Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Excellent Adventure

Posted Mar 23, 2015
This hotel was amazing. We were the only guests because it was the rainy season and we were treated like royalty. The hospitality was incredible and the food was delicious. We took their kayak tour and saw about 15 Capuchin Monkeys. We hope to go back soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boulder co

Mangrove Kayaking

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: breakfast, monkeys, boa constrictor
Cons: dining room is a bit dated
Location: 15 minutes to Quepos and grocery store 3 minutes away
The gracious owners Bernard and Marlene were very kind and helpful. We took a kayak trip thru the mangroves with Bernard and he was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic in explaining the birds, trees, monkeys and aquatic life. We saw white faced monkeys while kayaking! The breakfasts were very good and internet speed good also. While the dinner was tasty and also quite reasonably priced, the ambience is lacking and we ate by ourselves. The pool was clean and refreshing and we liked that we could use the fridge to store cold drinks . Our room was clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Excellent off the beaten track accommodation

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Pros: The rooms.
Location: Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Hacienda Baru Wildlife Refuge.
The hotel is in the village of Damas a few miles away from Quepos. The rooms are very comfortable, well equipped and maintained with good air conditioning and bathroom amenities. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. There's a nice pool and the breakfast was very good. There is ample parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from k

Quiet and authentic experience.

Posted Jan 14, 2015
We arrived by car late evening and too tired to drive into town. The owner and his wife graciously provided dinner. Felt like we stayed with family. Perfect if youre looking for clean room, quiet stay and friendly staff
5 out of 5
by Evgenia from Madison, WI

highly recomend!

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels
Very cool place. 20 min of driving from Manuel-Antonio, this place is very quite unlike the city. No noise, no bars around. The owner is a very nice guy. he know the area very well and can tell you what are cool things to do. His wife took our flat tire to a city and got patched in an hour after we asked her.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Kayak Lodge is a friendly and welcoming place

Posted Jan 2, 2015 on Hotels
Bernard and his wife are absolutely wonderful guests. The room was spacious and quite clean. It was very hot in Damas and the air conditioner is set to go off each time you open the door. Although we understand the need for this, it must be difficult on the a/c system and makes for a very hot room.The lighting is also difficult because of the types of white bulbs that are used. All in all, the price was decent and we would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely spot well situated to explore the area.

Posted Dec 28, 2014
We were warmly welcomed by Bernard and Marlene who made our stay special. They made us feel at home and gave good guidance about local places of interest plus beaches. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Good old fashion customer care

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Great staff that goes out of the way to take care of all your needs. Bernard has been in the hotel business all his career and knows his stuff, most importantly customer service. The hotel grounds could use a little work. I would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by Familyof6 from Florida

Fantastic local lodge!

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed here based on previous reviews of the property. During rainy season, it was our family of 6 and one other couple. The owners made our stay incredibly comfortable, helped us with everything we needed and truly made us feel at home. When the heater on the shower went out, they had it repaired before we got back that evening. They had early breakfasts for us on days we wanted to start out before the 7am breakfast time. They booked wonderful tours for us and even managed to find a guide for us one afternoon within 20 minutes of our asking! If you are looking for a clean, comfortable, spacious place to stay that gives you the true flavor of the local culture, this is your place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Glenna from Vancouver, Canada

An incredible introduction to a wonderful country.

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Location approx l0 minutes away from Quepos and Manuel Antonio. Perfect if you have a car..
Could not say enough about the staff at this hotel. They are very proud and want nothing other than to please. They gave us so much information about where to go and and what to do, and were all excellent suggestions. Staff made even made arrangements at no cost to have our l8 year old go out with other people while we just wanted to relax. Kayak tours in the mangroves a worth while experience. Place is a ten minute drive to Quepos, and Manuel Antonio Park. Nice to get out of the tourist trap, Very clean, updated, and they have a delicious breakfast Would strongly recommend and go back.