on the TV and switching channels takes forever. The trick to turn ours on was to press the menu button right after turning it on, then change a channel. We were going to request maintenance, but we were tired and had a short stay. We also noticed frequent planes flying overhead which were surprisingly loud. The mattress was quite stiff. But these problems aside, we were still able to sleep just fine. The location is great. You can walk to anything central and take the tram (which has a stop just outside) most other places. Overall, a decent hotel for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highly Recommend

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Everything, couldn't fault it
Cons: nothing
Location: Centrally located for museums, restaurants, bars etc.
Staff, facilities and location all excellent. Well worth a stay
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

City central location as a base to explore from

Posted Sep 16, 2017
We stayed in a superior room for 3 nights. We found the room to be clean, although in need of a little updating. Despite the location right in the centre, it was reasonably quiet but our room did not have much of a view. The bathroom was clean and adequate but shower in a bath is a bit old fashioned. There was a TV (with British channels), a fridge, a kettle and hairdryer. The mini bar in the room was way overpriced. €4.95 for a bottle of water is ridiculous. Considering the price it would have been nice to have had some free water at least. The breakfast is continental breakfast buffet and again at €18 is very expensive. We ate out! The location is good as it's only 10 minutes walk to the train station and in walking distance of most major sights and transport like the tram and boat rides. It was my birthday whilst there and they did leave me a card, a balloon and a biscuit so that was a nice touch. Overall it was a decent experience but is probably more 3 star than 4.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Amsterdam City Break

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Clean and basic. Central location.
Cons: Window in room did not close.
Location: Great location in centre of city.
Central location. Clean and tidy. Basic 4 star hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Excellent location

Posted Sep 15, 2017
It was OK. Hideous decor! Very well lovayed and excellent access to main train lines
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great staff, close to train station

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Short walk from the train station which saved us €40 each way on airport transfers. We took the train to and from the airport which cost €5 each way. Staff is so friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Very well positioned hotel for all the attractions

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Very comfortable rooms and great location
Cons: We always eat out for breakfast because we find the hotel to expensive. Its great pity because this our favourite Amsterdam hotel.
Location: There is a lovely bar just a few doors away called In de Wildeman (250 different beers) our favourite place. Hotel is ideally situated for everywhere.
This my 5th stay at this hotel. The staff are very polite and extremely helpful. The rooms are well looked after and spotlessly clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston TX

Great Hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Hotel was great and the staff were friendly and provided us maps and train tickets at the front desk. The room itself was very comfortable and it was a great location. The hotel is located a few minutes walk from the train station, the tram is right outside and great places to eat around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cork. Ireland

Very central. Great location.

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Check in was very efficient and staff very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Very good apart from the room service they was very earlie and woke me up and they left dirty glasses.