Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Lovely Hotel with lovely staff

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Pros: Staff
Stayed for 2 nights recently.All staff were very friendly & helpful.I happened to have forgotten my hair brush & only realised once I had been in the shower & washed my hair.I went down to reception to see if they could help out,as I was due at a party & the receptionist gave me her hairbrush for the duration of my stay.I was so grateful,I don't know how I would have dried & styled my hair without her help.Lovely clean room & all facilities replenished for next nights stay.Really good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northumberland

Lovely day

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Lovely hotel. Great gym facilities. The only really bad points are the rooms were very noisy and the walls were paper thin. When next door used toilet or taps it sounds like they are in your room. And the doors cannot be closed quietly. If we go back I would ask for rooms above the pub area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jarrow

Nice hotel, peace and quiet

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: Location, leisure facilities, restaurant and onsite stables bar
Cons: Swimming pool in need of some upgrading
Enjoyed 1 night stay with teenager daughter, staff friendly and polite, tranquil surroundings, ideal for rest and relaxation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Wedding Noise

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Nothing stands out.
Cons: Do not use rooms above banqueting suite unless by guests attending the event.
Location: N/A
Rooms 43-53 are directly above the banqueting suite so if you are not part of the proceedings the rooms are unusable (unable to hear TV even at max volume). At check in 1 of our party was charged for a room that was already pre-paid. This was later refunded after complaining by lead guest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the A1

Posted Sep 5, 2017
I enjoyed my stay. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was lovely. I stayed above the separate on site bar and the room was generally comfortable and clean. My only complaint was that the bathroom perhaps was due a refurbishment and wasn't as clean as I would have expected (eg needing some bleach round the grout and shower head). Overall I would stay again. I know there are more refurbished rooms in the main building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barnard Castle

Spot on

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Great from arrival to departure very good in all aspects
3 out of 5
by andrew

Hall Garth

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
I won't be going back, not after the way reception staff spoke to me! Like I was bothering them by asking questions when trying to check in before 3 o'clock deadline which wasn't advertised! And confirmation paperwork definitely said 2pm but he said I printed it wrong! lost a long standing customer at this hotel now. Still no apology from staff member or management.
5 out of 5
by Gatis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Diane

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Have a lovely stay with this hotel. The staff are helpful and accommodating.