Ratings based on 406 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from darlington

poor

Posted Feb 15, 2018
No heating freezing poor food and no bath just disabled shower half roll toilet role disapoted what refund
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wellington

Posted Feb 7, 2018
Great fabulous swimming pool clean and tidy. Lovely steam room and sauna. Needed to book treatment s so did not have any. Drinks very expensive. Lovely grounds for photography
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

Great place for family reunion

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Pros: Spa Cosy bar Grounds Parking
Cons: Floor and lift labeling - it's a maze
We were here for a family reunion. Beautifully quaint building and setting, friendly and welcoming staff. Cosy bar and great facilities for all ages and weather. Refurbished rooms above the spa are the most comfortable but you have to navigate a maze to find them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Yorkshire

very nice hotel especially for the price

Posted Dec 22, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was very good
Location: it's in County Durham Land of the Prince Bishops need I say more
went for a celebration dinner and enjoyed the stay very much although time limited my use of any of the facilities but they looked impressive. The food on the evening was good for the price and the through the decades disco played a wide variety of music.Breakfast was very good one of the best I have had in a large hotel, better than any London Hotel I have stopped in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cheshire

Lovely hotel in tranquil surroundings

Posted Dec 17, 2017
First visit to redworth hall, thoroughly enjoyed our stay, very comfortable, friendly staff, good food. Even found time to use the pool, steam room and hot tub. Definitely will be going back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fab hotel in lovely location

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Lovely hotel in a fantastic setting. The room was comfortable and the food was great. Breakfast and free WiFi makes it a must repeat if in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Handy for durham and local sights

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Excellent hotel in all ways,lovely leisure affiliates
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cool place to stay

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Pros: Nice staff. Room is clean, comfortable bed, great breakfast, nice bar with good selection of beers. Restaurant for dinner is very good.
Cons: Need to clean the hall rugs and the could use a coat of paint here and there
Location: Great location for me as it is close to the Tees airport and the business I need to visit
Stayed there several times on business. I like staying there as it is an old English hotel with a great atmosphere.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The most horrific place I ever stayed in

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Right where do I start? 1. I checked in at midnight and the night managers had no idea how to print receipt. Anyway they placed us in a room that took 15 minutes to get to from the elevator and basically one needs a map to navigate in this hotel. We asked until what time breakfast is served and we were told 11 am. We added to confirm. He confirmed. Next morning we showed up for breakfast at 10 am and we were told it was over. Ok right. We insisted to get breakfast. After long insistence we got some horrific food. 2. Next day we asked to be moved in another room. We were moved in a room tgat stunk like mold or sewage. Or both. Ok the receptenist was very nice and moved us again in another room. Nice this time (third time around). Well bed sheets were not changed. 3. We arrived back to hotel next evening around 8:30 pm and asked reception until what time food us served. We were told 10 pm. We went to the restaurant at 8:30 and we were refused as the restaurant closed st 9 pm. We asked for the receptionist to come and explain and she started arguing with us saying that no she said 9:30 and than she turned her back on us. So what else can I say? Four star hotel? Not even close to two star. Save your day and stay anywhere else but here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Athens, Greece

Very Nice Overnight Stay

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: The building and area
Cons: Update the bedrooms
I was driving down from Edinburgh to Leeds and decided to break the journey and the rate was very good and I was pleasantly surprised. After reading some of the reviews on Trip Advisor after booking I was nervous but my stay was very good and I loved the facilities. The staff were all very professional and friendly both on the front desk and restaurant. I do agree overall this hotel as with any busy hotel the rooms have got a very used feeling. But it has a great setting and the building and function rooms cater to many events and the Great Hall is stunning. I enjoyed a very good breakfast which was included in my room rate and was good but did not eat in the restaurant for dinner. I could have used the gym as well but decided to rest instead. I would definitely come back and visit again.