Ratings based on 190 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Do not book this hotel

Posted Mar 4, 2018
When we arrived at the hotel the reception girl was not expecting us. She stated that we had already checked in. When we pointed out that we hadn’t she told us to wait for 20 minutes while she cleaned a room. When she showed us to the room it only had one bed. I had booked and paid for a twin room. She stated that this was the only room available as she had given my room away. When I asked for a refund she looked at me blankly and said send an email!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2018 by TMA, Hotel Management
Thank you Neil for getting our attention on the check in problem that you had. We wrote to you few days ago with some few questions that will enable us to get a clear picture of what happened. Our mail is still unanswered. Please help us to solve this problem by replying our mail
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close Proximity to Dar Airport

Posted Feb 19, 2018
Pros: Staff are very accommodating and pleasant, the hotel shuttle is reliable and reasonably priced
Cons: Water for showers is luke warm, would be great if there could be a consistent supply of hot water
Location: Very close to Dar airport, approximately 5 to 10 minute drive depending on traffic
Hotel reception staff allowed me to check in early and they were very kind and hospitable. I booked the hotel shuttle to take me to the airport and we left at the appointed time and the price was quite reasonable (half the price taxis charge). Compared to my previous stay at Transit Hotel, the internet access was not so great. There was less noise pollution during this visit compared to my previous stay from the neighbouring area, it could have been because it was Sunday rather than a week day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2018 by TMA, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are sorry that you had a problem with hot water. A switch to the water heater is in your bedroom. All you had to do was to switch it on few minutes before taking shower. May be we did not tell you so. Our mistake. We are happythat you ha a pleasant experience in other services that we offer. Karibu tena.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to airport

Posted Feb 11, 2018
Pros: Convenient location close to Dar airport if you have a lot of time between flights; great internet access, shuttle was reliable and fair price
Cons: Hot water heater for shower did not work very well
Location: Close to the airport if one needs a place to stay for a short period of time, small shops nearby to buy water, food, etc.
Transit Hotel is very close to Dar airport and a convenient place to stay if you have time between flights - traffic to downtown Dar can be counter productive to booking a hotel further away from the airport. Transit Hotel is not located in a quiet area, it is close to train tracks and there is a lot of other noise in the area if you are a light sleeper or are looking for peace and quiet. Staff are friendly and accommodating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fallon Nevada

Pretty Bad

Posted Jan 20, 2018
Pros: Very to airport. If on extreme budget you could walk to and from quite easily.
Cons: Everything
Not sure what other DAS airport hotels are like but hard to imagine any of them being worse being worse. Two single beds for three people. Shower was a cold trickle. Noisy. Fortunately we had a 5 am flight and was able to limit our experience.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

The worst of the worst.

Posted Jan 13, 2018 on Hotels
Shower not working. tv not working, breakfast a joke, road to hotel terrible. afraid leaving hotel. will never recommend to anybody.
4 out of 5
by Tracy Dean

Maybe okay for a one night stay

Posted Dec 12, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed 1 night as I was making my way from Uganda to Zanzibar. It's okay for a 1 night stay. Be advised that the Internet wasn't working, so I'm not sure if it was false advertising or if it was down for the day. The hotel itself is decent, but it's not super. Bottled water was guaranteed, but I needed to ask for it. There was no TV remote despite having asked for one, so basically the TV was not operational as there was no sound, and it was stuck on one station. The local area is 100% dodgy. I didn't feel safe leaving the hotel's property. On the positive side, it's very near the airport and only takes 5 or 10 minutes to get there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ugh!

Posted Nov 15, 2017 on Orbitz
We had to stay close to the airport because our flight was scheduled to leave at 4AM. The beds are terrible, the pillow was like a rock, the air conditioner did not work and there was a club outside the window that blasted music all night. And don’t even think about going outside of their gates. At least the food in the restaurant was decent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2017 by Transit Motel Airport, Hotel Management
Thank you Gail for your review. I'm at loss of words on how to respond to this!. We are sorry that ours was not the type of accommodation you were seeking. We have been accommodating satisfied guests for a very long time . It is true that few things happened to be wrong here and there but the overall picture is that of satisfied customers wanting an improvement here and there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Wi-fi was promised

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Proximity to airport
Cons: Have reliable internet if it is promised.
The hotel said WiFi was available, but have numerous attempts I could not connect. Person at the desk then said wasn't working. Disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by TM team, Hotel Management
We would like to thank Brad for the candid review. It is true that we had some problems with our wifi on sept/oct. The problem has been solved and now we have a reliable wifi, We are sorry Brad for an unpleasant experience while staying with us. We are sure that that will not happen again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumbria, UK

In transit to Zanzibar

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Bedroom space planning
Location: Could explore local shops. Only 5 mins away form airport with transfer provided by the hotel which was comfortable, efficient and good price.
Room too small with crampd bed space. Bathroom shower weak flow. Otherwise a satisfactory one night stay at good price and location. Staff were very attentive and prompt.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by TM team, Hotel Management
Thank you Peter for taking your time to review us here. We are working on the showers' weak flow and promise that it will be ok in the near future
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for long lay over

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Orbitz
Staff was friendly, car picked us up on time as requested, price was low, overall good. Internet and warm water didn't work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by Transit Motel , Hotel Management
Thank you for your candid review. We are sorry for lack of warm water. We are working on it. Karibu sana