Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Kristine L. from Baltimore, MD

Nice B&B - Great Location!

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels
My husband, his cousin, her husband, and I were only in Amsterdam for one day/night and my husband wanted to go to the Red Light District. The B&B was only a few blocks away, which was perfect. The check-in process was easy. David asked about our plans and gave us an overview of the city - super nice guy. Since we were early, the room wasn't ready, but we were able to leave our luggage while we explored. The room we stayed in did not come with breakfast, but there were all sorts of snacks and drinks in our room that we could help ourselves to. I was very thrown off by the staircase to get to our room!! The room itself was comfy and cozy - perfect for the four of us! Don't hesitate to stay here :)
5 out of 5
by Richard Lewis from Lansdowne, PA

Tulip of Amsterdam, a Blooming Flower of Comfort

Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels
The Tulip of Amsterdam is centrally and conveniently located to the center of the city and all of the major sites we wanted to explore. We liked our room which had a collection of eclectic Dutch themed decor. Our host was friendly and accommodating. She was reliable and made us feel at home. We really appreciated the in-room food supplies and the breakfast room had an incredible variety of foods. We recommend the Tulip of Amsterdam without reservation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Genoa, Nevada

Great location. Great comforts like coffee, drinks

Posted Jul 8, 2014
We were bummed not to get to meet the owners but Nikki was great. Super cute place. Would've like air conditioning as it was so hot the day we were there. Would stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lisa from Nebraska, USA

Peaceful retreat in an urban center location

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: The hosts are hospitable and generous. The breakfast was amazing and the other offerings of support were deeply appreciated!
Cons: Not one thing.
Location: Good Thai, some unique shops, easy walk to many attractions, great advice on 'what to see' from hosts.
The Tulip is conveniently located within walking distance (pulling a suitcase) from Central Station. It quickly became a retreat for me that provided a quiet and comfortable place to recharge. It is within walking distance of so many amazing parts of Amsterdam and is surrounded by good restaurants and shops. The hosts are the best part. They are warm and friendly and bend over backwards to make the time in Amsterdam rewarding and accessible. I am grateful to have found myself at the Tulip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by traveller

Good small B and B

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Lovely welcome from staff, very friendly and helpful. Comfortable room, and self service basic breakfast
5 out of 5
by T & T from Lovettsville, Virginia

First trip to Europe

Posted Oct 5, 2013 on Hotels
This is the first B&B we've ever stayed in and we really enjoyed the house, our room, and our hosts. They were so, so helpful to us in figuring out where we wanted to go in the city and the local areas that were better and safer to visit. They went out of their way to accommodate us. The stairs are definitely narrow and steep. They added a lot of character to the history of the hone. (Although, I would never advise my 80 yr old parents to try to use them.). I highly recommend the Tulip of Amsterdam for its hospitality and location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lisa from Sydney

Short stay in Hamsterjam

Posted Oct 3, 2013
Stayed for 3 nights with two teenage kids in the Studio Room. Great to stay in a traditional canal house in a great location. Staff very friendly and helpful. Only downside was the early morning wake up call from the fish deliveries next door but I guess if you're seeking local colour you have to take it in whatever form it comes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Honeymoon

Posted Sep 8, 2013
Pros: Size of room, ammenities, location, cleanliness.
Cons: Can't be improved- but steep stairs! Cash only.
We stayed at the Tulip B&B for three nights in August 2013 while in Holland on our honeymoon. The owners were on vacation but the people managing the B&B in their absense were very professional and helpful. We were extremely pleased with the room we had- comfortable bed, nice shower, quiet, spacious and nicely decorated. The coffee and breakfast items stocked in our room were appreciated, as was the bottle of wine that welcomed us. The Niewmarkt area immediately surrounding the B&B is very quaint. There was a great market with flower, fruit, vegetable and cheese vendors just outside our door as well as great cafes, restaurants and shops. It was convenient to the heart of the central city, but a few blocks off the main streets which was very nice! We would happily stay here again and would recommend to others!
5 out of 5
by Ed from Los Angeles

Great stay in Amsterdam

Posted Aug 3, 2013 on Hotels
Chris and David offer a warm personal welcome to Amsterdam, and a superb setting to enjoy this great city. Our room was charming and comfy. The self-serve breakfast is great; very generous and accommodates everyone's tastes. Tulip is much more like staying with caring friends who really want you to enjoy their home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sarah from Newcastle NSW, Australia

Would recommend...

Posted Jul 5, 2013
Pros: Location, clean bathroom and comfortable bed.
Cons: Sometimes noisy, but you are in the heart of the city!!!
Location: Great location
We are a young couple who stayed in the double room with ensuite. The room was well equipped and very clean. Breakfast snacks provided were appreciated and we were grateful to have most of the facilities to eat in the room. It is in a very central part of Amsterdam and you can walk pretty much everywhere (to all museums, places of interest etc). Bathroom was nicely renovated and had a good shower head. Bed was comfortable. The only complaint I could think of (and it is really nothing in the scheme of things) was that when people upstairs walked over our main light fixing it rattled!!! Maybe a new light fitting would solve that. We had a most pleasant stay and would definitely stay here again. The owners were friendly and we felt safe, happy and well looked after.