Ratings based on 589 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B Bay

A beautiful stay with stunning rooms

Posted Nov 8, 2017
We were greatly by such a lovely man as soon as we walked in the door who not only checked us in but showed us all around the hotel and took us to our room. Super friendly and made to feel like we were more than welcome from our first step. Gorgeous rooms and courtyard, we would love to come back soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Blaxland

Location

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: Location and rooms are reasonably well appointed. some are a bit crowded, but generally good
Cons: Parking availability. Have always managed to get a spot, but once the vehicle is in, its a hassle to get back out
Location: eateries........all types..... but front rooms are exposed to a bit of road noise.
So close to many hotels and restaurants. Which makes for a good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chigwell

Shabby Chic

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Comfort, quiet, and friendly staff.
Cons: The décor is in serious need of updating, particularly in the bathroom.
Location: Good location for being on the road out to the airport but also at the top of the city and easily walkable into most areas.
Manor House is a bit of a faded gem. The fixtures and fittings are a bit faded but what it lacks in polish it makes up for in comfort. The room was spotlessly clean, the bed was extremely comfortable and despite being close to a main road was very quiet. The bathroom, although a little moldy in places was again spotlessly clean and a good size. The shower was powerful and hot. The staff were incredibly accommodating and friendly and allowed a friend in to visit me in the lounge until quite late. I would happily stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Personal hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: The home feel of the hotel instead of an impersonal large hotel experience.
Cons: The room was small and the way it was furnished didn't make the best use of space - e.g. big old wardrobe but no space on floor for two suitcases.
Location: An interesting but rather unusual area with Oxford St and its quirky shops and nightlife. Walkable to Allianz Stadium and St Vincents hospital.
Parking was hard to find but location otherwise quite good - 10 mins by bus into the CBD and 15 minutes off-peak taxi to airport. Hotel is old house but interesting despite its rather dilapidated state. The TV/lounge was spacious and comfortable and a great place to sit to chat over coffee or watch Pay TV - much nicer than a hotel lobby - and only a few steps from our room which was handy, also breakfast in the adjacent room was great as part of the deal: fruit, cereal, toast/muffins etc. More than adequate to set us up for the day. Staff were helpful and friendly. The bathroom was new but the room was cramped, tired and dusty. But overall a pleasant enough experience and would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Great antique style Hotel, good location and comfortable bed with BnB.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Starting to be quite run down

Posted Aug 4, 2017 on Wotif
Mould, peeling paint and damp problems in our room. 2-3 minutes for hot water to get upstairs. Toasters that don't work properly and assorted "stuff" left about in the breakfast room. Have stayed here over the years and it is sad to see it is not being maintained as the grand old building it should be. No attention to detail anymore. Great location for Oxford Street action. Otherwise, go elsewhere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but noisey - take earplugs.

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Location was good, breakfast wasn't great. Noisy pipes and corridors.
5 out of 5
by Andrew

Relaxed and comfortable

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
This is not a hotel with all of the modern conveniences and flashy buttons and lights, but in our opinion, it is a hotel where you will feel relaxed and you'll be comfortable. No one will rush you to finish your breakfast by the 10:00 AM end of breakfast time. In fact, at 9:45, fresh food was still being brought to the buffet tables. You can walk into the Darlinghurst shopping area where there is food of all kinds at almost any hour of day or night. Walk a little farther, and you'll be in the CBD, or downtown. Walk in the other direction from the hotel, and you will arrive at the Sydney Cricket Ground, and the Sydney Football Stadium. The area has a reputation for being noisy, but we were not disturbed by any noise. The hotel must have good noise insulation. A minor complaint is some carpeting which is threadbare. It isn't a huge deal, and it certainly wouldn't prevent us staying again at the hotel. The one major letdown is car parking - or the lack of it. There are a few spaces on-site (at quite a rate), but very little else. If you're fortunate to be staying on a weekend, there are 3 car parking spaces on the street outside the hotel, with unlimited parking from 7PM on Friday until 6AM on Monday. Grab one if you can, and don't let it go! Yes, we'd definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and confortable

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
Room very confortable and clean. Breakfast room was so cold though and breakfast could have been a little more inspiring.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Beautiful house

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Old charm with nice room. There was no desk in the room but was otherwise well appointed