Ratings based on 1,371 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from UK

cental, basic hotel close to most amenities

Posted Feb 20, 2018
Pros: Centrally located, within walking distance of most major attractions. Rooms very clean, warm & comfortable. Staff excellent, friendly & helpful.
Cons: Tea/coffee facilities in the rooms, as I did miss my cuppa first thing, although you can buy it in the lounge.
Location: Close to all the touristy places, Damrak, Rembrandtplein, Red light area, loads of coffee shops, restaurants & bars, beside the canal.
Overall satisfied though did ask for first floor due to mobility issues was given 3rd floor as work was being carried out on 1st floor. Staff wonderful, helpful & friendly. Basic rooms but what else do you need when visiting a city as wonderful as Amsterdam.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Budapest

Posted Feb 12, 2018
Cozy canal party hotel with large rooms. It offers good transport options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel walking distance from everything

Posted Jan 30, 2018
Great place really friendly staff. Hotels a hidden gem with it being cheap but very accommodating. Beer was nice there not a modern hotel but a very friendly nice place to stay would happily go back anytime :-)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms

Posted Jan 22, 2018
We was sat in the lobby and two families came downstairs and complained about mould being in there room and the woman was also pregnant, then another person came down and complained about her window been smashed and when she stood on her floor it was wet like standing in a puddle, which you don’t want after been traveling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Authentic Hotel

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Pros: Everything!
Location: Central, but felt residential. On the side of a canal, with a church at the end.
Fabulous experience. Charming gentleman on the front desk who upgraded my double room to an apartment. Fresh fruit, milk, tea and coffee were provided. Copious amounts of hot water and constant heating. One of the best bits - the windows opened fully, on to a little residential lane, and the church bells rang every quarter of an hour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Petersburg, Florida, USA

great experience, great location

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Pros: the people, the atmosphere, the location
Cons: It's great just the way it is.
This was my first trip to Amsterdam, and I could not have been happier that I chose this hotel. The people that own this hotel and work there are really wonderful people. You can tell it comes naturally to them to make you feel welcome, comfortable, and they are just generally good people. As far as the hotel, so it isn't a 5-star luxury suite, and they will be the first to admit this, but you won't get a better location at the cost. The location is really amazing. So if you are looking for a place to stay where people treat you like family, and you can walk a short distance in any direction to see most everything, this is your place. If you are looking to stay in your super-fancy room all day and night, not do anything else, and not get a real experience of this amazing city and its people, go ahead and look for another more expensive, fake place to stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from england

Ok hotel. Close to the centre

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Staff were great . Hotel is ok . No tv in rooms though and oward only given hand towels to have a shower.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol UK

Really great location

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Was hard to find as only signage we saw said 'Hotel' & the number 27 on the building. But is located in a lovely quiet street on one of the many canals in the Rembrandt area. Obviously these buildings are old but of great architecture & was clean & tastefully decorated. Unfortunately this means no lift to upper floors which are accessible via winding staircases, so you should request a lower floor if needed. The room was adequate for a short stay, comfy bed & not much else. Small cupboard wardrobe, chair & compact bathroom with shower, tiny sink & WC. No beverages in room but bar open 24hrs including hot drinks. Surprised by the mirrored walls & ceiling but not a seedy hotel. Unfortunately our view was straight into another bedroom so we had to keep the curtains drawn. But it was cheap & I would stay again as it was ideal for exploring Amsterdam & we only used the hotel to sleep & the mattress was comfy which you don't always achieve in a more expensive hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, private and on a canal

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: Traditiional European amenities.
Cons: A light fare of food at the bar might do nicely.
Location: It's in a canal network, so walking around will give you a feel of Old Amsterdam. Rembrandtplein and many high-end restaurants are nearby,
Rembrandtplein Hotel is one of those places easy to miss when in Europe, especially if you like the corporate big-box atmpsphere. Located on a canal and street named Groenburgwald just north of Amsterdam's Rembrandtplein, it can be a bit hard to find on the first walk-through. But it is nice, and the staff (mostly Romanian or Slovakian) keep the place clean and attractive. There is a nice sitting-bar on the first floor, and the rooms are sealed enough to keep out most of the outside sound away (the church tower nearby that chimes with "I Feel the Wind of God Today" is a nice touch). It's recommended for those who prefer their hotel experience in Europe to be truly old-time European. Families with children may not find enough for kids to do, and the stairs are typically steep with small steps than angle around corners. These are indigenous to most older Amsterdam buildings. There is no elevator. I found it a pleasant four-day stay, and if you like this kind of thing, so will you.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Expected cheap and cheerful- got hell frozen over

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: Leaving!
Cons: Heating and hot water needs to be fixed! its a shame as has so much potential but truly left to rot. No one has cared about this place in a long time
Location: Location is brilliant so close to everything but not worth the stay.(that is what attracted us but seriously not worth it)
Amsterdam is one of our favourite places to visit,its a beautiful city with so much to do and see we were not bothered about where we were staying as it was only somewhere to sleep. Only expected the bare minimum as so cheap and on first arrival it was laughable (the ripped curtains and stained flooring carpets, shower hanging off wall,no plugs for sink or shower,plaster repairs showing on ceiling and walls) these were overlooked because of the price. What you cant excuse is no heating or hot water.Once we reached the top floor where our room was situated you could feel the temperature drop before even entering the room. We made reception aware and were told the issue was being dealt with.On Day 2, after sleeping with all our clothes jumpers jackets and two single duvets and we could still see our breath, we wake up to still no hot water for a shower and still no heating and are palmed off with "its being dealt with". Day 3, frozen cold, feeling dirty and tired after speaking with the "manager, owner I can be it all" we eventually get a portable heater for the room and are told maybe we could shower elsewhere he may know of an apartment but then disappears and then his two colleague's left at the bar say they don't know what is going on. Day 4 a new receptionist is on he moved us rooms to a lower level which was warmer but still no hot water and still a dump. Cant believe Expedia advertises this! AWFUL!