Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Jonas

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Best wifi I ever had in this country after several trips to Tanzania. Great food and very comfortable. Will stay there again when I come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very helpful staff

Posted Mar 21, 2017
I almost never write reviews, but I will this time because I am so grateful to the hotel manager and staff who helped get me to a clinic when I was suffering from food poisoning (not from the hotel food, needless to say!). I was really impressed by the fact the manager took an interest in a stray, lone female guest being ill. He virtually frogmarched me to a very good clinic he knew of, despite my protestations that I would recover with a bit of rest and water. A few hours and pills later, I was much recovered - significantly faster than my own method! I had chosen Protea Oyster Bay as they have a bigger swimming pool than some and I was desperate for a swim after some heavy land travel for work in previous weeks... in the end I didn't get near the swimming pool but was still grateful for my choice. The food is good, studio/queen rooms are very comfortable - and easier to navigate than the loft rooms which have quite steep stairs.
4 out of 5
by Maria K

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Good last minute option!

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: The Breakfast was really good! Fresh coconut water! rooms were spacious!Good location!
Cons: There was nothing not to like, but i guess the price could have been a little more competitive.
5 out of 5
by Doaa from Cairo, Egypt

Excellent Hotel!

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
It was a nice stay ...
5 out of 5
by Vicky

Excellent facilities and service

Posted Jul 6, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent rooms, fitness centre and pool. Rooms are very well equipped, clean and comfortable. The food in the bar/restaurant is really good with plenty of choice. The area around the pool is a lovely place to sit and chill. They also have an airport shuttle which is very handy. The staff were more than helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good.

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
Great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel in a nice neighborhood

Posted Feb 14, 2016 on Hotels
Everything here was really top notch. Free breakfast and free wifi with good speed. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms are suites with a bedroom, sitting room, and kitchen. The kitchen is quite nice, featuring half size fridge, microwave, stove, kettle (with coffee and tea refilled daily). Bedroom and living room each have their own powerful air conditioner (no trouble getting the room cold). The 1 TV is in the living room, not the bedroom, so you can't watch while falling asleep, just something to be aware of. Several channels to watch including 3 of the MNET movie channels. In room safe provided. The shower is large and I never had a problem getting hot water. The only problem there is that the shower drainage routinely leaks water out onto the tile of the bathroom (a fairly common problem for some reason in Africa). This hotel is in a very nice neighborhood with good restaurants and safe markets in the area. You can change money at a very good rate at a store just outside the hotel gate. The restaurant in the hotel itself is very good too. It's not the cheapest food by Tanzanian standards, but is very good quality at what I considered a reasonable price. One thing to note (that is no flaw of the hotel) is that the traffic between here and downtown Dar is terrible during rush hour. If you leave at 6:30 am or before, it's a 20 minute ride. If you leave 7am-9am it will take over an hour to reach downtown.
4 out of 5
by Francis J from Mwanza

Very good experience

Posted Dec 16, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed here for just one night. We were very impressed - the rooms are actually like small serviced-apartments, the pool area was great and the breakfast excellent. Staff could hardly have been more welcoming and friendly. The location is a little off-putting to begin with - next to a busy road. That said, we heard no traffic, and the nearby road was, of course, very useful for taxis etc. Would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by John

Posted Dec 13, 2015 on Hotels
Had a great stay