Ratings based on 212 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible WI-Fi, terrible shower

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
To start, I have a problem with hotels claiming they have free Wi-Fi and then only providing speeds that remind you of a 1990s dialup connection. In order to receive "faster" speeds, you are required to pay a fee. In 2016, Wi-Fi in a hotel is the same as electricity and water; it needs to be provided and not in limited quantities. If you are considering this hotel and Wi-Fi is a must for you, do not stay here. You would be lucky to load Google's homepage before you had to checkout with these speeds. Moving on to the bathroom, there was a large thick black hair on my towel which was an unpleasant surprise. The water temperature is dreadful, switching from hot to cold with no reason. Taking a shower was like Russian roulette. For the hotel itself, it is nice enough. The rooms are quite large and have nice amenities. The hotel is outdated which can easily be seen by the brick of a TV in the room and It is directly on the train tracks so you have some noise if you are on that side of the hotel. I would not recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Our experience was not pleasant

Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Hotels
The maid did not leave the daily supply of shampoo bottles or soap. We stayed there for 6 nights but for the entire stay, wed DID NOT receive shampoos or soaps. In one occasion I made a note saying "Please leave shampoo bottle" and left by the sink and the note was ignored!!! We had to go to the front desk to get the supply.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from UA

Good cheap hotel for business trips near Frankfurt

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Old network hotel with good enough comfort and location. Near the train station with a direct trains to Frankfurt main train station (aprx 20 min) and Frankfurt Messe (aprx 45 min direct S line).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
WiFi did not work in my room very well and when I told reception, they were happy to let me change rooms although i was in my room already for 2 nights.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fFrance

Oldish

Posted Oct 22, 2016
The overall impression is that the hotel looks and feels old. Confort ok but rooms and corridors feel dusty. Breakfast is too expensive, 20 euros. Close to the center and to public transport. Staff Members are nice, specially at the reception.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wroclaw

Location, Location, Location

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: One big positive is the bathroom, which was a bath with good shower facilities and a good-sized basin.
Cons: The TVs need urgent replacement. Drinks facilities are also essential in continental hotels, where you don't usually drink the tap water.
Location: Darmstadt town centre is 3km away. It has lots of shops and was really busy on the Saturday I visited.
This hotel is all about the location. It's great if, like me, you were visiting the European Space Agency because it's just across the road. It's smart enough from the outside but room facilities are a little old-fashioned and not quite what you expect. For example, my room was a double but consisted of two single beds pushed together. The TV was also so old, you had to push a button to turn it on. The TV reception and choice of channels were also poor. The lack of free bottled water or any tea/coffee making facilities in the room was also disappointing. As was the absence of any 'Do Not Disturb' sign in my room, which resulted in a maid opening the room door on the second morning and waking me up. One side of the hotel is located right next to railway tracks which are used by early morning freight trains. And they can be noisy. One train woke me up at 6.30am on the first morning with its screeching. So both mornings' sleep were disrupted for different reasons.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice place, good location

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: The TV's are a little old, they are not flat screens
Location: Travel
This is a nice place. The rooms are comfortable, the beds are great. The location is good, within easy walking distance of the main train station which means that it's easy to get anywhere in Frankfurt from this location. There is minimal train noise. It's also easy to get a taxi, and the train station has a lot of low cost food options. The breakfast they serve here is wonderful. For the price, you can't do better than this hotel in Darmstadt.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In frankfurt for business

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
When to frankfurt for a trade show, was hard to get a room, not to many choices, the hotel is very old, the bathroom smell, for the high room price there is an 18 euros per day for parking, the bed were iching all night, carpet full of dust, internet was very slow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Clean hotel in the middle of town. friendly staff. nice breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Valeri from Hakodate, JAPAN

Adequate.

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
Overall, it was quite nice.