Ratings based on 123 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Enjoy this motel because it is always quite

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: quite
Cons: air conditioning unit noisy
Location: Close to Park and walking distance to town centre.
Overnight stay with easy access to schools and shopping
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to town

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Dinner good. Bed comfortable.
Cons: Small room , traffic noise. Probably a room further back from the road would be better.
Location: Good location near town and school.
130 for the night. Pleasant check in. Small room, close to road, quite noisy early morning traffic, 4am. Very small tv screen, too small for subtitles. Glad we had a folding chair in the car as no tv chairs. Very nice dinner to the room, well priced. When leaving we mentioned that fridge had food in the freezer left by previous guests but staff on checkout unconcerned. Comfortable bed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Margate Qld

Reasonable motel close to CBD

Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Quiet location & proximity to CBD & parks.
Cons: The restaurant was supposed to be open from 6.30am for breakfast. On a Monday morning, I had to wait until after 7.00am before breakfast was available
Location: Within walking distance to Queens Park & Cobb & Co Museum.
When I arrived in mid afternoon, the room was ready & my booking was confirmed. I had prepaid via Wotif at last 1 week prior to arrival, but the motel had no record of payment. I was able to produce a Wotif receipt to satisfy reception. I stayed overnight only & the remainder of my stay was uneventful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Darling Downes, Queensland

Pleasant rooms

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Location was good, easy to find.
Cons: Needs an update, furnishings out-dated.
Location: Handy to the centre of town.
Rooms were a bit old fashioned, but spacious & clean with good basic facilities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very friendly staff

Posted Jul 19, 2015 on Wotif
The staff are very welcoming and friendly. Food was fantastic and rooms are comfortable.
5 out of 5
by Catherine from Corrimal

Comfort remembered from forty years ago.

Posted May 6, 2015 on Hotels
Old style motel , quiet, lovely neighborhood, friendly and thoughtful manager. Meals available in the dining room but breakfast in bed on Sunday was a delight.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from port macquarie

Old and very basic for the price

Posted Apr 19, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Location
Cons: Meals should be freshly cooked.
Did not represent value for money. the meals were straight from the Bain Marie - dry and over cooked.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2015 by Management, Hotel Management
We are very sorry you did not have a good guest experience with us at Applegum Inn. We do try to maintain a very high standard of cleanliness within the rooms and while the property was built in the 1970's we do work hard at replacing all the removable décor items including the carpets as the need arises. We do not have food in a Bain Marie, all breakfast and dinner items are cooked fresh to order.
5 out of 5
by Robert from Australia - NSW - Port Macquarie

Posted Jan 31, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: The new owners.attentivenes and restaurant meal
4 out of 5
by Mark from Australia - QLD - Brisbane

Posted Jan 14, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Good location
Cons: N/a
Location: Just right
Facilities: Typical; Value: Economical; Service: Professional, Friendly; Cleanliness: Spick and span; convenient to parks
4 out of 5
by Geoffrey from Australia - QLD - Brisbane

Posted Dec 29, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Quietness of location on busy street
Cons: None understanding it was christmas time
Location: Tranquil
Facilities: Modest; Value: Reasonable; Service: Polite, christmas period; Cleanliness: Faultless; not knowing anything we were very pleased with motel