Ratings based on 267 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Romford

Central location

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Super basic room ,clean but did not match photo Also the tulip is next door from where I stayed ,it’s a bit Of a mismatch
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Looks bigger in the pictures

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Was not happy at the start but grew with time. hostel type rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price

Posted Aug 28, 2017 on Hotels
It was very run down. Utilitarian. My sheet had a suspicious looking stain that looked remarkably like a blood drop. No air con, which is to be expected, but only one window opened, and barely. They were renovating, and construction woke us up extremely early... they also seemed shocked to see us come out. Not worth the 168 euros for one night. Admittedly, it was a last minute on a Saturday booking, and right in the heart of Amsterdam... so it served it's purpose. I wouldn't stay here again, especially at that price. The photos online did not look anything like what we got.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Absolute worst experience in a hotel of my life

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
Completely unacceptable. Hotel staff accidentally put us in the wrong room and halfway through the evening they let strangers in. When realizing their mistake they removed OUR THINGS and put US in a different room! Not the new people. The hotel staff forgot remove our wallets hidden under our pillows and while we were away the new people took all of our cash. We had to cancel all of our credit cards. The manager refused to talk to us and also refused to refund our money the next morning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but terrible condition

Posted Jul 1, 2017
The hotel has good location. However, I personally won't recommend it because the room was super small and so uncomfortable. We booked a room with two single bed but we couldnt sleep there because of very bad smell! Then we asked to change our room, and th they gave us another one with bunk bed. The room was in the centre of the lobby and it was so small for us. Plus, it wasn't possible to sleep because of people talking in the lobby and other noises in the street. So all together it wasn't good experience for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, great price

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Very clean and comfortable.
Cons: The stairs are challenging, but that's Amsterdam.
The staff was helpful and my room was always clean. When I visit a city, I like to walk to get an idea about the place. This location is right in the center near Dam Square and Central Station. Most cities, the area around the train station can be sketchy, but not Amsterdam. Easy access to all trams and trains from here.
4 out of 5
by Darren

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly staff. Room was adequate. Good location. Would stay again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Of Mice and Men

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Overall the hotel wasn't bad. It was pretty much as expected. The coolest thing, however, we're the mice you could hear scampering through the walls. Definitely no need for an alarm clock.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good price, excellent location,

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
Myself and my wife stayed here and we both thought it was really good. Read a lot of bad reviews none seemed to apply to are stay. Two things that come to mind are the stairs are steep but most places are like this in Amsterdam, they also had a lift however. The second is the shower took 5 mins to warm up and when you have that right temperature do not touch the settings as it can suddenly go cold haha. Would definitely stay there again as price is right and location is great. Finally note if your used to 5 star don't go here haha
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Didn't like any of it
Cons: Air conditioning, new beds, new bathrooms.
Location: The location was good.
This Hostel was terrible it had no air conditioning, the beds were very uncomfortable & there is no fire escape on the top floor, called the orange tulip hostel, & it was expensive.