Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Hidden Gem!

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Internet signal is very bad but it is not the hotel's fault. The island needs more towers.
Location: The hotel offers excursions and they do have a nice little tikki bar but primarily this place is geared to RELAX.
What an amazing place, with the exception of internet access. Personal butler (Erving) what a great guy! Owner is personally involved and engaged with guests! Very pleasant and relaxing place. Staff bends over backwards to accommodate. Manager even constructed a makeshift tower to mount a wifi booster at my bungalow. Food was very good, reasonably priced and a very expansive menu - something for everyone. Delivered right to your accommodation or the beach if you prefer. The gardening is absolutely beautiful and the property well maintained and constantly being improved. Free ferry to Davao. Not a downside but a lot of units are built into the hillside so there are a lot of steps/uphill pathways - 216 steps to a beautiful Jacuzzi/cool pool, fed from the mountain spring! Which you need after all the steps!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Only choice if you have no other option

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Very poor facility (old bathroom & noisy old style aircon). The beach is not great to swim in. Staff are very nice though. Dinner outside on the porch or on the beach is lovely. Food is not bad.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

Paid for 5 nights. Stayed one night.

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Location is stunning
Cons: Sell it to a company that can run a hotel.
Location: We ordered a boat tour for the following morning. In the morning, the boat tour could not be mustered together. We were the ONLY guests.
Breakfast was not edible. I ordered the "American" breakfast. It was not edible. Nothing about the food was even ok. This is a resort in a beautiful tropical setting but you are stuck at this resort unless you want to ride for an hour each way to Davao. There is no place to buy some food. No place to eat. The resort has no eating facility, just a kitchen. You can eat at the water or at your room but the food is brought plated to you. There is no café of any kind. There also was no hot water. We checked out after the first night and breakfast. And also be aware that anything that Expedia says about breakfast being included is not correct. Expect an additional 6,000 - 12,000 pesos (150 - 300 us) a DAY for additional charges.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PHILIPPINES

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: ONLY THING I LIKE ABOUT THIS HOTEL IS LOCATION TO ALL ACTIVITYS.THE HOTEL STAFF ARE VERY HELPFUL AND GET TO U NEEDS FAST BUT THE RESORT ITSELF NEED MU
Cons: NEEDS LOTS OF IMPROVING TOO MANY BUGS SNAKES IN ROOM AND IN BATHROOMS LIGHTS KEEP GOING OUT NO POWER LATE AT NIGHT THERE BACKUP POWER DOESNT TURN ON
Location: LOTS OF WATERSPORTS AND ACTIVIES TO DO THERE MANY THINGS OF EVERY TYPE
RESORT NEEDS ALL IMPROVING SHOWERS HAVE NO FLOW TO THEM AT ALL LIGHTING NEEDS VERY MUCH INPROVING TOO MANY BUGS IN ROOMS AND IN BATHROOMS TOLIETS TAKES MANY FLUSHES TO DEPOSIT WATES THRU THEM SWIMING POOL HAS TOO MUCH ALGRE IN IT NEEDS LOTS OF CLEANING OUT AND MORE CHEMICALS.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from p. m. t. Norway

Nice staff and nice with a personal butler.

Posted Jun 1, 2015
It was not easy to get there in the late evening when my flight was delayed. You have to go there by boat, but the last boat was gone. We managed to get there by car but used more that two hours and the road was very bad. Very nice staff there and a nice place by the beach. Quite place with not so much people. The wifi connection was very slow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Didith from Sydney, Australia

One of the highlights...

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: the fact that the room is high up on the ground and the view is fantastic
Location: well the property is very secluded but it is close to everything... you will never get bored...
The hut we stayed was beautiful and the view is amazing.. I cannot be more happy and we even have our own butler... The staff are very helpful and they will spoil you like king and queen... love it...
1 out of 5
by william

I spent 3 days trying to cancel this hotel.

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: not a clue. never got there.
Cons: Expedia needs a better way of contacting them when things go wrong and changes need to be made.
Location: who knows?
I spent 3 days trying to cancel this booking, but Expedia was totally useless in this regard. Telephone and internet connections did not help, and the "call back" system never worked. Once I reached civilization in China, I successfully was able to send an email to Expedia, but still haven't had a reply or heard anything about a refund 5 days later. Unless I do, this is probably the LAST TIME I will ever book on Expedia.
2 out of 5
by Paul from Philippines

Not as advertised

Posted Jul 5, 2013
Pros: Not much....not as advertised...everything was limited....Can't even get load.
Cons: Food.. Change the menu....worst hamburger I ever had.
Location: Limited...there was a tour of a bat cave????? Who cares.
No HBO....3 TV stations.....Food was awful....Need to revamp the menu.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sylvia and Len from Buffalo, NY, USA

paradise with rough edges

Posted Mar 25, 2013
Pros: staff and birds and flowering trees
Cons: wet toilet area and stair climb
Location: lovely
Built on a hill, it is a place for the phisically fit. Thetre are MANY stairs to climb when in the Gorei house or the 2 upper round huts. The website does not indicate where the rooms are, so it is difficult to tell. There are cottages closer to the ground level, but they were not listed as choices for a room. The pool is lovely. The beach is terrible. You cannot go into the water because it is not maintained or cleaned. Rocks and moss. The view, however, from the Gorei house is wonderful and the sounds of the birds is great and relaxing. The leaky pipes in the toilet area left the floor constantly wet. Piles of old building materials and unused furniture everywhere, Needs better upkeep. The staff is great; kind and polite, so that balances the overall view of our stay. Also web site needs updating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by James Bond from Singapore

The only Zoo-Resort in the World

Posted May 10, 2012
Pros: Friendly staff and owner
Cons: Sometimes agressive tropical birds
Location: On Samal island, a bit remote.
Very friendly Staff and Owner, delicious food, the rooms are somewhat small according to European standards, and the bathroom quite simple. You can enjoy romantic diners on the beach, organized by the staff, island day-trip tour, or island hopping. You are living among tropical birds, animals, be ready to be wake up each morning at 6:00am by loud cries and noise from the birds. Noisy aircon also, but that's Filipino standard. But if you like animals, birds, or have kids, they should love it. Internet is a problem to be resolved.