Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Danilo from Basel

Not worth it

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
The picture of the Hotel they have on the website is misleading: the beach is not directly in from of the hotel: you must walk 200m or so, passing in the swimmingpool area first (so no sand close to the hotel). The food and anything else is extremely overpriced compared to its value. Surprisingly you pay 15000 tzs for a juice (from carton), whereas in the previous 3* hotel where I was I could pay 15000 for juice (the same one) plus a complete meal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK.

Beautiful beach and comfortable hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2015
Pros: tranquillity, not many people as was told is such on weekdays (weekends much busier, family enjoyment scene)
Cons: Rooms in general need a pick-up, and have heard touch ups are now on going.
Location: Few other hotels nearby, but this is the place to just get away from it all, everything is already at the resort.
Check in was smooth and staff are attentive and fun, rooms are simple and comfortable. Beach and water was just gorgeous. They're Indian and seafood was excellent.
4 out of 5
by Hayley from Brisbane

Great!

Posted Jan 19, 2014 on Hotels
This was the best holiday of my life. South Beach hotel has the most amazing atmosphere, especially on a Saturday night. And to top it off, the food was incredible; the staff were super-helpful (and spoke good English) and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Thank you!
2 out of 5
by Leon from Vancouver, BC

Only better for Beach experience not Hotel

Posted Jan 18, 2014
Pros: Nothing other than the beach.
Cons: Hotel services are 5%. My be they can improve on that or just forget about the hotel and only run a day business for hosting beach parties
Location: Its very far from the town. Its more of an isolated place
It was terrible. Far from the ferries, they dont have transportation for guests, terrible staffing at night because when I arrived there almost everyone was asleep. I did not get any food because they dont do that service over night and the room condition is just very mediocre like a cheap hostel room. The food the following day was overpriced for no reason at all because for breakfast was simply very plain fried eggs and expensive tosts, and even there is no any professional customer care whats so ever. I would not go back there for a hotel experience or stay overnight. I would simply just go for a fresh expensinve Beach experience because they have it nice there but super expensive again.
2 out of 5
by Gin pin from London

What a dump

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels
Very smelly room , very poor condition, windiest beach ever been on, so overpriced and nightmare to get to by the ferry route would not recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ASN from Tanzania

A Wonderful Surprise!

Posted Oct 17, 2013
Pros: The view from the top floor, the food and the beautiful beach location. The day party with music on the weekends was a lot of fun too.
Cons: The road approaching the resort could be fixed up a little and the rooms need a small touch up.
Location: I did not have time but there were road trips to bagamoyo/zanzibar, horse riding & Dar Zoo all organised as activities, something I look forward to do
I was a bit unsure of the hotel do to the mixed nature of the reviews but decided to give it a shot, and what a great surprise! The location is awesome and the staff all smiling and warm ready to assist at anything they can. The food was delicious, their barbecue chicken (reshmi kebab?) and the indian dishes were fantastic. I am a curry lover and the tikka masala was just great! The breakfast was a surprise too as they brought out a local indian bread that is not only great to look at (puffed up like a balloon when it arrives) but went great with the eggs. The rooms are decent sized, a little bit on the older side, but very comfortable and clean. The bathrooms were average. Overall, I will definitely return for the location, the staff, the food and the beautiful pool and white sandy beaches.
4 out of 5
by Simon from Addis

Posted Aug 30, 2013 on Hotels
Friendly, efifcient good service, a great place to unwind by the beach and or pool for a day/night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2013 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Bejani

Posted Jan 7, 2013 on Hotels
Needed a quiet place and found it to be perfect.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beach resort

Posted Oct 7, 2012
Pros: the pool
Location: location is good if you can stay for a few days, not a good place for a quick overnight.
We booked this place for one overnight in Dar Es Salaam. We thought it was close to the airport and it really wasn't and you had to take a ferry across an inlet to get to s. beach where this place is. Took us two hours to get there including the ferry time. If you have multiple nights to stay there, I think it would be a cool place to land yourself and get out of the city and hang on the beach. This place reminded me of a beach resort.