Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midlands

Nice Hotel

Posted Feb 11, 2018
Pros: Nice grounds
Cons: Staff Training
Our stay was a little disappointing. When we checked in our room the window was wide open. We closed it and went out for the evening. We returned at 11.00pm and asked to be served at the bar. A member of staff served me with a glass of Rose wine. When I returned for another round of drinks the new bar man did not now where the new bottles of rose wine where so I ended up not having a drink. When we returned to our room it smelt of sewerage. We rang the reception and asked to be moved. Only for the member of staff to arrive with air freshener. I explained that I could not stay in this room. So was moved. To a new room with a broken shower door. Not a great experience after our stay was to cone to my father in laws funeral early that day. And to cap it all off the hotel told us that our expedia payment had not gone through their system. Surprise surprise it had. So we had to call the hotel for a refund.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Impressive looking hotel

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: Spacious with good facilities.
Cons: Turn the heating up.
This overnight stay was comfortable if a little cold. The hotel was very clean and well appointed especially at the low price. The staff were very friendly if a little inefficient at times. Overall quite satisfied.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sansepolcro, Italy

Its just OK

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: suited my travel arrangements
Cons: decor, room furniture, inside, beds, facilities....
One night stay over, nice castle, inside not being repaired for ages, but its not that bad i suppose for the price i paid and one night stop over it was just fine.
4 out of 5
by Jeremy

Posted Nov 10, 2017 on Hotels
Very enjoyable, nice hotel and good for a mid week business trip to the region.
5 out of 5
by Nicola

Walworth Castle short break

Posted Nov 1, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed here as a short notice trip with my daughter. She is 10 and never stayed in a hotel before. The staff were amazing and so helpful and friendly. They made her stay feel very special and she is telling everyone she sees about her lovely holiday since we have returned home. Our room was comfortable and clean. There is a play area on the grounds and a little woodland area to play in. The restaurant was comfortable and food good but only one choice for vegetarians. Staff were very helpful in recommending places to visit and best ways to get into Durham.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Wedding Venue

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: Location,staff and wedding facilities and arrangement.
Cons: Shower. Breakfast - better fruit selection and bacon not left to harden.
Location: Did not have time to see much outside the hotel.
Wedding facilities and arrangements were great. My wife and I were guests and stayed for two nights in a room in the Wing. Bed was fine. Shower/toilet were small and shower flow was inadequate. Breakfast not up to standard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

A Kings Ransom

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: N/A
Location: Cant comment as like to stay in the castle
We booked this hotel for a night and we were welcomed when we arrived and as usual we filled out the paperwork and signature. We liked our standard room it good for short stays. There are other great huge rooms but be prepared to pay the Kings ransom for those rooms. The location is beautiful and great grounds. The bed was clean and the bedding was nice and soft. The TV in the room is great quality. They serve breakfast and dinner which is reasonable choice of dishes. The staff were courteous and helpful. I have never stayed at a castle before and I enjoy the experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet & Relaxing

Posted Oct 20, 2017 on Hotels
Very Nice Place, Friendly Staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

Most enjoyable weekend break

Posted Oct 9, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Surrounding,Food,Staff
Cons: As with most hotels bed hard
Location: Great near A1 went to beamish great day out
This hotel delivered exactly what we wanted a relaxing break in nice surrounding.We felt at ease and comfortable from the start all the staff were great and also seemed to be happy and good at what they did nothing too much trouble.Food also very good .Basically loved our stay and will be returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Csmbridge

A great get a way

Posted Oct 8, 2017
A beautiful location quiet and peaceful and an excellent stay before exploring the great North East