Ratings based on 710 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from danbury, Ct

Nice

Posted Oct 12, 2017
The charge for a pet is excessive. $50 a night. The bed was good and the room was comfortable. The restaurant food was excellent and the price was reasonable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from eastern shore of maryland

Passing through on way to eastern shore home.

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Very convenient to interstate 84. Elegant decor and inviting.
Location: Just passing thru. Good restaurants near by. Near the interstate.
What a lovely stay! Long day in the road so welcomedmthe comfy bed, lots of great pillows.... clean and inviting. Many fine places to eat near bye not to mention the restaurant which is part of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hagerstown, Maryland

Close to I84

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Location: Very close to I84, quiet though. Restaurants in hotel are great. There is a sushi restaurant close by that is fantastic
Stay at this hotel every time I travel to Maine. It is VERY clean and great staff. Bob and Tom in the lounge make you feel like a local. I highly recommend this hotel. I travel alone a good bit and I feel very safe and comfortable there
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Cons: What really needs improving in this hotel and most others is the layout for computers, phones, pads,etc. More outlets and charging ports.
The hotel is very reasonable. The staff was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GA

Wonderful Stay in a Beautiful Hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: Beautiful hotel, furnishings and staff.
If you love Ethan Allen or just furniture, you will love your stay in this beautiful hotel. All the furniture throughout the hotel down to the mattresses are EA. This is the only EA hotel in the world. The hotel is located near the highway, food and shopping and the staff is fantasti! We were happily surprised that there was a free shuttle to and from the Brewster Train station for our day trip into NYC. The were on time to take us and were there waiting for us when we returned in the evening off the train. The food we ate in the bar was a step above and the service great! This is a very busy venue for weddings and business meetings do they do a good job grouping these guests together on floors to keep the hotel quiet. The Saturday night we stayed we were woken up at 2am with a woman yelling the hall and had a room next to the elevator so it was a bit noisy at times. At checkout we mentioned this and because we had already paid for our hotel through Expedia there was not a was to compensate for this but did offer breakfast next time we stay. There is a very nice business center where we were able to print airline tickets. We will definitely stay here again next time we are in the area.we really enjoyed our stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible - hotel doesn't match furniture quality

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: Location - it was in Danbury. Seriously, this was the only thing I liked.
Cons: Pretty much everything (main review). Hotel has terrible sound insulation, furnishings are dated, and worst of all, employees lack professionalism.
Location: This hotel is located in a cluster of other, MUCH better hotels. Danbury, close to businesses, shopping, food, etc.
Booking this hotel was an absolute mistake - I should have been less convinced by the name 'Ethan Allen', and should have taken to heart some of the worse reviews. Immediately upon check in, the clerk at the desk was apparently far more interested in speaking with his buddy on the phone (about some cancelled show on tv), than direct his attention to my party. This individual clearly needs more training. We were not the only ones with this thought, as he was joined by an additional clerk at the desk, who was kind enough to greet us with a simple 'Hello', as she smiled awkwardly to ease her colleague's inappropriate behavior. The first night, a Wednesday, I was unable to sleep a good's night rest, given that the hotel faces a pretty busy road. Now, this isn't always a problem with many hotels, but the building was obviously dated, meaning the sound insulation is atrocious. Speaking of dated... how in the world can Ethan Allen put their name on this hotel, given then shabby (not chic) quality of their furnishings?! I was gobsmacked by this... at least have decent furniture in your rooms! Overall, I found the service to be the equivalent of that found in a 1-star motel, and the building and furnishings are HEAVILY outdated. This place needs a major investment and improvement (both facility and employees). Unsurprisingly, I will discourage my friends and family from ever staying here in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Very good value, clean, comfortable, attractive.
Well appointed, comfortable and elegant. A very good value. Beds very comfortable, rooms and lobby well furnished, clean. Close to the highway, but quiet. A good base for exploring.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut Shoreline

Stayed there for a wedding

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: it was clean, comfortable and pleasant.
Cons: You can't help the late night hallway noise from drunken wedding guests but that was the one unfortunate byproduct of a hotel that caters to weddings.
Location: Perfect access to I-84.
The moment we arrived, we were greeted by very friendly hotel staff. That set the tone for a very nice one night stay. The suite was roomy and the king size bed was very comfy. Called the front desk for extra towels and received them within minutes. Great location for highway access. I highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york ny

Dog Friendly! My dog had a great time!!!

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Would have been perfect if the toilet didn't back up the second night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Friendly staff, room is clean and spacey, convenient location