Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Nice hotel. Convenient for my needs.

Posted Jun 18, 2017
Pros: Location. Accommodations.
Cons: Bathrooms could use updating.
I stayed for 2 1/2 weeks on my first trip to David and to Panama. Staff were cordial, courteous and very competent. We enjoyed the restaurant.
3 out of 5
by alexis

Meh

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
Hotels.com booking offered us one family suite for 2 adults and 3 children, but upon reaching hotel, the room was not available. Had to use a smaller room and they added an extra bed. Staff was helpfull through this but inevitably we where all cramped in. Thankfully it was just for 1 night.
2 out of 5
by frederic

DON"T waste your Money!!

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
terrible choice..have stayed at some of the other budget hotels in David and was looking for an upgrade. Decided to treat ourselves and stay at the Gran National..we paid $40.00 more then the standard rate for a room with a balcony and a pool view only to find out they have No balconies..and we got a roof view!!..when we complained they said for another $15.00 per night we could have a poolside room..no thanks they had 0 privacy...our room had no wash cloths, no hand towels, no bath mat.the hotel was so HOT..and our a/c barley worked..took 2 days to cool down..this is a Jr. Suite..really!!...It poured on of the nights we were there so we got to experience the leaks in the ceiling....do not waste your money..the Castillo and the Alaca are a much better value. Check out the picture of our balcony with a pool view...NOT!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Posted Apr 19, 2017
The hotel was adequate for a short stay but is very "tired." In the city of David, however, it fit right in. The staff were very gracious and helpful.
4 out of 5
by Douglas

Gran Hotel Nacional

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
Comfortable hotel and downtown location. Very enjoyable breakfast. Enjoyed Casino bar/restaurant across the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Clean nice breakfast. Comfortable bed good location - food good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riva, MD

Nice hotel in downtown David

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: We like the breakfast buffet and the restaurant here . big nice pool. big comfortable rooms with ac that work well and great showers.
Cons: Nothing . Best hotel in David in general in my opinion.
Location: Downtown good location.
Best breakfast buffet in town. Best pool surrounded by tended lawns and many birds everywhere. Cannot recommend the steaks in the attached barbecue restaurant, too hard twice we have been there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming Hotel in David, Panama

Posted Jan 28, 2017 on Hotels
Very charming place to stay in the heart of downtown David. Although older, we enjoyed the nostalgic touches such as carved wooden doors for each room. Service was great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, poor details

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: The staff accepted to change our room for another area without painted walls.
Cons: Use water based paints for maintenance
Location: good location in the middle of everything
First room assigned was in the middle of a recently painted hall, highly disturbing paint odors
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

old and expensive

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: breakfast, rooms
this is a classic hotel that has not refurbished almost anything