Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alloa Scotland

One nigjt stay

Posted Jan 28, 2018
Hotel good food excellent room was large anf clean bed just a bit to hard for me but that was no drama as everybody choice of mattress is diffrent other than this everything else was great
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2018 by Mark M, Hotel Management
Hi Lavinia. Thank you for the review. Great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I have noted your comments on the mattress. I will have this checked and replaced if needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from east yorkshire

Enjoyable stay

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Staff friendly and helpful, food plentiful and excellent quality, room comfortable and nicely furnished. Overall a good place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by Mark, Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. I am pleased you enjoyed your time with the George.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Good stay

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Location & surroundings
Cons: None
Location: Right in the heart of the Roman surroundings
stayed here 20 years ago & not much has changed since my. Nice country hotel, fantastic location! bad cell phone coverage as it’s in the middle of nowhere
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by Mark, Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. I am pleased you enjoyed your time with the George.
5 out of 5
by NICHOLAS

Great over night stay

Posted Nov 11, 2017 on Hotels
It was great. Breakfast by a roaring fire with a frost on the ground outside. Loved it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by Nathan, Hotel Management
Hi Nicholas. Thank you for the great review. I hope we get to see you again soon. Kind Regards Mark Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
by Kathryn

Comfortable Coaching House

Posted Nov 8, 2017 on Hotels
Comfortable stay. Not much to do at hotel except eat and sleep. Very quiet and seemed to have few guests. More staff than guests in fact.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by Nathan, Hotel Management
Hi Kathryn. Thank yo for the review. I am pleased you enjoyed your recent visit. I do hope we get to see you again. Kind Regards Mark Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
by Kathryn

Good place to be

Posted Nov 5, 2017 on Hotels
Very comfortable. Excellent breakfast. Friendly staff, very obliging and pleasant. A special bonus was seeing the Full Zetland Hunt go past. Very good decor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by Nathan, Hotel Management
Hi. Thank you for such a great review. Don't leave it long before we get to see you again. Kind Regards Mark Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire

Lovely weekend

Posted Nov 3, 2017
We had a lovely weekend at The George. The first room was overlooking the road. I asked if we could be moved and they were able to do this without any fuss the staff where really friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was good and location was great. We are at The George on both evenings and the food was very good too. Would defiantly return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by Mark, Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. I am pleased you enjoyed your time with the George.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from darlington

Disappointed

Posted Oct 22, 2017
We arrived and staff none informative, we needed to ask everything I.e. what time is breakfast, where to go for breakfast, when can we check out . The shower in the room ran at a trickle, so decided to get a bath to which the plug didn't fit properly so water constantly ran out. Bed and pillows extremely uncomfortable, I only managed about two hours broken sleep. The breakfast buffet was self service and a good set up BUT everything was cold, even the hot water for drinks. Salmon left out untouched for 1 and a half hours. Disappointing stay positive was nice size room, great traditional bar and lovely area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by Mark, Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Hi James. I am sorry that we did not exceed expectations on this occasion. I have discussed your comments with my team, who would also like to offer their apologies. This is not a standard of service I am happy with and would like to assure that your feedback is acted upon. I do hope we get to see you again the George hotel and show you that we take guest feedback very seriously.
5 out of 5
by Paul

Posted Oct 7, 2017 on Hotels
Good value for money, nice location, pleasant staff, decent food - an building but clean - would recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by Nathan, Hotel Management
Hi Paul. Thank you for the great review. I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Hopefully we get to see you again soon. Kind Regards Mark Hotel Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very shabby hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Maintenance of the building
Hotel is old and in need of a major face lift. Everything about it is old, feels and looks like an old tavern. We first were offered a cubicle with no chair or desk and after asking to be upgraded, we were given a larger room. Staff was very helpful. Breakfast was generous.