Ratings based on 209 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in downtown Dar

Posted Feb 3, 2018
Pros: Friendly and courteous staff, nice breakfast, rooms are spacious and modern, great wi-fi
Cons: The rooms smelled rather musty, they would benefit from a good airing
Location: The Holiday Inn is in downtown Dar and close to several embassies as well as the fast boat to Zanzibar
I have previously stayed at the Holiday Inn in Dar and it is my favourite hotel in the city, including this visit. Extensive breakfast with lots of selection, staff are accommodating and pleasant. Rooms are spacious although the room I stayed in had a musty smell, although opening the windows helped air out the room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London UK

Good VFM, location but ....

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Poor restaurant facilities if quality of food more important than number of TV screens. The sea-food pasta tasted only of pili-pili. The swimming pool is a large plunge pool. Staff could not have been friendlier.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new zealand

Did the trick

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Not the flashes or most well maintained but great for a one night stop over. Rooms are starting to get a tad run down but are extremely comfortable. Staff are friendly and extremely helpful
2 out of 5
by Taha

Lots of choices, avoid if possible.

Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is literally falling apart.
5 out of 5
by Nirupam

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beirut

Family Break

Posted Jul 4, 2017
I chose Holiday Inn but it turned out not to be the one I was thinking of :) What was the HI is now under a different brand. However, it was still a comfortable stay. Although the place itself is in need of a bit of refurbishment. Staff though were great. We felt overall it is good value, ideally located and considering its town location the room was very quiet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

City Centre Hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2017
We stayed at HI because we got a good deal as there are four of us. Two adults and two kids. The hotel itself is desperately in need of refurbishment some of the fixtures and fittings are looking like they are worse for wear. The Breakfast buffet has a good selection but for the best choice best to go early than late. Although if you ask for specifics that may have run out they will bring you freshly made. For example I asked for chapati which came piping hot. The staff are very helpful and the hotel taxi is reasonably priced and very convenient for any trips you may wish to take. Having stated the above it is good value in my opinion.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Muscat

Good hotel near city centre

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Impressed by attitude of staff and customer care. However the room was tiny and breakfast average
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The ugyledt hotel in the whole world

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Poor managment no idea about the hospitality , my room was 611 and they bring workers using hammer to did some of renovation for next floor during my accommodation Poor poor hotel , i do not recommend it at all
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent property

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent property. Very friendly staff