Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Eaglemont, VIC

Outstanding

Posted May 25, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: see above
Cons: nothing to change!
Fantastic. My wife (very picky) was impressed and delighted with all the "little things" and we really enjoyed it. I have recommended to many people since this break. The Cottage we selected had calming tones, comfortable and secluded - perfect for a getaway to RELAX (and do what husbands and wives do!). wether we chose to curl up with a magazine, sleep in, enjoy the flicker of a gas-log fire place (without the smoke haze) or run the spa and soak - this accommodation has it all. Thanks to Chris and Gayle who thoughtfully provided everything we needed for our dietary requirements and presented it in such a attractive way! the cottage really was beautiful in this autumn season - greens, yellow, oranges, reds out in the garden - we felt like we were admiring artwork when looking our the windows. I would not have changed a thing. Thanks and we will be back! Tim & Rose
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2017 by Chris and Gayle, Hotel Management
Wow! Thanks Tim for such a detailed and complimentary review of your stay at Clarendon in the Camellia Cottage. We are very happy Rose was impressed and that you both enjoyed it! We are very picky too! It was a pleasure meeting you and Rose and we look forward to seeing you both again down the track. Kind Regards, Chris and Gayle :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mornington Peninsula

Lovely stay at Clarendon

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Wotif
This cottage is simply gorgeous! It has everything you need and more! The breakfast provisions were delicious and generous plus all the additional extras like chocolates, nuts, cookies, fruit bowl and some sherry to enjoy The spa bath is beautiful and the bed is firm but comfortable It is located in a beautiful spot in sassafras with a lovely walk into the township Also close by to lots of beautiful rainforest walks Highly recommended and will be back
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review Saci. So glad you enjoyed Camellia Cottage and appreciated all the extras. We love walking through the forest too! Look forward to seeing you next time. Regards, Chris and Gayle
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield Qld

Beautiful intimate getaway

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Beautifully appointed and maintained. Lovely area and wonderful Hosts.
Cons: Don't know how they would do it but a longer bed in the Dovecote cottage for taller people or perhaps mentioning that the bed is only a double.
Location: Beautiful Dandenong Ranges and lovely little villages to explore
The Cottages are beautiful and immaculate, Chris and Gayle could not be more friendly or accommodating. The gardens are beautiful and the surrounding area is amazing. The breakfast selection was superb and the attention to detail was beyond anything we expected. The only issue was my husband is 6" tall and the double bed with the iron rails was not a good fit. Everything else was exceptional.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Thankyou so much for taking time to do a review Michele. We are very pleased that you loved the Dovecote Cottage, the breakfast provisions and extras as well as the gardens and surrounds. It is a great spot isn't it. We love living here ourselves! Sorry the bed is only a double in this cottage, it is just not possible to squeeze in a queen bed. We do our very best to describe in all advertising that it is only a double bed - unfortunately you must have missed it. We'd love to have you back again to stay in one of our other two larger cottages! Kind Regards, Chris and Gayle
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Get away from it all

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Wotif
Nothing is too far away all just a small drive. But everything is there in your room if you just wanted to sit back and relax.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Chris and Gayle, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. It is a great location to visit the wonderful Dandenongs or relax in the peaceful garden.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boronia Melbourne

Gorgeous little self contained cottage

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: Everything we needed or wanted for our stay has been thought of and was there at our finger tips. Perfect.
Cons: That we had of had two nights to stay instead of one, it was so peaceful and lovely!
Location: Lots of Hills things to explore and do: vintage shops, cute knick knack shops, gardens, lookouts, the list is endless. Even magical in the rain!
Located in a stunning hills bush garden, this little self contained cottage was perfect for a night away from the city and the kids to be romantic and enjoy some peace and tranquillity. At first we thought to go out for dinner, but after seeing the kitchen dining area and the big spa bath, we decided to grab some food and stay in for the night. Who needs to go out when it is so nice and cosy right were you are? Can only highly recommend. Chris and his wife made us feel very welcome and special, answering all our questions and offering to help us with finding a restaurant for dinner and solved quickly and easily and special requests (such as gluten free dietary needs)
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Chris and Gayle, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking time to write a lovely review Karin. We love to hear our guests have enjoyed themselves and appreciate our efforts - it makes it very rewarding for us too! We'd love to see you again one day. All the very best, Chris and Gayle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Gladstone

Peaceful surrounded by nature

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Atmosphere, the setting in gardens
Cons: No
Location: Sassafras in the middle of the Dandenongs, every village within 5-10 minutes drive.
What a great place to stay in the Dandenongs. Tranquil, lovely gardens, great hosts, quaint and beautifully appointed rooms and cottages, in the heart of the Dandenongs. We would stay there again any time we visit Melbourne and the Dandenongs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Chris and Gayle, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to do a review Vicki and love hearing that you would stay again as there is no better recommendation! We'd love to see you back another time :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Perfect quite location.

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Perfect
Location: 2 minutes from town. Every place to visit was only 5-10 min drive away
Chris contacted me prior to my arrival to ensure that I had everything I needed. Service was fantastic and the Cottage was amazing. Nothing was too much trouble and they had nice personal touches to the cottage that made it a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. Highly recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Chris and Gayle, Hotel Management
Fantastic to hear that you would highly recommend us as helping guests enjoy their stay is what we are aiming at! Appreciate the review and would love to have you stay again! Regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clarendon cottages

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Wotif
Lovely stay, Chris the owner was so welcoming when we arrived. Would definitely book again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Chris and Gayle, Hotel Management
Good on you Maria we appreciate the feedback and would certainly welcome you back again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Quiet and relaxing place to stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We love the serenity too! Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Excellent ambiance l

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Lastminute
Marvellous experience for a quick escape , was there with my wife and had a quality time
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Chris and Gayle, Hotel Management
Great to hear Ahmad. Would love to have you back again!