Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The street at night is just a terrible place

Posted Feb 10, 2017
The aircon cannot be controlled, either full blast or switch off The fan was either off or a helicopter One light did not have a contril to switch off Though the place was very clean and people attending was nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable and clean . Friendly staff
2 out of 5
by Zhouming from China

Never never book Nikko Tower Hotel in Tanzania!!!

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
unprofessional staff in the reception. No money exchange, no charging, etc. Poor Wifi in the room. very old towls and bed sheet. extremly uncomfortable bed. Mosque nearby woke me up at 4:30am every morning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Hotel in Business area

Posted May 24, 2016
Pros: Room was clean
Cons: Hotel upgrade, restaurant should stock everything that is on their menu.
Location: Not a nice area, but it was close to the business I had to work at.
Hotel was located in the area where I need to work. Not a very nice area. I had a small room. The restaurant had only limited options, did not have all the food on the menu.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great for price point

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Cons: electric
Location: difficult to get to with traffic
I have stayed at other hotels like Holiday Inn & this hotel is superior. Nice staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable stay and bad neighborhood

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was comfortable; bathroom and room were clean with good airconditioning. Wifi did not work in my room, though it was functional in the lobby and on other floors. Neighborhood is crowded and access to hotel is terrible. Hotel had a good Indian restaurant with several cuisine options.
5 out of 5
by Jose A from Houston Texas

Good place to stay....

Posted Oct 9, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice and affordable place....close to the Ferry Station.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Ida Lise Jagd

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We loved the staff at this hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff! Indian food! (we are not Indian but we love a good curry)
Cons: Fix the smelly drain and check the airconditioning control.
Location: 5 minutes drive to the Zanzibar Ferry Terminal. You can use the hotel's taxi service at a cheap price to take you sightseeing.
We booked this hotel because it was located in the city centre, in walking distance from the Zanzibar ferry. However, it is not in the "tourist" hotel area, and is more suited to business accomodation. We were woken up too early by loudspeakers from the mosque next door, but that's not the hotel's fault. Room was small but cheerful and clean. Bed could use a new mattress. There was a problem with smelly drains eminating from the shower, but the shower was hot and we kept the bathroom door closed. Aircon worked, but we couldn't set the temperature to what we wanted. It seemed stuck on 18 degrees. The locale was a bit scary from a security point of view, so we used the hotel's taxi service to take us to the ferry terminal, and that was fine. We had dinner in the restaurant and it was truly wonderful curry! They have an extensive dinner menu catering to most tastes (breakfast was not so extensive) and we were most happy with the offerings, including wine. What we loved about this hotel were the friendly staff. The manager was exceptional, and really went out of his way to ensure we were happy. This fact increased our satisfaction markedly with this hotel. They also have 24 hours service, and we had no trouble when we checked out at 4.30am. We also had our laundry done (quite a lot of dirty clothes after safaris) and they came back same day with cleaned and pressed clothes for us at very moderate prices.