Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
2.4 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Posted Aug 17, 2017
It was fine for an over night stay but I wouldn't stay longer. The only thing letting the place down was the disgusting standard of cleanliness in the room. Someone else's hair was in the bed, the ensuite floor was so grimey and sticky and mouldy. Yuck. Everything else was fine though. Staff were great, location was perfect and the hostel facilities were standard.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Get what you pay for

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Wotif
Bed was barely worth sleeping on. Sheets were filthy. Toilet floor was covered in dirty toilet paper and urine
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Nicolle, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. At check-in we provide guests going into dorm rooms with clean rolled sheets. On the bed is a mattress protector which at times is mistaken as a sheet. They are regularly washed and changed. The rooms are serviced daily by our cleaners and checked by reception staff. Private rooms are cleaned after guests leave and serviced daily. The common areas are cleaned every 2 hours from 730am-10pm. Reception is open 8am-8pm and a night manger on after hours to deal with any issues in the hostel or guest discomforts. Sorry your experience was not a pleasant one with us. We do have private room with en suite which may suit you next time. Thank you Home Backpackers Team
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
Even if I considered the price was very cheap, I couldn't endure the street noise. I sat up all night. There should be noise - blocking window at least. The stay here was the worst in my life.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2017
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am sorry to hear that staying with us was the worst experience in your life... Due to our location being in the city center, some guests that are light sleepers or aren't use to traffic would find it a hard with the street noise. Some of our other guests comment they are light sleepers and found they slept thru the night without any issues.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfectly adequate for what we needed

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Price and size of room. Location
Location: Great location. very close to central.
Perfectly adequate for what we needed. Good size room, clean. Our room was quiet, couldnt hear any street noise. Place was a bit dated in decor but doesnt affect the stay.Pleasant staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2017 by Nicolle, Hotel Management
Hi Diane, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Home. We hope to see you again. Thank you Home Backpackers Team
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Don't stay in this place

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Wotif
Terrible service .! Receptionist was ignorant and lazy to give information ..! Someone else came from behind to tell her that she should help us to tell about facilities and we could use the lounge and freshenup ..! Room was with clean sheets but room was smelly ..! Bathrooms were either clogged or water was not going in drainage properly ..! Facilities are not good ..! All in all I should have booked good hostel like YHA or something other . Home backpackers was big mistake which I will never repeat ..! Stay away from this place
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Decent place,small room with little space

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Neatness
Location: The location is good
They clean ,staff was amazing and always clean . The rooms were just too small for lack space for anything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ipswich, QLD

Mixed bag

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location, Privacy, Quiet
Cons: Facilities, Cleanliness, Items in rooms.
Location: Great location. Close to all forms of transport. Walk to city centre. Variety of foods nearby. Walk to Chinatown. Walk to museums and attractions.
Private, fairly quiet hostel in poor condition. Room was very spartan but relatively clean. Shower, toilet, and carpets were clean but upper bunk was dusty and dirty. Very limited facilities. Excellent location. Close to transport. Safe area. Worth the price but only in terms of location.
5 out of 5
by Melanie

Excellent stay

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
Best backpackers I've ever stayed in. Just wanted a quiet cheap place to spend the night, and I got exactly that. Was also in an ideal location right by the central train station.
2 out of 5
by kaylee

Dirty hot place but we had clean sheets

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
The sheets were clean and the room was decent sized but the place is boiling hot in a run down part of town and not clean in the bathrooms or hallways - our room was clean but smoking hot - DONT STAY WITH A CAR - it was $48 to park over night - what a waste of money - the girl working The front desk was an absolute doll she only been there two weeks but tried to do whatever she could for us! It was a miserable night and I wouldn't stay again - I would probably just sleep in the car I had!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Sydney has just experienced the hottest heat wave ever experienced, without having air conditioning we have put fans in the rooms to help this but with the sticky extremely hot conditions it was making it uncomfortable everywhere. Lucky the cooler months are upon us and the heat wave has left. Our housekeeping and staff clean from 7am -10pm on a schedule. As you checked in late unfortunately the other guests had time to make mess in the common areas and bathrooms. Thank you, Home backpackers.
5 out of 5
by Christopher

Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and we will see you in the future. Home backpackers Team