Ratings based on 369 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hyde park, ny

Close to Salem..right off highway

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Hotel is undergoing renovations...room was excellent, breakfast area was excellent, staff was very accommodating...only negative comment is that the pool still is not done.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Good hotel despite the renos

Posted May 28, 2017
I'd like to give it 3.5 stars but that's not an option. It was a decent hotel, especially for the great deal we got on the price. Staff was friendly at check-in, the room was spacious and everything was modern and clean, and the continental breakfast was very good. The lobby was clean despite being completely torn apart. The pool was closed, but we knew that going in. I feel it's unfair to give the hotel a poor review based on you not reading through the hotel overview. Though it's not in bold flashing print at the top, it does clearly state that they are renovating and the pool is closed. Downsides were that the bathroom door did not latch at all, and the heater made a constant buzzing noise when it wasn't running (which we chose to deal with rather than move when we discovered it after getting unpacked and settled). The beds weren't as comfortable as another hotel we had stayed at the night before, but if I hadn't stayed somewhere else to compare I doubt I would have noticed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fremont, CA

Will be good in the future

Posted May 27, 2017
Upon arrival we discovered that the facility was under renovation. There was no lobby, no check in desk. Our reservation was for a first floor room, we ended up on the 2nd floor. We were supposed to check in at 3 PM, could not check in until after 4 PM. The staff was friendly and tried to help. There was no pool or gym...under construction. It would have be nice to know all of this before arrival.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Construction not advertised, and pool was closed.

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Proximity to Boston
Cons: Indicate construction and pool closure on website. At least let customers know of construction.
I chose this hotel for the indoor pool and proximity to Boston. When I arrived I found the pool was closed and the place was under construction. The construction dust wreaked havoc on my sinuses and created a very uncomfortable stay. The staff was disinclined to explain why the construction and lack of pool was not disclosed. I left as soon as possible and found a much better hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nh

Room very uncomfortable AC didn't work

Posted May 19, 2017
AC broke and hotel did help out to get another room not helpful at all
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Decent hotel, good price and clean

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Clean rooms, comfortable beds, friendly staff and good price
Cons: complete renovations and open the pool
Location: not too far from Salem and the museums in the area, not too far from Boston
This hotel was in the process of going through major renovations, so the pool was not available and there was a lot of construction being done at the time of our stay. That being said, the room we stayed in was very spacious and clean and the staff were friendly. The breakfast was very good and complimentary and included eggs, ham and sausage, with make-your-own waffles and many other breakfast items available. The price was very reasonable, ($116.00 after tax and fees), and location was good. We would stay there again and look forward to the indoor pool being open.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great renovations and location

Posted May 5, 2017
The renovations look fantastic, but the doors seem to be thin. Housekeeping is very loud and you can hear everything in the halls. We were woken up multiple times by people.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Is in construction

Posted Apr 18, 2017
The pool closed because is all in construction Bad
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Will be a nice place once construction is done

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Stayed a couple days and no maid service. The staff at the front desk were very nice
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel under construction

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Close to where I needed to go
Cons: let people know about construction
When reservation made not informed of construction. Even after workers gone, no attempt to clean hall rugs or other floors.