Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gone downhill

Posted Apr 19, 2018
Have used many times but getting worse. Main problem is lack of professionalism by staff. Continually referred to me as 'mate'! Needs new management and training for staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Great staff, needs updating

Posted Apr 16, 2018
Pros: Staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice location too.
Cons: Rooms need updating and back road entrance needs repaving - potholes were a nightmare.
Location: Quiet, almost country location but very close to Darlington town centre and easy access to North Yorkshire/lovely countryside.
The refurbished reception and public rooms of the Blackwell Grange are beautiful - the guest rooms need to catch up though. While clean and comfortable, they feel dated, with scuffed wallpaper and tired furniture.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2018
The rating speaks for itself. Spa area including swimming pool smelt damp and algea growing around pool. Need more TLC ok value for money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from newcastle

Nice looking hotel but rooms not up to much

Posted Apr 3, 2018
Fine just somewhere to get your head down . Noise next door was terrible couldn’t get to sleep and the curtains had black stains on them
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tytherington Cheshire

Revisiting Darlington

Posted Apr 3, 2018
Wonderful stay in a very pleasant charming hotel, very convenient for Durham and Teeside. We would certainly stay there again and would recommend to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2018
Hotel lovely go every year for afternoon tea with mam and sisters stay over and have a nice swim and just chill
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 12, 2018
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff, house itself, grounds, locarion
Cons: Food
Main course: Trio of fish was dry and tasted as though it had been reheated. No fish cutlery. Breakfast: disappointing in the absence of fresh bread and the limited selection of cheese/cold meat.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2018 on Hotels
Lovely area near darlington town centre
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex, UK

Nice hotel even though it was under renovation

Posted Feb 13, 2018
I only stayed for one night but I had a good night sleep and the facilities were good. Although quite major renovations were underway, this did not affect my stay in any way. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Website should say hotel under full restoration

Posted Feb 13, 2018
Cons: In my opinion the hotel should have been closed temporarily whilst serious renovation was taken place, I appreciate that you have a business to run
Its a shame, this hotel could be like a stately home whereas in reality it is very tired, had it not been late in the day when I arrived i would have gone somewhere else, I had booked this for myself and a work colleague, you cant believe how disappointed i was, there was no mention of the restoration. It was cold, my room was not clean and the TV was as good as hanging off the wall, would not recommend.