Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fallon Nevada

Pretty Bad

Posted Jan 20, 2018
Pros: Very to airport. If on extreme budget you could walk to and from quite easily.
Cons: Everything
Not sure what other DAS airport hotels are like but hard to imagine any of them being worse being worse. Two single beds for three people. Shower was a cold trickle. Noisy. Fortunately we had a 5 am flight and was able to limit our experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Wi-fi was promised

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Proximity to airport
Cons: Have reliable internet if it is promised.
The hotel said WiFi was available, but have numerous attempts I could not connect. Person at the desk then said wasn't working. Disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by TM team, Hotel Management
We would like to thank Brad for the candid review. It is true that we had some problems with our wifi on sept/oct. The problem has been solved and now we have a reliable wifi, We are sorry Brad for an unpleasant experience while staying with us. We are sure that that will not happen again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumbria, UK

In transit to Zanzibar

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Bedroom space planning
Location: Could explore local shops. Only 5 mins away form airport with transfer provided by the hotel which was comfortable, efficient and good price.
Room too small with crampd bed space. Bathroom shower weak flow. Otherwise a satisfactory one night stay at good price and location. Staff were very attentive and prompt.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by TM team, Hotel Management
Thank you Peter for taking your time to review us here. We are working on the showers' weak flow and promise that it will be ok in the near future
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for long lay over

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Orbitz
Staff was friendly, car picked us up on time as requested, price was low, overall good. Internet and warm water didn't work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by Transit Motel , Hotel Management
Thank you for your candid review. We are sorry for lack of warm water. We are working on it. Karibu sana
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Nice, near the airport

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Near airport and people helpful And Wi Fiu
Good . Tea and coffee available Meals available Wi Fi
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Transit Motels, Hotel Management
Thank you Coralie for writing this review.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Stay

Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
Close to Airport and comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
We would like to thank our guest for taking your time to share your experience while staying with us. Asante sana
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2017
AC controlled from front lobby. Hard Bed. Cold shower. Extremely close to hotel, perfect for only 1 night. Friendly staff. Pretty ok breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2017 by TMA, Hotel Management
We would like to thank our guest for taking his/her time to write this candid review. All rooms have an AC and a remote control. Also water heater switch is within your room so you can switch it on at your own time. Unfortunately we did not explain that to you upon checking-in, we apologize. We are looking forward to hosting you next time you're in Dar es Salaam
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for short transit stay

Posted May 29, 2017
Short overnight stay between flights. Basic hotel very close to airport, very efficient airport transfer for minimal cost, reasonable breakfast. A good deal for short stays.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by TM, Hotel Management
We would like to thank our guest for this review. This hotel was built for travelers on transit
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsbugh, PA

One and a half days in transit

Posted Apr 1, 2017 on Orbitz
Room was clean, air conditioner worked well and the location and price were right. The neighborhood was typical of Dar es Salaam. It was run down but seemed safe. Hotel restaurant food was good and priced right. Beverages were cold. I would make a short stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by TM, Hotel Management
Thank you Phil for sharing your experience to other travelers. We are looking forward to hosting you in the near future
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boulder, CO

Convenient hotel for airport overnight connections

Posted Mar 19, 2017
This was my 3rd stay at the Transit Motel Airport. The rooms are basic and clean. The water is at best warm, but you don't really need hot showers in Dar--the coolness is refreshing. What's best is the staff. They are extremely helpful and provided breakfast to us even though we were leaving the hotel at 5 am. They have an airport shuttle that costs $5 one way, and if you call in advance, they will pick you up with a signboard outside the airport arrival area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by TM, Hotel Management
Thank you Bob for your candid review. We assure you that hot water will be available on your next visit. Karibu sana