Ratings based on 215 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Autumn

The staff is attentive and engaging

Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Hotels
The staff is far and away the best thing about this place. They are very helpful, and attentive to needs. I ended up with bugs in my room (cockroaches and some beetle that came in with rain) and the staff was great about spraying the room the day of he report and the day after. One member also looked into the bus schedule for me on his own phone when I was trying to get out to a semi-local crocodile park. The pool and sundeck are a great place to hang out and relax. The bar is a bonus and convenient for hot days. However, the property shows its age. It is not as kept up as it could be and the lack of wifi is annoying. You can access wifi for $4 for 24 hours, but it doesn't work well off the first floor. There is also a storage place for luggage which is nice, but it absolutely reeks of mold. My bag was in there for five hours and still reeks. As I mentioned, the staff is definitely the star of this place. In addition to the bug issue (it is the wet season, bugs happen, the staff responded very quickly), myself and another girl in the dorm had a problem with a guy who arrived after us and kept setting the AC entirely too low for our comfort. He would act like he was fine keeping it at the preset 23 degrees, but when one or both of us left the room he brought it way down to 18. One quick conversation and the gentlemen on the swing shift moved the guy into his own private room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Autumn, Thank you for your review of Melaleuca on Mitchell, Darwin. We are pleased to read that the staff were able to assist with issues that occurred during your stay. Thank you for your constructive feedback and we hope that you enjoy the rest of your stay in Australia.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
This is a great budget accommodation. We stayed here for a week. Perfect location. We were here in the wet season so it was quiet, not sure how it would be in the dry season. My only fault would be they ask you not to turn off the a/c and the room was freezing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi, Thank you for the review of Melaleuca on Mitchell, Darwin. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good time. Regards Sheena and the team at MOM
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, Fl

Close to bars

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Lastminute
if you are looking for nightlife, this is the place. Darwin is a very small city, and this is a central location for everything there. Everyone I met here was really friendly. Rooms could use a little TLC.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by Sheena, Hotel Management
Hi Moe, Thank you for your review of Melaleuca on Mitchell, Darwin. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Regards Sheena and the team at MOM
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seymour

Nice middle of town location

Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Wotif
Unbelievable half dressed ladies everywhere all to view for a cheap price
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alice Springs, NT

Party hostel in the centre of Darwin

Posted Aug 15, 2016
A very busy hostel that has a big party atmosphere. Good location with it being on the main street with supermarket, travel shops etc. Rooms and bathrooms are clean however staff could be unhelpful and rude at times.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, average room.

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Room smelled musty, window blind broken making room dark.
Location: Best feature
Great location in heart of Darwin, good atmosphere on upstairs deck. Ground floor room dark due to broken window blind,smelled musty, noisy springs in uncomfortable mattress. average backer packer. But hey it's not the ritz at $130/night four bunk ensuite.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over priced for what it is

Posted Jul 14, 2016 on Lastminute
My friend and I stayed in a private room. The carpets are filthy and smell like dirty feet. Existing hair all over pillow case. Uncomfortable bed. Have been travelling in USA recently and stayed in some amazing hostels and a much cheaper rate than this with much better facilities. Lift your game Darwin! Will not be staying again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney NSW Australia

Cheap & cheerful!

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Pros: Central proximity
Cons: A little tired, could use a re-paint and mattresses could be replaced, at least in my room.
Location: On the main street close to supermarket, cafe's and nightlife. 15 - 20 minute walk to Darwin Waterfront for more restaurants and nightlife.
This is a cheap & cheerful backpackers on the main street of Darwin, Mitchel Street. It is opposite the local supermarket, Coles, and is nearby to much of Darwin's nightlife. Darwin is a small city and most things are in walking distance so you don't feel like you're out of the way staying here. Fairly clean with basic conveniences (bathrooms & kitchen) and as a backpackers/hostel it is frequented by many young international tourists and has the vibe to match. A basic and enjoyable stay, I would use again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

best place to socialize

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
I found that the location was the best you could have in Darwin. there were plenty of people around to socialize with and the bed was pretty comfortable. one of my only complaints was how loud the door to the dorm was everytime you opened it. my roommates were nice , but expect to find junk all over the floor. it seems like a lot of people who stay her only come to party and work. the staff isn't helpful at all and are actually kind do of rude. you'll find the people you meet are much kinder.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New South Wales,

Location of backpackers was excellent

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Pros: convenient
As this was a first time for me to stay in a "backpackers",,,,It was all good. On arrival the staff were very friendly and helpful ,although ,knowing what i know now, they could of told me that cutlery was available for hire at reception.