Ratings based on 1,204 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Very central

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: lobby is very univiting
Location: Mitchell street bars and restaurants.
The hotel "feels" more like 2 or 3 stars. That said the rooms are big and clean. The hotel staff is "normal" for Western standards but relative to the Asian hotels they are neither friendly nor nice enough. The location is very good close to the main street where all the bars and restaurants are located.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, WA

Happy stay

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Pros: The staff took the trouble to find me a courtesy umbrella . Quiet room. Reasonably priced.
Cons: N/a
Location: Centrally located
In Darwin for work and was able to walk to places I needed to visit
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sunshine coast

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Hotel is in a great location and the staff were super helpful and obliging.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Very comfortable

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Business trip. Good location at the corner of the mall. Bit difficult to get to if driving and don't know your way around. But very helpful and quick valet service. All in all would come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from katherine nt

Nice hotel in the heart of the city

Posted Sep 3, 2017
The Darwin Central is a nice clean hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. It is situated in the heart of the CBD. It is my place of choice to stay as I find it so handy to everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth Australia

Good Location in City centre

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: location, friendly staff, cleanliness
Very friendly and efficient staff both in housekeeping and front desk. The hotels location allows easy walking to the city facilities and is about a 20 minute walk to the Harbour. Our room was comfortable but a little dated, yet the bathroom and shower were great. Overall a very pleasant experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Australia

very basic

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Found it hard to get excited about this hotel
Cons: quality staff, music in reception, reception desk, add flowers.
Location: Close to all facilities
Something about this hotel lacks. The reception ambiance is wrong, the staff are slow. The queen studio rooms are dark with very little view, looking at brick wall. When your there for a while on a holiday you would expect light and a view. It seems to lack quality all round.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2017 by Darwin Central Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Andrew, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback so we can evaluate our performance and understand what matters to you, our guest. Thanks for sharing your experience. Regards, Michelle Davidson General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Spacious oasis in the middle of the city

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: The space of the room, and the efficient Reception staff.
Cons: Update the pool area.
Location: DCH is close to Smith Street Mall, and not too far to walk to the Waterfront. I'd highly recommend the 10 minute walk to the Duck's Nuts for lunch!
I only had one night at the Darwin Central Hotel, but I found everything about the stay to be fabulous. The Reception staff were efficient and pleasant, checking me into my room without an issue. They were also helpful on checkout, and happy to store my bags while I explored the city. My room was more like a suite, it was so big - a large kitchenette, lounge with a sofabed and armchair (and still plenty of space to move), queen bed, and a huge bathroom with a walk-in shower. Not much of a view, but great blockout blinds which allowed me my first sleep in in a long time! The minibar was well stocked, and the toiletries provided were very nice, too. The only thing I'd say could be improved was the pool area. The hotel correctly describes it as a plunge pool (i.e. it's not huge) but it's big enough to cool down in, without feeling on top of other swimmers. It's just that the whole pool area is a little small and bland. I enjoyed my early morning swim, but it wasn't very conducive to spending a couple of hours laying by the pool. On the upside, there are toilets and showers there, which are handy. I didn't have breakfast at the hotel, but I've heard from a local friend that it's delicious, and it was quite reasonably priced. I would happily book here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

City centre. Car parking. Good rooms.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Couldn't get to car park after checking out as needed a swipe card.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Excellent location

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Nice hotel great value Very comfortable Great location