Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Posted Jul 19, 2016
A bit of a shabby room but good location and quality service.
4 out of 5
by Martine from Norway

Good service

Posted Mar 6, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed just one night, waiting to go to Zanzibar. The staff were very helpful, and serviceminded,the driver were waiting for us at the airport even though we were three hours late. Don't know to much about the area around the Hotel.
3 out of 5
by Kenneth from USA

Good nights rest

Posted Feb 6, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here for one night before leaving for Arusha to start Safari. The room was huge. It had a great restaurant on premises. We felt secure at the hotel. Staff was attentive and kind. Even made us "to go" breakfast for our bus ride.
3 out of 5
by jennifer from Mobile

Over night in Dar es Salaam

Posted Sep 6, 2015 on Hotels
Nice location. Large unit with bedroom, TV den room, large kitchen dining entrance area and deck area overlooking lower street. Enjoyed visit, walking around town and going to National Museum. Very clean, nice service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, New York

A little better than average

Posted Jun 24, 2015
I stayed at the hotel for seven nights. The large room had a king size bed which was comfortable but I got annoyed that the bottom sheet was not fitted and kept coming loose during the night. There was a sitting room with TV, good sized kitchen, with newish refrigerator and microwave (but no dining table) and a balcony. The air conditioning worked well but the room always smelled mildewy. Overall the hotel could use some sprucing up (paint, plaster repair, newer furniture). The desk staff were helpful and the dining staff were friendly. The breakfast buffet has something for everyone but the food is just OK. I did appreciate the fresh fruit and fresh made omelets. When I checked out they charged me a $25 "city tax". I had not been told about this when I booked the hotel (on-line) and a colleague of mine (who stays in Dar every year) said there is no such thing. Except for this last thing, I pretty much got what I expected based on the reviews.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from england

Nicely decorated. Massive spacious rooms

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Came to country for friends wedding. Had a lovely time. Hotel was nice with great restaurant which catered to my needs as I was allergic to sunflower oil. So they changed and cooked mine in olive oil very kind of them
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Simple and old

Posted May 6, 2015 on Hotels
Old hotel in Indian area of the town. Staff member nice and helpful. But two negative points. Breakfast simple and our vater tank (hot)exploded when stayed in the room. ( i guess , old model and we found it dangerous)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Very central close to town center and ferry port

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Very friendly and large rooms with good facilities
Cons: Documentation was poor, they were not clear about our booking and we were worried that we would be charged twice. They did not give us receipts.
Location: In the center of town close to the ferry port so very convienent for people travelling to Zanzibar
Good hotel, very central, close to main shopping area, banks, resturants and ferry port to Zanzibar. Large room with good facilities, staff very friendly overall. Documentation was poor, they had dificulty with our booking, at check out they made additional charges for city tax wtihout telling us, we did not get a full break down of charges with receipts, front desk administration needs to be improved, seems to be a lot of people in the office doing everything but looking after guests.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 22, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Indian food.

Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels
The mutton biryani rice was delicious. Ate mainly Indian food there, though the in-house restaurant is called "Sino Thai". My room had a lingering unpleasant smell. Though the room door used a key to lock, I didn't feel that safe since the bathroom window (facing the hallway/corridor) only had a flyscreen as a barrier. The safety deposit boxes were kept in a room behind Reception, not in each room. Security seems a bit lax around the ground floor entrance (Reception is on Level 1).