Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west sussex

Home away from home

Posted Sep 19, 2017 on Ebookers
I stayed at the East Dart for 2 nights and I loved it. Friendly and welcoming staff, lovely comfy room and great location right in the middle of Dartmoor. Decent food in the pub and Rosie made an excellent breakfast. Thanks Ty for making us welcome in the bar and providing a friendly chatty atmosphere. Will stay for longer next time!
5 out of 5
by Niki from Sussex

stunning location

Posted Aug 11, 2017 on Hotels
Great location right by the bridge. Friendly hosts and an amazingly good breakfast. Room small but clean and comfortable. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
by Heather

Dartmoor weekend break

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
Very comfortable stay in Dartmoor. Very friendly staff - and good wholesome food. Very entertained by the bar man Ty who with his amusing banter ran around trying to help everyone consistently. Bed very comfortable and lovely breakfast with local produce.
5 out of 5
by Philip

Great Stay!!!!!

Posted Apr 1, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful location, classic inn on the moor, close to areas to hike and explore. Loved my 3 nights there and would gladly stay there again. The staff and family who operate the inn are outstanding people. The breakfast was great and evening meals in the pub with the classic English atmosphere with the fire place was just like out of a Sherlock Holmes novel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dog friendly pub with rooms

Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly welcoming staff. Lovely breakfast. Dartmoor right on the doorstep. Will definitely return.
4 out of 5
by Annette from Sydney, Australia

wonderful place

Posted Jan 16, 2016 on Hotels
The East Dart is a friendly, homely place in the middle of Dartmoor. It is an ideal location to explore this stunning part of Devon. As I was the only guest, I was upgraded to a double room with the best heating (it was in the middle of a cold snap). I was well cared for and made to feel welcome.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2015 on Hotels
Ideal location, very friendly and perfect for my stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A comfortable stay in a tradtional Dartmoor pub

Posted Aug 1, 2015 on Hotels
Great hospitality in a wonderful moorland setting and the perfect stopover during a North-South Dartmoor trek. Food and beer are excellent, rooms are small but very comfortable. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by Margaret from Cambridgeshire

A great stop over

Posted Jul 30, 2015 on Hotels
Although we only had a one night stay we wished it could have been longer and will definitely return. The welcome was first class as was the room and nothing was too much trouble. We ate in the restaurant and the food and service was brilliant - nothing was too much trouble.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from here

Just what I needed

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location; absolutely ideal for my purpose, right on the moor with Bellever Forest and the visitor centre just minutes away
Cons: Shower takes a bit to get up to temperature but I was on holiday so in no hurry.
Location: At the heart of the moor and all that offers with ready access to larger towns if needed
From the minute I arrived till the minute I left I was made to feel very welcome and as if no request would be too much. It was a spur of the moment booking and perhaps a happy coincidence that it suited me and my particular interests rather well. I loved the traditional interior of the bar, my room was clean, comfortable and sufficiently well appointed for my needs. I'm funny with food but found I was actually spoiled for choice for evening meals and actually appreciated being able to eat (and drink) in the same place I would sleep in. Yes I've had better / cheaper but then I've also paid a whole lot more for lesser quality. And thought the chips were great. Breakfast was more than adequate to fuel what was some very active days without the need to resort to snacks throughout the day I loved the family atmosphere where I felt more like a visiting relative than a paying guest.