Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

beautiful location

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: The food and location.
Cons: Nothing it was perfect.
Beautiful hotel set in stunning grounds. Every effort is made to make you welcome by the owners. The food was excellent with a good choice of breakfast and evening meals. I would definitely recommend this hotel to couples.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Jeff, Hotel Management
Thank you for your very positive feedback
5 out of 5
by eric

Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017
Thank you for your feeedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

Nice hotel in a beautiful surroundings

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: The building, the garden, the bed, the bathroom and the breakfast.
Location: Great for cyling hiking. there is also one close by pub.
We were just there for a night. We loved the place and the owners were very friendly and helpful. Bed was very comfy too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Jeff, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we're so plesed you had a good stay
5 out of 5
by robert

So good

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Set 200 yards off the main road this Hotel is set in beautiful grounds, is very quiet and has lots of character not many rooms so you get a personal and very friendly service from the owners and staff. Did not have dinner there but the breakfast was very good. If you want a small intimate hotel set in beautiful surroundings and you like peace and quiet , then stay here its far better than the more expensive local options
5 out of 5
by PHIL

Very relaxed hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly with good food - cant ask or expect any more
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Lovely country hotel. A bit remote but otherwise great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely superb - hospitality, food, grounds, comfort second to none. Beautiful building. As I understand, it's family run of 3 people. Hosts could not do enough for myself, my husband and daughter and her partner. Our evening meal of 3 courses was absolutely fantastic and at £28pp for 3 courses was unbelievably good value. The building itself is very old and beautiful and the decor and furniture complimented the building fantastically. Would have no hesitation in recommending this beautiful country manor home. Will definitely be paying another visit
5 out of 5
by Sarah from Reading

Beautiful, comfortable place with lovely people

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed for two nights on our way back from Cornwall. The bed was super comfortable and we loved the historic building and lovely garden and views. The food was delicious and dinner is very reasonably priced. The owners are such lovely people - it really felt like staying in someones home. There is a lovely little lounge to relax in and as it is a fairly small hotel it is easy to socialise with other guests. The area is beautiful with loads of Dartmoor Walks. Lydford Gorge is stunning (beware though - the walking is tough for some of the route!)
5 out of 5
by derek from Birmingham

Posted Jun 24, 2016 on Hotels
A warm welcome and a prefect short break . Would go back for a longer stay. The food was excellent and a good wine choice . We all enjoyed our stay .
5 out of 5
by Alexander from Abingdon

Great Traditional Country Hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
Its what we wanted for a much needed short break; comfortable, relaxed, friendly, picturesque