Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2019
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2019 by management, Hotel Management
Please let us know how we could have improved your experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2019
The room and the property are beautiful. The breakfast is fabulous and I would highly recommend the place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2019 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2019
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2019 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for the rating! We hope you enjoyed your stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fabulous venue, pity about the cold food!

Posted Oct 31, 2018 on Hotels
Fabulous venue - plantation house and gardens are well maintained and worth seeing. We stayed 2 x nights B&B in the "cottages" that run alongside the river road, in one of the smaller rooms (A2). Was perfectly large enough for two nights for two. Highlights = comfy raised bed, well-equipped bath and shower room and coffee-making facilities (add black tea to choices to be perfect). Rocking chair on balcony outside a nice touch! Downside = plumbing, which leaves a little to be desired - we could get hot water in thew bath, but failed with the shower! A problem with the pipes (apparently) which we reported to reception on leaving. Breakfast (served in the Carriage House) was good, if not great. Large choice of Southern US dishes + fresh orange juice, coffee and freshly baked "biscuits" (scones to us Brits). Service is "relaxed" (can be slow). The only major downside = dinner. We ate at Latil's (choice of 3 or 5 courses), which won Industry awards between 2010 and 2014 (not recently). Quality of the food, flavours and seasoning was excellent (chef clearly has good craft skills) but is let down by being SERVED COLD. Every dish, whether meat, fish/seafood or dessert was served on COLD PLATES at below par temperature. The reason - the kitchens are located at The Carriage House, a 5-6 minute walk for the waiters from Latil's and the food is served on cold plates with metal covers. Bonkers! Someone needs them a plate warmer and an insulated food transport trolley!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Amazing Plantation Experience

Posted Oct 18, 2018
Pros: Room quality, wondering round the gardens, the turkeys, the sub, the dinning hall, the staff in the restaurant and on the carts driving you round,food
Cons: kill the mosquitos, all of them!!, a path from whit fence to the front 2 rooms (grass was swampy and you can't really walk through it.
Location: Didn't do anything nearby
This place feels five start all the way! The quality of everything was incredible. I initially thought it was a little overpriced when I booked, but after having stayed there, I feel its excellent value for money. A couple of things you need to be prepared for ... there are a LOT of mosquitos, and we must have killed about 20 in the room in the first 30mins ,,, bring repellent!. There's quite an ugly building in-between the rooms and the house .. hopefully better looking when its finished. And 2 of the rooms are right on the road, and the traffic / trucks get pretty noisy from around 4am (you might want to avoid these 2, the others would be fine). Definitely do the restaurant - their food, building and staff are amazing!! Can't speak highly enough about the décor in the rooms .. whoever put these together was at the top of their game!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic experience

Posted Sep 24, 2018 on Hotels
Fabulous place to stay - easy drive from airport. great restaurant options. Tour of plantation house and gardens as well as a beautiful breakfast included. A highlights our trip.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raymond, MS

Posted Jul 18, 2018
Check in was very easy. Staff is extremely helpful and always smiling. Words are not adequate to describe the experience of Houmas House. I am already missing this magical place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Off the scale fabulous in every respect!

Posted Jul 6, 2018
Service was impeccable! Food was fabulous! Options for food -2 awesome resuaurants - one seeves breakfast and dinner; the other seeves lunch. We ate all three meals. We are huge foodies. Everything was absolutely delicious. The grounds are stunningly gorgeous. We will be back for sure!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south mississippi

Comfortable cottages in a beautiful setting

Posted Jun 29, 2018
The staff at the plantation cottages were incredibly friendly and very eager to help. The winding pathways, upon which the cottages were located, were full of beautiful, mature trees and lush foliage. Truly, an amazing experience!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful stay

Posted May 31, 2018 on Hotels
Pricey but very nice for a special occasion. Restaurant was excellent.