Ratings based on 1,167 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from madison, wisconsin

Red Roof Experience

Posted Feb 5, 2018
When I got there my reservation was cancelled and I was then charged $20!more than the estimated quote!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 4, 2018
It was a scary place . Dark. The room was very small.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

The check in dude was drunk

Posted Jan 28, 2018
I am a full time cinematographer, and I was checking in after a shoot. A drunk man walks up to check me in and immediately starts complaining that I showed up hours late (which I commented that I probably would be a few hours late depending on the shoot) and the man said nobody told him this. We stand around for over five minutes as he bumbled around for the paperwork to figure out what was what. We finally find the hotel room (he didn’t even point us in the correct direction) I wouldn’t expect royalty for a cheap stay and it had basic needs met. The safe which i pay $1.50 for rather I use or not wouldnt even run. I planned to get the most out of paying $1.50 and lord knows I’d hate to call them to speak to a drunk idiot to explain I never used it. And with that I’m going to sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tomsh,wi

nice place to stay

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Very pleasant staff. Rooms are clean. For the price it is a excellent place to stay .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsoin

Basic necessities provided

Posted Jan 22, 2018
The room was fairly comfortable. I was looking for a nights lodging. I wasn't interested in ammenities. Price was the driving factor in the stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Appleton WI

Disgusting

Posted Jan 20, 2018
Check in staff had dirty messy hair, dirty teeth, and belly hanging out of wrinkled shirt. He was friendly. Toilet seat dirty. Bed covering stained with holes. Heater was as loud as a jet engine. I was so tired I just plopped into bed. Awoke to find the sheets and my pajamas covered in other people's hair. Some of it appearing to be pubic hairs. Left room quickly and showered elsewhere. More than once. I expected very little for the price but this was unacceptable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

No hot water.

Posted Jan 20, 2018
Room had no hot water. Told staff at checkout she made a face and wrote it down to be fixed. Did not say she was sorry or offer to make it right with my bill. Room was next to outside staircase. This made it impossible to sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, Wisconsin

Homeless, Needed Help!!

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Going through a divorce. Needed temporary housing. Very Cold night out and I was homeless! They took care of me. T. Scott
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, Wi

Rooms were very nice

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Pros: Clean, beautiful remodel to the rooms!
Cons: Drafts under the doors
Location: I was right across the street from the mall and every and any kind of food chooses on both sides of the street. TGIF to McDonald and everythingBETWEE.
Only one thing, my room had two outside walls and my room was a little cold. It just took some time to warm up, and I stuck a towel at the bottom of the door. And everything else in the room made up for it being a little chilly. The night I stayed, it was -7°. Very helpful staff. The maid showed me the trick to get into my room, usually you push the handle down, in this hotel you push the handle up. Great big screen TV, GREAT HBO, and I didn't order movies, but they have a huge selection.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from madison, wi

Affordable and convenient

Posted Jan 14, 2018
The beds are comfortable, rooms are clean and its very convenient location close to a lot of restaurants.