Ratings based on 754 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointing service

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Room was great and very comfortable
we returned to the hotel after attending a function and wanted to go to the bar for a nightcap, however were told the bar was closed. When we tried to ring room service on a number of occasions there was no answer. I feel this is a poor service
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Very nice hotel, but...

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Excellent location. Convenient parking. Excellent staff
Cons: We had problems with accessing the internet. A shower towel mat would have been nice.
Location: A few blocks from the shopping area. Lovely park with ocean views next to hotel. Go feed the fish at Doctor's Gully across the street.
My wife and I stayed for two nights during October of 2016. It was a nice hotel but we had some disappointing issues. With the name “Hilton” as part of the hotel name, we had expected a certain level of standards. We were a little disappointed first with the bathroom and especially the shower. The shower doesn’t have curtains or a door to keep the shower splash away from the rest of the bathroom. It is designed and built so that the water runs away from the rest of the bathroom floor and back down a drain in the shower area. Unfortunately this doesn’t keep the water from the shower splashing outside of the shower area. The hotel does not provide any bathroom shower towel mats so we had to resort to using one of the face towels. The other issue we had was the internet service. In the morning after our first night the internet stopped working. I tried all of the remedies and ended up calling the front desk which in turned had to call up the internet provider. The problem was resolved but it was a little annoying. The hotel front desk did a courtesy check to make sure the problem was resolved for which I was impressed with. My wife used the swimming pool and she told me that in order to get a towel for the pool she was directed to go through the restaurant area. In order to return the towel she had to once again go through the restaurant area but there was a sign which stated that if you were wet you weren’t allowed into the restaurant area. I suppose the fact that there was
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Double Tree Hilton is all about double delight!

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: The staff attitude and care which made us feel wanted and cared for.
Cons: Lacks a souvenir!
Location: All the hotspots and crafts and restaurants are within range!
From start to finish it was a pleasantly memorable experience. I would certainly rate the staff as one of the best I have encountered - friendly, efficient and caring! The King Suite was neat and ambient with a lovely ocean view in the distance.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Prachtig Hotel dicht aan de kuststrook

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Alles
Cons: Niets
Location: Esplanade, gezellige pubs en goede seafood restaurant op de pier
Heel vriendelijk onthaal, maken je vlug wegwijs in deze leuke en klein overzichtelijke stad die Darwin is. Prachtig om te flaneren langs de kustlijn en arenden boven je hoofd zien te cirkelen, en de kaketoe's die volop zitten te kwetteren, kortom een ideale rustmoment in je reis. Lekker eten ook in het hotel-restaurant, wat je niet vlug zou verwachten.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Average Hotel in Good Location

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: The location is fantastic and across the road from beautiful gardens great for evening walks. A nice pool is always a hit with the kids.
Cons: The hotel is dated and in need of a makeover but the rooms are clean and fresh. However, daily housekeeping needs to improve.
The location is the best part of this hotel. Located on the Esplanade within walking distance to the CBD and short car ride to the waterfront where you can enjoy good food by the pier. Generally, the staff are friendly but lacked enthusiasm to offer a warm greeting and a friendly smile...it was just work to some. However, my gratitude to the elderly gentleman (sorry...I didn't ask his name) who was always polite and keen to offer his services and suggestions in the restaurant with a smile.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Sep 28, 2016
First room was below standard for me for a business trip. Talked with the staff at reception and they very quickly found me another room, they were very helpful and understanding. Overall I had a very good trip. Not having to worry about parking was a big bonus.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Very good location

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Location was very good. We could see the seaside from the hotel and was closed to any city attractions.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from singapore

Nice hotel close to city center

Posted Sep 17, 2016
This hotel is close to the coastal area, a park right infront where the coastal front is, and is within walking distance to city center. Mitchell Street is just right behind. Get to watch sun set fr the hotel balcony. Staff are friendly and helped us store frozen scallops till our flight back on our last day. Room is spacious n clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sunshine Coast

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Wotif
Nice hotel close to beach, city & transport. Bed very comfy. Would be nice to have a choice of pillows in case you prefer something firmer
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Quiet Location.

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: quiet location, close enough to Mitchel st, but away from the noise. great view from front of hotel
Cons: Staff, treatment of guests, cleanliness, quality of linen/pillows.
Location: Mitchel Street nightlife district only 5 mins walk away.
Poor customer service. Rooms need a very good clean especially in bathrooms. (mould/scum buildup visible at the bottom of the shower) My request for 2 extra pillows was met with the response of "we don't really have any extra pillows" This is a 4 star, Hilton brand hotel! how does it not have spare pillows?!? Had to change rooms 3 times, and for some reason the front desk thought it was ok to downgrade our room so that we wouldn't get their construction noise. we required a baby cot for a 9 week old. I called the morning of our arrival to confirm the cot. We arrived 1 am, no cot. Changed rooms. had to ask for the cot again. Eventually got it at 3am, and i had to set it up myself. I have worked and stayed in 6 other Hilton locations around Australia, this has been by far the worst.