Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield,California

Nic and roomy room close to the canal.

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: All I can say is everything.
Cons: The hotel alley is quite dark at night and a light would be great.
Location: Everything is so close by your hotel .Tell me where to start.
Staff accommodated me with a wonderful stay with an apartment room overlooking the canal. Will stay again at your lovely hotel upon my next vacation to Amsterdam next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but bit overprices

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Really nice hotel. Check in took little bit too long. Car park shouldn’t be changed for a guest. But overall highly recommend. Excellent location!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2017 by Herman Klok – Hotel Director, Hotel Management
Dear sir/madam, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We are delighted to be informed that you were satisfied with the services provided in NH Collection Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky. We are all looking forward to welcome you here again! With kindest regards, Herman Klok – Hotel Director
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Excellent central location

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Location was excellent right on Dam Square, could walk to most attractions and 5 minute walk to tram stop. Lot of shops, food places on your doorstep. Staff extremely friendly. House keeping could be better, had to request it on 2nd day. Had to ask for top up of tea/coffee/milk, other than that no other complaints! Would definitely stay there again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2017 by Herman Klok – Hotel Director, Hotel Management
Dear sir/madam, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We are delighted to be informed that you were satisfied with the services provided in NH Collection Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky. We are all looking forward to welcome you here again! With kindest regards, Herman Klok – Hotel Director
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

Noisiest Hotel I've ever stayed in

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Staff very friendly and helpful. Room clean and well presented Good location Use of the gym in the sister hotel a 4 minute jog down the road was good
Cons: carpet the rooms . Do something about the sound proofing of the bay windows Gym is pleasant but the treadmill needed balancing and belt tightening
Location: Easy to walk to most of the attractions Plenty of places to eat and drink close by
We had a superior room in the separate building on the side of the hotel. As this wasn't facing the square we thought it would be quieter. Very wrong. Didn't sleep for the three nights we there. The noise from the street below is as if we were on the ground floor with the windows wide open. If that was bad enough the wood floors mean every movement in the room above is transmitted down as loud bangs I don't know if the rooms in the main building are any better but I would definitely avoid staying in the rooms on the side of the hotel I was pleased to be able to used the gym in the sister hotel a 4 minute jog away as running around Amsterdam with the bikes and pedestrians is impossible
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear sir/madam, First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. The team and I feel humbled by your kind words. I will make sure to share your compliments with the rest of the team, for whom it was a treat to assist you during your stay. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again at the NH Collection Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky. With kindest regards, Herman Klok – Hotel Director
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Amazing experience

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: The hotel was clean, modern, with simple décor and helpful, friendly staff at a great location
Location: It is right in front of the palace, with plenty of things to walk to and see near by. Also a short walk to the train station.
The hotel staff were extremely courteous, professional and helpful. When we asked for an early check in, they offered us a different room and told us if we weren't happy with the room we could move back to the original reservation. When decided to move to the original room we reserved and they took time to show us several options. We ended up in an beautiful suite with a perfect view of the city and canal. Location was convenient to site seeing and the train station. We will definitely visit and stay at this hotel again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Great hotel, handy for all the city centre.

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Modern, clean, comfortable and great location.
Cons: Extra milk for coffee in the room.
Location: Fab location for all the city centre activities.
Great hotel, clean, friendly efficient and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Basingstoke, Hampshire

Lovely experience

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: Welcoming, accommodating staff, clean and pleasant.
Cons: Nothing!
The hotel is situated on Dam 9 and opens straight onto Dam Square with the Palace opposite. Turn right on to Damrak and wander up through all the shops to the port and train station. It's very central and a pleasant mixture of vibrant and restful. The hotel is elegant with plenty of open space, restaurants and a very welcoming 'Tailors' Bar. We stayed 2 nights/3 days and the experience of staying at the Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky was perfect.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Bed bugs

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Wayne read Jane Langton-smith Booking :7285727327558 Expedia To-from:22/9/17 to 27/9/17 When myself and parter Arrived at the Grand hotel krasnapolsky. We first thoughts was what a lovely hotel. But firstly we was offended apartment with five flights of stairs and on first appearance was very grim. We turned it down . Anyway that is not our reason for the complaint. We was then offered a superior room4106 with which we accepted. First we thought what a lovely room but we could not check in until3pm and it's now midday . We checked in at 3pm , unpacked, got changed and went out for evening. We returned to hotel after lovely evening when to bed. I was awoken at approx 4.30am with itchy skin. Went to bathroom and turned lights on and found to my horror that I had been bitten. Approx 16/18bites. I went back to bed very itchy and very sore. Woke up in morning with more bites. (20/26bites) very itchy and sore . At first i thought their were mosquito bites. So went to pharmacy and purchased antiseptic cream. And continued with our stay. The second night in room 4106. I wasn't sure if I been bitten again because I was so itchy already. But the third night , I awoke again to find I had been bitten on my hands 9 more . I did not sleep at all that night. In morning I wanted to wash and dry my hair (hairdryer) wasn't working . So went to reception , Where I told the receptionist about hairdryer not working and I mentioned my bites .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Beautiful hotel. Stylish, modern, clean and comfortable. In a perfect location. Helpful staff. Couldn't fault it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Kudos to Krasnapolsky!!

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Location and staff.
Location: It's centrally located especially for trams.
We arrived early before check-in but had asked (in advance) if we could leave our luggage to explore Amsterdam until 3pm. They said "of course". They allowed us to have an apt. at no extra charge. We were situated on the canal behind the hotel. The hotel is in the center of everything - museums, palace, trams, restaurants, red light district, etc. Their breakfast buffet is the way to go. The staff was spot on - very helpful with directions & suggestions. We'd go back again - it was a delightful experience.