Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by NOMBUSO

Disappointing vacation

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
It was horrible...the place is decapitated.There is no security..torn bed linen.The room smell was terrible..The good and housekeeping dreadful.
3 out of 5
by Eileen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Annie

Not a family friendly place

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
Upon arrival with our 2 young children we were hoping to rest and have a buffet dinner in their restaurant. When we enquired about it they said that they in fact only had 2 items to eat and nothing for the kids. Much to our surprise as the receptionist told us on the phone earlier on the day about the buffet dinner. How on earth is a person to feed their kids after a long day on the road and no shops nearby, and the kids are tired and hungry. This is definitely not a family friendly place. On the website it shows a lovely blue sparkling pool and a trampoline for the kids. The pool was in fact black on the edges and full of debris and the trampoline had no padding for safety and missing springs. As a parent on holiday, one would expect to have a safe place for your children to play while you sit and watch. Even the jungle gym needs attention. It's really quite sad because it is an absolutely breathtaking setting and the rondavel that we stayed in was well kept. I wish that they were more accommodating for the little ones.
3 out of 5
by Daksha

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was not accommodating. My husband was vegetarian and they did not make a plan even when requested.
5 out of 5
by Jaroslav

Good countryside escape

Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing overall experience - great area
4 out of 5
by Andrew from Durban, South Africa

Value for money

Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
The drive there was very scenic and it is situated below a lovely mountain in a farm area. I've rated it fairly high, not because it's really good, but because it is fair and for the price we paid, it is good value for money. It's also not bad in anyway. The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was clean. The breakfast was lovely. The grounds are kept well. It's maybe just a little old and not super modern. But it is in hiking and mountain biking country so the room isn't the be all and end all is it. We paid ZAR 800 for the room (2 persons) and that included breakfast. Good value. There does seem to be a lot of rowdy people around so rather go in a crowd, take a few rooms and also have a party in the hotel bar. We saw various groups coming and leaving with "party.. party.. party" in mind; maybe it's been like that for a while and we made a "new" discovery.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Picturesque, Private Retreat

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable.
Cons: Had a few electrical issues in the room the first night but they were solved the next day.
Location: Everglades is situated in a very scenic part of Kwa-Zulu Natal. There is hiking on the property and canopy tours close by.
Our family stayed at Everglades as support personnel for our colleagues who held meetings over the course of 4 days. We found our room to be very comfortable, clean, and very spacious. The bed was extremely comfortable. The staff was very accommodating to our needs and always very pleasant and cheerful to work with. Our overall experience was very good.
4 out of 5
by Sharon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 13, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Jane from Krugersdorp

Everglades

Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
We booked budget rooms and whilst I understand that they are cheaper because of the facilities, we had to be moved to other accommodation because of the overwhelming smell in the rooms. This was due to the wooden poles being painted with creosote and then the rooms not left to air properly. We then ended up in the superior room which was a great improvement. However for guest paying that price I would expect a fully functioning shower (it was awful), no unsightly stains on the bathroom ceiling (from leaks) and a TV that actually had working channels. Overall it was very disappointing.
5 out of 5
by zoe

Go today

Posted Dec 8, 2015 on Hotels
We spent 2 nights and it really felt homely. The management team were so welcoming as well as very honest. They had recently stepped in and ate doing lots of work to bring the place up to date. The food here was always delicious. In the main house there was a great bar area that had a feel of an English pub (should say welsh as the owner is from wales). We loved our stay here and will definitely go back next time we are in the area.