Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

2.1 out of 5
30% of guests recommend
2.3 Room cleanliness
2.1 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
1.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Visit to Amsterdam

Posted Dec 15, 2017
First of all, this is not a real hotel. This is a building with rooms that happen to have locked doors. When I was preparing to arrive at the hotel I messaged the hotel via the Expedia app. I was told there were no special instruction to check into the hotel and they would see me at 3:00PM. I arrived at the "hotel" at 3:00PM, I rang the door bell many times to no avail. I had to borrow a phone since I did not have cell service while I was outside of the U.S. A woman answered the phone and said she would be there in a minute to. I waited for 30 minutes in the rain before she arrived. After she let me in she informed me I needed to pay her in cash, I did not have cash. I had to borrow $40USD in order for her to give me a key and then I would have to figure out how to get the rest of the cash before the end of the night. The stairs are extremely small, steep, and dangerous (she placed me on the top floor). She provided me with wifi but told me I would have to walk down 2 flights of stairs if I wanted to access the wifi. The room was spacious but the heater did not work and I slept four nights in the freezing cold. The blankets are pretty small and did not provide much warmth. I could hear the "manager" walk up and down the stairs talking at early hours and late at night. I do not recommend this location to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2017 by MAGGY, Hotel Management
CHECKIN start at 16.00clock AND YES CASH PAYMENT MAGGY
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
we loved it. Lovely friendly staff. A great base to explore Amsterdam. If you want five stars then don't book here. It was perfect for our needs. Will definitely stay here again.
1 out of 5
by Leonard

NIGHTMARE-AVOID

Posted May 26, 2017 on Hotels
When I arrived in the afternoon it was locked up, phoned the number given, simply hung up, after waiting 2 hours managed to get a dutchman to call.3 HOURS BEFORE GAINING ENTRY!!! When she arrived blamed me,DEMANDED CASH ONLY FOR PAYMENT -take it or leave it, knowing she was always going to be paid via HOTEL.COM,if you walked away Luckily I only stayed overnight, it was lousy nothing good to say about it except Location. Hotel.com customer services were of NO help, simply said ring back in a hour, unable to raise my reservation on their system.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very close by to everything.

Posted Feb 13, 2017
The sign needs to be bigger, we walked round for a hour to look for the room as there was no sign for the hotel. The stairs were also very steep but apart from that everything was standard.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disgusting

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Very rude lady banging on the door to pay the bill which I thought was paid online like all other bookings before the following morning. Very disgusted and will not be staying there again
4 out of 5
by Martin from Wednesbury

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
Can't fault the place really exactly what we needed.
1 out of 5
by Karen from Wilmington

Maggies Flea Pit !!

Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
An absolutely shocking experience for a shocking price and even had the cheek to charge cleaning fees!! We shared a room for 3 adults - 2 single beds and a z-bed ! At a total cost of €245 ! This was not a hotel room - up 4 flights of dangerously narrow dingy stairs into dark dingy brown room with one small dim light - brown sheets, brown wallpaper and ceiling - what were they hiding? On our departure money was swiftly taken by a different person with no questions of how we enjoyed our stay! The note on the shabby and grubby front door said - Please do not slam the door - so we did heartily on the way out! Good Riddance !
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

High price and bad condition

Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Hotels
Room was cold and no air conditioner , beds were with only a small cover and we almost froze that night. The bathroom is very very small. They make u pay 35 euro to clean room and its obligation , and you must pay 20 euro more for city taxes. I dont suggest going to this accomodation to anyone ! U will regret ...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, LA. USA

Terrible Hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: It was close to the Train Station & to see the City with the Ships.
The Hotel is not a clean Place. It was terrible & dirty. I would not recommend it to anyone. It also was very hard to find, I had asked several Peoplem & nobody knew where it was, till one Person had said & showed us the Place. It was only a Door with no signed . My Grand Child even told me, that she would not take a Shower in this dirty Hotel & she did not. They send us to the thirth Floor & I had a terrible time to get up those Steps. I'm also a Mobility Impaired Person & as I said they send us to the 3rd Floor on those real steep small Steps. I will never go to Amsterdam.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

worst guest house in Amsterdam

Posted Apr 25, 2015 on Hotels
Worst night of the stay 6 flights of stairs poor customer service