Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boulder, CO

Convenient hotel for airport overnight connections

Posted Mar 19, 2017
This was my 3rd stay at the Transit Motel Airport. The rooms are basic and clean. The water is at best warm, but you don't really need hot showers in Dar--the coolness is refreshing. What's best is the staff. They are extremely helpful and provided breakfast to us even though we were leaving the hotel at 5 am. They have an airport shuttle that costs $5 one way, and if you call in advance, they will pick you up with a signboard outside the airport arrival area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel for the airport

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: The staff and the proximity to the airport.
Cons: The plumbing - especially the drainage. Ease of use of the air conditioner control.
Location: 5 to 10 minutes drive from the airport.
Staff were very helpful and found me a taxi to take me to downtown Dar es Salaam when I had an afternoon to spare before an early morning flight the next day. The taxi driver did a lot of work for the hotel and offered to wait for me and to show me a bit more of the city on the way back. The fare he charged seemed reasonable. I wanted to be at the airport which was only about 5 to 10 mins drive away at 4.00 a.m. The staff were very helpful in arranging a taxi to take me there at that time. Although walkable distance I would not have wanted to walk alone, taking luggage, through what looked a fairly rough area so the transport was very welcome. The facilities were quite basic, but it was clean and functional and the restaurant was open all day till late, with a bar and tasty, if simple, food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location clean rooms.

Posted Feb 4, 2017
A/C slow but very welcomed once it had a few hours. Within walking distance (over dirt road) to Airport. Staff willing to help you in all your needs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Only stayed a few hours as was in transit but I managed to get a few hours sleep in a comfortable and clean bed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
The receptionist acted put out when ever I had a question. I was the only person in the restaurant other than the server. She was busy watching a soap on TV. When I ordered, she informed me there was no beef, so I asked if I could have chicken stir fry,she said yes and brought me fried chicken. The air con was broken and fan squeaked. The shower was just a dribble, you could hardly get wet, but in the end it didn't matter, because it was only cold water. This is my first negative reviews, but so much was bad, I couldn't not.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Great transit hotel for airport

Posted May 23, 2016
We stayed overnight with an evening arrival and early morning departure. We had arranged with the hotel for transport from the airport, and they were waiting for us upon arrival. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, arranging for breakfast at 5 am (a delicious full hot breakfast). The rooms were clean and beds comfortable, with mosquito nets and air conditioning, as well as a ceiling fan. The hotel arranged for early transport back to the airport as well. The things that could be improved are hotter water (my shower was cool but fine--didn't really need a super hot shower) and brighter light in the room (dim, so a bit hard to read).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK For a Cheap Night's Airport Layover Rest

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Clean and comfy bed
Cons: Hot water! Remodel bathrooms.
Location: Just at marginal Dar airport.
Had 9 hours at night in Dar between flights so I wanted to be close to the airport and this was the closest. Got in late and asked about hot water for a shower and was told "it is broken." Other friends came through the next day and were told the same thing. Bathroom had a mildew smell and fixtures were quite old. I choose not to shower. Bed was nice though and the sheets clean so I did sleep for about 5 hours before leaving for my flight. I have had much better buffet breakfasts in African hotels but it was passable here. Only go to this hotel if all you need is to sleep and have a flush toilet. Price was great thought.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

GREAT location

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Pros: LOCATION!
Cons: Shower/ upkeep on room
Location: Airport is pretty much it.
Location is amazing as you can walk to airport if comfortable with African dirt roads and kiosk/shops :-). Rooms are going a little down hill as my shower was but a trickle and tough to get under that trickle. But AC was working and food fine at restaurant there. Bed and room CLEAN!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and convenient for Airport

Posted Dec 14, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is perfect if you have odd flight times and need to stay close to the Airport. It is very simple, but clean. Although it is across the street from the Airport, I would still take their shuttle ($5 per way) as it goes through a bus "night market" area, which would be busy to walk with bags and I imagine crossing the street would not be easy (and not safe!). They have a restaurant which was fine. They make the food from scratch but it does take a while. Overall...great simple option close to airport.
3 out of 5
by Paul from Toronto Canada

It is was it is1

Posted Nov 16, 2015 on Hotels
We needed a place to stay as we had a 10 hour layover until our next flight. We wanted am inexpensive, clean place near the airport where we could shower, watch TV, grab a bite and maybe sleep. The room was as advertised - small, clean and the beds were comfortable. Not a quiet place so I wouldn't want to have stayed all night and the TV only received one channel that wasn't very good. Had supper in the restaurant and it was quite good.