Ratings based on 361 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Construction not advertised, and pool was closed.

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Proximity to Boston
Cons: Indicate construction and pool closure on website. At least let customers know of construction.
I chose this hotel for the indoor pool and proximity to Boston. When I arrived I found the pool was closed and the place was under construction. The construction dust wreaked havoc on my sinuses and created a very uncomfortable stay. The staff was disinclined to explain why the construction and lack of pool was not disclosed. I left as soon as possible and found a much better hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nh

Room very uncomfortable AC didn't work

Posted May 19, 2017
AC broke and hotel did help out to get another room not helpful at all
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Decent hotel, good price and clean

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Clean rooms, comfortable beds, friendly staff and good price
Cons: complete renovations and open the pool
Location: not too far from Salem and the museums in the area, not too far from Boston
This hotel was in the process of going through major renovations, so the pool was not available and there was a lot of construction being done at the time of our stay. That being said, the room we stayed in was very spacious and clean and the staff were friendly. The breakfast was very good and complimentary and included eggs, ham and sausage, with make-your-own waffles and many other breakfast items available. The price was very reasonable, ($116.00 after tax and fees), and location was good. We would stay there again and look forward to the indoor pool being open.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great renovations and location

Posted May 5, 2017
The renovations look fantastic, but the doors seem to be thin. Housekeeping is very loud and you can hear everything in the halls. We were woken up multiple times by people.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Is in construction

Posted Apr 18, 2017
The pool closed because is all in construction Bad
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Will be a nice place once construction is done

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Stayed a couple days and no maid service. The staff at the front desk were very nice
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel under construction

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Close to where I needed to go
Cons: let people know about construction
When reservation made not informed of construction. Even after workers gone, no attempt to clean hall rugs or other floors.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Don't stay during renovations

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Convenience of location
Cons: Complete renovation
Hotel being renovated at time of stay. Staff very good, maid service slow or lacking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Was close to where I needed to be for meetings.

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Hotel is undergoing renovations. These were loud and smelled. Other than that the stay was fine
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Didn't expect to stay in the basement like floor

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Be honest about the remodel so guest will know what to except.
I was very disappointed that information regarding the remodeling of the hotel wasn't front and center on the Expedia or hotel website. The hotel staff I encountered were great. When I arrived at the hotel I was told that I was standing on the second floor and I would have to go downstairs for my room. I immediately thought that was weird and had a picture of a basement in my head. Only one elevator worked, so a long wait for the elevator. When I walked out of the elevator the picture in my head was now real and I felt like I was actually walking into a basement. The floor was speckled in chunky drywall dust and the area smelled musty. Also, conference rooms and guest rooms should not be on the same floor. Only conference rooms on the first floor, AKA the basement. I would not currently recommend this hotel due to the remodel and the fact that the remodel information wasn't clearly indicated on either the Expedia or hotel website. I believe the hotel should have disclosed this information more clearly so I could have made an informed decision. The good experiences were the staff, the room, and the included breakfast.