Ratings based on 191 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
2.4 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Posted Aug 17, 2017
It was fine for an over night stay but I wouldn't stay longer. The only thing letting the place down was the disgusting standard of cleanliness in the room. Someone else's hair was in the bed, the ensuite floor was so grimey and sticky and mouldy. Yuck. Everything else was fine though. Staff were great, location was perfect and the hostel facilities were standard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfectly adequate for what we needed

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Price and size of room. Location
Location: Great location. very close to central.
Perfectly adequate for what we needed. Good size room, clean. Our room was quiet, couldnt hear any street noise. Place was a bit dated in decor but doesnt affect the stay.Pleasant staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2017 by Nicolle, Hotel Management
Hi Diane, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Home. We hope to see you again. Thank you Home Backpackers Team
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Don't stay in this place

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Wotif
Terrible service .! Receptionist was ignorant and lazy to give information ..! Someone else came from behind to tell her that she should help us to tell about facilities and we could use the lounge and freshenup ..! Room was with clean sheets but room was smelly ..! Bathrooms were either clogged or water was not going in drainage properly ..! Facilities are not good ..! All in all I should have booked good hostel like YHA or something other . Home backpackers was big mistake which I will never repeat ..! Stay away from this place
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Decent place,small room with little space

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Neatness
Location: The location is good
They clean ,staff was amazing and always clean . The rooms were just too small for lack space for anything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ipswich, QLD

Mixed bag

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location, Privacy, Quiet
Cons: Facilities, Cleanliness, Items in rooms.
Location: Great location. Close to all forms of transport. Walk to city centre. Variety of foods nearby. Walk to Chinatown. Walk to museums and attractions.
Private, fairly quiet hostel in poor condition. Room was very spartan but relatively clean. Shower, toilet, and carpets were clean but upper bunk was dusty and dirty. Very limited facilities. Excellent location. Close to transport. Safe area. Worth the price but only in terms of location.
5 out of 5
by Melanie

Excellent stay

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
Best backpackers I've ever stayed in. Just wanted a quiet cheap place to spend the night, and I got exactly that. Was also in an ideal location right by the central train station.
2 out of 5
by kaylee

Dirty hot place but we had clean sheets

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
The sheets were clean and the room was decent sized but the place is boiling hot in a run down part of town and not clean in the bathrooms or hallways - our room was clean but smoking hot - DONT STAY WITH A CAR - it was $48 to park over night - what a waste of money - the girl working The front desk was an absolute doll she only been there two weeks but tried to do whatever she could for us! It was a miserable night and I wouldn't stay again - I would probably just sleep in the car I had!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Sydney has just experienced the hottest heat wave ever experienced, without having air conditioning we have put fans in the rooms to help this but with the sticky extremely hot conditions it was making it uncomfortable everywhere. Lucky the cooler months are upon us and the heat wave has left. Our housekeeping and staff clean from 7am -10pm on a schedule. As you checked in late unfortunately the other guests had time to make mess in the common areas and bathrooms. Thank you, Home backpackers.
5 out of 5
by Christopher

Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and we will see you in the future. Home backpackers Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ok for location, too many little faults

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
the hostel had all you need bed, lockers, washrooms, kitchen, wifi etc but just on minimum standard even for a backpackers. my room was leaking so i was rained on during my last night & rest of the time we just wanted some fresh air as the room was so stuffy, hot & bit smelly but window only opened an inch. the hostel could do with more ventilation but the bed alone was comfortable, good tv rooms with lots of channel options & the 500 data allowance is handy. good location for central station. just dont expect much, is a hostel after all
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking the time and leaving us a review. We value all feedback so we can aim to improve our service for all future customers. Happy holidays and we hope you enjoy the rest of your travels Home backpackers Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great experience!

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Nice hostel a short walk from Sydney City centre. My mother and I were a little scepticle about staying in a hostel however we had no complaints - The room was clean, the beds were comfortable and the sheets were clean. The showers were also a ok ;) We didn't really use the rest of the amenities but the kitchen and communal room looked sufficient. For the price I would stay here any day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2016 by Home backpackers Team, Hotel Management
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Great to hear that you and your mum were comfortable. We hope to see you again and enjoy the rest of your holidays.