Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Delightful Dartmoor Hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Family run hotel was clear to see, lovely little touches everywhere Particularly liked the refurbished spa area which was complimentary
Cons: To ensure we have a beautiful sunny morning when we return as it was dismal and grey, typical Dartmoor weather 😉
Location: Haytor is a stones throw from Hotel and delightful Bovey Tracy close too where Parke is always one of our destinations, love the river walk here
Only stayed one night but already planning to return some time. Room was comfortable, slept well and the attention to detail was excellent
5 out of 5
by David

A great find!

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly efficient service in all deptments and very good food both at dinner and breakfast. Spa facilities are excellent. I will certainly return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017
Many thanks for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards, Richard
5 out of 5
by Christina

loved it!

Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
service was amazing, my room was right next to hallway doors but still incredibly quiet. The pool is a dream
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Quiet Charming Country Hotel with Spa.

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Very friendly staff. Clean and comfortable hotel and spa. Relaxed & efficient service. Mix of age ranges (not all geriatric or stuffy)
Cons: The bathroom door handle and lock needed oiling! Housekeeping staff need to pay more attention to detail empty tissue box and replenishment issues!
Location: Dartmoor, walks, cycling, good local quiet country pubs for for food and beverages are good options. Drive to the coast or Dartington Glass blowing.
If you are looking for a peaceful break in a quiet location away from it all with a countryside views, spa and good food then this is the place for you. We booked a weekend at this hotel for our anniversary and were not disappointed. We were greeted on arrival by the friendly receptionist who provided all the information about the hotel, dining and spa facilities. (A porter is available if needed). Before dinner, we were guided to the sitting room and presented with dinner menus and the waiter brought drinks no rush or fuss. Dining was a pleasure, the waitress and waiters were friendly and nothing was too much trouble Set price 2 / 3 course and a la carte options are available. Our food, was very tasty, well cooked and nicely presented. A good selection of reasonably priced wines were available. Coffee with petit-fours finished our evening meal as we were too full to eat desert. On arrival our room overlooked the croquet lawn and was nicely furnished with a comfortable bed, tea and coffee making - a nice touch - storage jar with fresh cooked flapjacks. Disappointingly the jar was not refilled by room service nor was the empty box of tissues! Breakfast - Cooked to order / buffet. Tea & coffee freshly brewed (no noisy machine self service here!) For variety on our second night we choose to eat at The Rising Sun near Ashburton (A good option - see hotel welcome guide). Our experience was great but If you are on a tight budget, eat out at the local pubs / restaurants!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dawlish,Devon

Pleasant Break

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Location: A lovely garden in the front. Good views of Haytor.
Had a 1 night break here. The Spa was particularly good and very clean. On arrival asked for a Guinness but this had run out. My wife asked a decaff tea, tea arrived but was not decaff. Ate in the Bar in the evening, only 5 of us in, we ordered main meals but these took 50 minutes to arrive and had to complain. Bed was comfortable but bedroom a bit cramped with a lot of old furniture. A good breakfast. Felt they could do better.
5 out of 5
by marion

feedback

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
great location and spa area. lovely views very romantic.. only negatives..rooms and decor are tired. I.e. carpets in places frayed . walls with filler in not finished/painted. Taps swivelling. A Real shame
5 out of 5
by Kim

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
Very pleasant staff, swimming pool a little shallow at end but not too much of a problem as spa area very good. Lovely relaxing area.
5 out of 5
by Sarah

Beautiful country house hotel.

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
True English charming country house hotel. Set in beautiful gardens and with great views from the dining room. Very calm and relaxing stay and loved the fact food was all locally produced and home made.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017
Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I would thoroughly reccomend this hotel.

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: Comfortable bed, good outside seating
Cons: The Blue Tiger inn could be improved. Particularly the environment
Location: Close to the Torres and near the sea so ideal location
Everything was to a very high standard and the location was very good
4 out of 5
by Jan

Lovely spa hotel in quiet relaxing setting

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel with gorgeous spa but this time was ruined by the lack of soundproofing from the room above. We could hear everything the argued about and then, even worse, the making up and all this after 11.30pm. The hotel is situated just down from Haytor in a really quiet area and that is what we go here for, the peace and quiet. So, this was rather spoilt for us this time. The bar area also needs livening up. At 5pm to 6pm there is a cocktail promotion but no-one manning the bar and therefore when they arrive and there is a queue, making the cocktails takes forever, 25 minutes to be exact, and then we were charged on the bill for the full, non-promotional price of the cocktail, probably because the bill was made up after 6pm when you include the 25 min preparation time~!!