Ratings based on 330 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Relaxing!

Posted Aug 18, 2017
We booked a delux room. The room had a spa bath and shower which was perfect and the facilities were excellent. The only thing we missed out on we're the spa robes. We found the small card explaining they were located in the spa when we were about to go to bed. The menu was a little too master chef for me so we got a taxi into town and ate out. The breakfast was fantastic, choices for every pallet with good quality meat and pastries. I will certainly be staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from co durham

Lovely hotel but could do with a bit decorating

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Lovely comfortable room. Great food and nice bar area. Disappointed to find pool out of use when we were looking forward to a nice relaxing swim.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place and great location in Durham area

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Went there for business. Perfect place to meet, eat, and sleep
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from yarm

Overall disappointed

Posted Aug 3, 2017
I took my partner here for a relaxing night away before our up coming wedding and the hotel was a big waste of money. The receptionist forgot to tell us we had to book a table for our evening meal meaning we didn't get to eat until 9.30pm. The room was set out for 1 person I.E 1 shower gel one shampoo one towel excetera. The shower head was covered in gunk and there was dust everwere. There were no pillows on the bed u had to call down for some. The room was a deluxe room but had a cheap holiday hotel room feel. There was no were to sit around the pool. The sauna was broken. The only plus we got from the hotel was the food it was very nice. Overall I would not recommend this hotel £200 absolutely wasted
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Co Durham

Pay as you go !

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: It was clean
Cons: Customer service on reception.
Location: Local to me but visitors are recommended to go to Durham
Booked this room for my elderly father as I was away at wedding of member of husband's family and my father does not like being in our home on his own. I prepaid for three nights bed and breakfast. Upon arrival at the hotel, we were advised that a credit card number was required for charging items to the room bill.Neither my father nor myself havd a credit card. I offered my debit card but was told this could not be used. I then asked if I could pay say £100.00 via my debit card as a deposit as I was sure that would more than cover any extras my father would need and then anything left over could be refunded at the end of the stay. I was told that this was not possible as if was too inconvenient for the reception staff to refund cards !! I was astonished - I was the customer and to be honest refunding a debit card is hardly an inconvenience - I should know as I spent 20 years working in hotels ! As a result, my father had to pay, with his own debit card, for goods and services, at the point of sale. Not ideal for an elderly man and caused me inconvenience as I wanted to pay for everything so I have given him a cheque to reimburse him and had to take him to the bank to pay it in !! Really think this hotel needs to consider the customer - not sure I would return as the whole pay as you go is a farce ! Your guests should come first
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kent

Disappointing hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: The beauty of the house only
Cons: Little touches everywhere,seating on the actual grassed area etc etc etc
Location: Great pub in walking distance in the next village.
Beautiful house but.........it lacks finesse.......if you don't ask and why should you on booking you will probably be put in the new build square block of rooms behind the hotel! Even though they call them deluxe spa rooms it's not what you expect when you arrive up the beautiful drive and see the house! Lots of garden but nowhere to sit! Lots of little things not right...would we stay again?.......No
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Somewhere different

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: The ambience, the grounds, the bedroom itself was good!
Cons: Refurbishment throughout. Improve the spa (it's average) and change the beds to Premier Inn-style ones
Location: There are lots of hidden gems close by and around County Durham. Rail fans will love Shildon and Darlington
Redworth Hall Hotel has an amazing frontage. And with its grand entrance you'd expect a hotel with character. It sort of has it but it could be better. The dining room's a bit bog standard 90s hotel style. I realise the bedrooms and bar/restaurant is in the part that was added in the 90s, but you'd think they'd try to emulate the grand manor house throughout to make it feel special. The spa is OK but it was full of children who were jumping in the pool and made swimming impossible. Staff didn't seem to care either that there are clear rules about jumping into the pool. It just isn't big enough to be a fun pool and for leisure swimming. I also had issues in the spa. I paid upfront for a spa room and was then told it wasn't, so I couldn't have robes. I did choose a spa bedroom and have the Expedia proof of purchase, so there's something amiss there. The staff member said my room wasn't on the floor with one of the spa rooms, but it had a jacuzzi bath so, according to the hotel website, it was! It was embarrassing and there needs to be clarity. Finally, the bed was very hard and uncomfortable. Beyond those niggles, it was a lovely stay. If the interior could reflect the history parts then it could be outstanding. The bedroom was a good size and comfortable - other than the bed! The food was good too, though the beef rib was a bit dry. My salmon and prawn roulade was fabulous and the garlic prawns that my partner chose was equally as tasty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newcastle

Good facilities,clean rooms

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Lovely hotel with good facilities.polite staff with clean rooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sunderland

Disappointing

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Rooms grubby, staff inattentive, communal areas ok and spa good which saved the experience - staff not prepared to receive constructive feedback!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Had a great time, however we were visiting family. Would have been nice to spend more time there and to use the facilities.