Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Andrew from Durban, South Africa

Value for money

Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
The drive there was very scenic and it is situated below a lovely mountain in a farm area. I've rated it fairly high, not because it's really good, but because it is fair and for the price we paid, it is good value for money. It's also not bad in anyway. The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was clean. The breakfast was lovely. The grounds are kept well. It's maybe just a little old and not super modern. But it is in hiking and mountain biking country so the room isn't the be all and end all is it. We paid ZAR 800 for the room (2 persons) and that included breakfast. Good value. There does seem to be a lot of rowdy people around so rather go in a crowd, take a few rooms and also have a party in the hotel bar. We saw various groups coming and leaving with "party.. party.. party" in mind; maybe it's been like that for a while and we made a "new" discovery.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Picturesque, Private Retreat

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable.
Cons: Had a few electrical issues in the room the first night but they were solved the next day.
Location: Everglades is situated in a very scenic part of Kwa-Zulu Natal. There is hiking on the property and canopy tours close by.
Our family stayed at Everglades as support personnel for our colleagues who held meetings over the course of 4 days. We found our room to be very comfortable, clean, and very spacious. The bed was extremely comfortable. The staff was very accommodating to our needs and always very pleasant and cheerful to work with. Our overall experience was very good.
4 out of 5
by Sharon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 13, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Jane from Krugersdorp

Everglades

Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
We booked budget rooms and whilst I understand that they are cheaper because of the facilities, we had to be moved to other accommodation because of the overwhelming smell in the rooms. This was due to the wooden poles being painted with creosote and then the rooms not left to air properly. We then ended up in the superior room which was a great improvement. However for guest paying that price I would expect a fully functioning shower (it was awful), no unsightly stains on the bathroom ceiling (from leaks) and a TV that actually had working channels. Overall it was very disappointing.
5 out of 5
by zoe

Go today

Posted Dec 8, 2015 on Hotels
We spent 2 nights and it really felt homely. The management team were so welcoming as well as very honest. They had recently stepped in and ate doing lots of work to bring the place up to date. The food here was always delicious. In the main house there was a great bar area that had a feel of an English pub (should say welsh as the owner is from wales). We loved our stay here and will definitely go back next time we are in the area.
4 out of 5
by Nizamuideen from Durban

Average

Posted Aug 12, 2015 on Hotels
Did not enjoy, firstly they were not aware of us coming, had to wait to be checked in, no halaal food.
5 out of 5
by Henry from Centurion

Go for it!

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful experience!!! We really enjoyed!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

situated at the foot of a mountain in beautiful ar

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: The warm welcome and stunning location
We had a very comfortable one night stay. It was a quiet time md-week and there were few guests so we received a lot of attention.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2016 by Michelle Donnelly, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and we are very happy that you received a lot of attention. We have new management and are improving our amenities and service. Please visit our webpage or showme.co.za for current specials and we look forward to welcoming you back someday. Regards GENERAL MANAGER
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ugly old hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels
hotel is old and is unlike the photos
4 out of 5
by Andre from Pretoria

Midlands Getaway

Posted Dec 25, 2014 on Hotels
The staff was friendly and welcoming. Beautiful landscaping. The perfect get away at an unbeatable price.