Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Amazing experience

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: The hotel was clean, modern, with simple décor and helpful, friendly staff at a great location
Location: It is right in front of the palace, with plenty of things to walk to and see near by. Also a short walk to the train station.
The hotel staff were extremely courteous, professional and helpful. When we asked for an early check in, they offered us a different room and told us if we weren't happy with the room we could move back to the original reservation. When decided to move to the original room we reserved and they took time to show us several options. We ended up in an beautiful suite with a perfect view of the city and canal. Location was convenient to site seeing and the train station. We will definitely visit and stay at this hotel again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Great hotel, handy for all the city centre.

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Modern, clean, comfortable and great location.
Cons: Extra milk for coffee in the room.
Location: Fab location for all the city centre activities.
Great hotel, clean, friendly efficient and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Basingstoke, Hampshire

Lovely experience

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: Welcoming, accommodating staff, clean and pleasant.
Cons: Nothing!
The hotel is situated on Dam 9 and opens straight onto Dam Square with the Palace opposite. Turn right on to Damrak and wander up through all the shops to the port and train station. It's very central and a pleasant mixture of vibrant and restful. The hotel is elegant with plenty of open space, restaurants and a very welcoming 'Tailors' Bar. We stayed 2 nights/3 days and the experience of staying at the Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky was perfect.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Bed bugs

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Wayne read Jane Langton-smith Booking :7285727327558 Expedia To-from:22/9/17 to 27/9/17 When myself and parter Arrived at the Grand hotel krasnapolsky. We first thoughts was what a lovely hotel. But firstly we was offended apartment with five flights of stairs and on first appearance was very grim. We turned it down . Anyway that is not our reason for the complaint. We was then offered a superior room4106 with which we accepted. First we thought what a lovely room but we could not check in until3pm and it's now midday . We checked in at 3pm , unpacked, got changed and went out for evening. We returned to hotel after lovely evening when to bed. I was awoken at approx 4.30am with itchy skin. Went to bathroom and turned lights on and found to my horror that I had been bitten. Approx 16/18bites. I went back to bed very itchy and very sore. Woke up in morning with more bites. (20/26bites) very itchy and sore . At first i thought their were mosquito bites. So went to pharmacy and purchased antiseptic cream. And continued with our stay. The second night in room 4106. I wasn't sure if I been bitten again because I was so itchy already. But the third night , I awoke again to find I had been bitten on my hands 9 more . I did not sleep at all that night. In morning I wanted to wash and dry my hair (hairdryer) wasn't working . So went to reception , Where I told the receptionist about hairdryer not working and I mentioned my bites .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Kudos to Krasnapolsky!!

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Location and staff.
Location: It's centrally located especially for trams.
We arrived early before check-in but had asked (in advance) if we could leave our luggage to explore Amsterdam until 3pm. They said "of course". They allowed us to have an apt. at no extra charge. We were situated on the canal behind the hotel. The hotel is in the center of everything - museums, palace, trams, restaurants, red light district, etc. Their breakfast buffet is the way to go. The staff was spot on - very helpful with directions & suggestions. We'd go back again - it was a delightful experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Friendly and helpful.

Posted Sep 13, 2017
From check in to check out, I found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly. Hotel lobby and the welcoming drinks were nice. Location of the hotel was excellent! Only con I would say is that one day the house keeping forgot to clean my room. However as as soon as I complained to the concierge, the staff were very apologetic and when I returned back to my hotel in the evening,my room was clean. Overall a good experience at the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Great stay

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Location , welcoming and comfortable.
Cons: Sound proofing with other rooms. Could hear people walking above and using bathrooms.
Location: Great location and plenty of restaurants, shops, transportation links and sites to see nearby.
Welcoming staff and easy check in. Plenty of staff there to help with any enquiries and even gave us an umbrella to use when it was raining.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great location!!

Posted Sep 10, 2017
From the hotel I was able to walk to all of the places I interesting to visit. These staff was very nice, friendly and helpful. I forgot my make-up bag and they save it for me. This was not my first time on the NH Collection, I stayed in Argentina, Frankfurt, Madrid and now in Amsterdam.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Amazing hotel in a fabulous loacation!

Posted Sep 7, 2017
We came to Amsterdam as a 21st birthday present for my boyfriend. On arrival, the hotel upgraded us to a gorgeous room! All attractions and activities are within walking distance - absolutely amazing, would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Location is the key.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Great location..clean with all the amenities one would expect. The building is old and rooms are small, but everything is kept clean and presentable even with the number of guests turned over daily. The hotel has several small elevators throughout and that was a bit uncomfortable at times. The staff was efficient and friendly throughout. I would expect more for the price at breakfast. However the room is beautiful and food was fine. But you can easily fine something else better for less. I would recommend this hotel because of location and all comforts .Also, Hotel bar was nice and casual.