Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Excellent Adventure

Posted Mar 23, 2015
This hotel was amazing. We were the only guests because it was the rainy season and we were treated like royalty. The hospitality was incredible and the food was delicious. We took their kayak tour and saw about 15 Capuchin Monkeys. We hope to go back soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boulder co

Mangrove Kayaking

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: breakfast, monkeys, boa constrictor
Cons: dining room is a bit dated
Location: 15 minutes to Quepos and grocery store 3 minutes away
The gracious owners Bernard and Marlene were very kind and helpful. We took a kayak trip thru the mangroves with Bernard and he was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic in explaining the birds, trees, monkeys and aquatic life. We saw white faced monkeys while kayaking! The breakfasts were very good and internet speed good also. While the dinner was tasty and also quite reasonably priced, the ambience is lacking and we ate by ourselves. The pool was clean and refreshing and we liked that we could use the fridge to store cold drinks . Our room was clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Excellent off the beaten track accommodation

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Pros: The rooms.
Location: Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Hacienda Baru Wildlife Refuge.
The hotel is in the village of Damas a few miles away from Quepos. The rooms are very comfortable, well equipped and maintained with good air conditioning and bathroom amenities. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. There's a nice pool and the breakfast was very good. There is ample parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from k

Quiet and authentic experience.

Posted Jan 14, 2015
We arrived by car late evening and too tired to drive into town. The owner and his wife graciously provided dinner. Felt like we stayed with family. Perfect if youre looking for clean room, quiet stay and friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely spot well situated to explore the area.

Posted Dec 28, 2014
We were warmly welcomed by Bernard and Marlene who made our stay special. They made us feel at home and gave good guidance about local places of interest plus beaches. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Good old fashion customer care

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Great staff that goes out of the way to take care of all your needs. Bernard has been in the hotel business all his career and knows his stuff, most importantly customer service. The hotel grounds could use a little work. I would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Glenna from Vancouver, Canada

An incredible introduction to a wonderful country.

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Location approx l0 minutes away from Quepos and Manuel Antonio. Perfect if you have a car..
Could not say enough about the staff at this hotel. They are very proud and want nothing other than to please. They gave us so much information about where to go and and what to do, and were all excellent suggestions. Staff made even made arrangements at no cost to have our l8 year old go out with other people while we just wanted to relax. Kayak tours in the mangroves a worth while experience. Place is a ten minute drive to Quepos, and Manuel Antonio Park. Nice to get out of the tourist trap, Very clean, updated, and they have a delicious breakfast Would strongly recommend and go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan from San Antonio, TX

Super pleasant staff, great food, super clean

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Pros: The staff, the food, the proximity to the park but the distance from town that provided us with privacy and secured parking.
Cons: We choose this hotel because it accepted pets and my husband has an assistance animal, we called to verify only to be told it didn't.
Location: BRING YOUR CAMERAS!!! Don't expect things to be close by but instead enjoy the unique character of where you are.
All hotels have quirks, this one had a few but the staff more than made up for any problems. The room was clean but took a bit to cool which became a problem since the air went off every time we opened a door. Although I get the desire to save money and energy it became an ongoing issue since we opened the back door many times to take photos (monkeys and birds were very numerous). We were told that the sensors would be disabled for future guests. The food was simple but well prepared and very fresh. We ate very well during our stay. I did like the fact that we could close gates that would protect our car. It was a bit challenging to park it but I'll take the security any day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jenny from Prince George, BC

Friendly, out of the way place

Posted Jan 17, 2014
Pros: The room has a big fridge and air conditioning, with two double beds which were a little on the hard side, but not bad.
Cons: The grounds could probably be spruced up a bit. You feel a little bit like you're in an industrial site.
Location: You will need stransporation to visit the surrounding areas such as Manual Antonio Park, Quepos, or Jaco, all within a half hour to an hour drive.
Kayak Lodge is a bit unique in that it is set up like a motel, with some of the rooms being across the street in a warehouse looking building that is gated it. The rooms are nice and comfortable, but it is not the most aestethic looking place. However, the owners were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this lodge for anyone who wants a quiet place to stay, away from the tourist crowds. I can't stress enough how nice and helpful the owners were, and they alone are reason enough to stay at this lodge. We also enjoyed seeing the monkey and her baby outside the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Location: out of the way
quiet out of the way, pool disepointing very friendly helpful staff. We enjoyed our stay