Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thrapston UK

Absolutely perfectly charming!

Posted Aug 21, 2017
I cannot say enough about this place. Not only was the staff warm and welcoming, but it's as if they greeted you everyday with a warm hug. You felt as though you were life long friends from the moment you met. Check in was spectacular and the room was sooooo perfect! We were in the attic family room and it looks to be all new and freshly remodeled. We loved the separate rooms! Breakfast was delicious:) I will definitely stay here again! ♥️♥️♥️♥️
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Great stop along the Two Moors Way for walkers

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: comfy bed, good water pressure, wifi and tv worked, clean linens, polite owners - not much missing!
Cons: maybe hair dryers in the room, if i HAVE to say something....
Location: tiny village just north of Chagford, right on the Two Moors Way.
just what i needed after a 21 mile day on the Two Moors Way in South Devon, at the edge of Dartmoor National Park. lovely food at the pub, polite owners and staff, excellent breakfast option, and the other hikers staying there at the time seemed to agree. clean room, comfortable bed, and plenty of hot water! Not much to do in the immediate area of the Inn, but the larger town of Chagford was only about 1.5 miles further south along the route, and it had more dining options, if you are staying longer than one night.
5 out of 5
by Dan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Comfortable accommodation in good location.

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: Good location close to Dartmoor and Buckfast Abbey.
We stayed at The Tradesman’s Arms for a couple of nights last week as a base to visit parts of Dartmoor. We booked a double room described as Compact so can’t really complain about it being small. It was clean and comfortable with what looked like a recently refurbished bathroom. Having checked the website there are larger rooms available for the same price but they weren’t available when we visited. There was a bit of noise from what sounded like an extractor but it didn’t really affect our sleep. The first night was Pie night and the pies were lovely. We intended to eat elsewhere the second night but enjoyed the first meal so ate there again and weren’t disappointed as both our meals were lovely. Breakfast was tasty but a little disappointing that we had to ask for fruit juice both mornings rather than it being offered. Overall, a good stay in nice surroundings with good food and an ideal location to explore the Moors or a visit to Buckfast Abbey. Would certainly consider staying again.
3 out of 5
by Fiona from Mk

Nice but not great. Would not go back.

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff but the bed was very hard and uncomfortable. The food was expensive compared to similar hotels. The building needed decorating and updating/ repairing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Family friendly pub with a lovely atmosphere

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Food, Rooms and great atmosphere
Spent a night at The Tradesmans Arms with 3 children and it was a fantastic place to stay. Staff were are very friendly and welcoming, the rooms were perfect for us (2 bedroom area with private bathroom) and the pub food was excellent. Would highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Lovely welcoming Inn at the end of a day's walking

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Very welcoming, very friendly and accommodating owners, Kevin doing everything possible to help with the arrangements for my Two Moors Way walking (the Inn is right in the route). Comfortable room in gorgeous setting, great dinner and massive delicious full English breakfast. I warmly recommend the Tradesmans Arms to walkers and non-walkers alike.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

one night stay

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: friendly
Cons: currently under going renovationnot applicable
basic but pleasant, friendly staff..Good country pub.
5 out of 5
by Andrew from Cornwall

lovely countryside location and hospitality.

Posted Nov 17, 2015 on Hotels
Great stay, Excellent location and views, really nice owners. Would recommend for the value. I normally stay in brand hotels but this made a real pleasant change.
4 out of 5
by JOHN

Good value overall.

Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels
Overall very pleased with all facilities with the exception of the WiFi which was poor in room 1 . Suggest getting a stronger router / booster as guests need to go on line fro a variety of tasks.