Ratings based on 705 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV

Hyatt place bomb

Posted Aug 6, 2017
So after relying on hyatt as a quality brand for over 10 years, this one night had changed all of the previous experiences together. First, when we checked in and got our room it was an ADA room with the walk in shower, the bed was low to the ground and the feet end was higher than the head. Then they didn't have the blanket for the pull out sofa bed and when we asked for a blanket they explained they would get a load of laundry started since there were no clean blankets. When we tried to go back to the front desk and see about other rooms available, the only other option was another ADA room. The front desk said the hotel was booked up for the night and no other rooms available. I went to get ice later and found out I had to go to the 2nd floor in order to get ice, no machines on ground floor. When I was in the elevator I noticed a sticker on the elevator permit, which was expired, April 21st 2017, we were staying there on July 29th 2017. We figured that being on the 1st floor was safe, but we had doors slamming all night and people shouting in the hallway, didn't quiet down until 0315 in the early AM, basically a very uncomfortable night. For breakfast the next morning I went to get coffee and as I poured it out, i noticed lots of grounds when pouring, nice job staff. We left way before checkout time and went to have breakfast at a reliable establishment. Some anniversary weekend!!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great location on the UC Davis campus.

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Easy to get to from the highway. Great location on UC Davis campus. Very convenient to shops and restaurants in Davis. Short drive to Sacramento. hotel was clean and staff was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Exceptional Staff Makes This A Special Place

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Location: You can easily walk to downtown Davis and its incredible selection of high quality restaurants.
I can't compliment the staff enough at this hotel. They are all incredibly professional and go out of their way to assist their guests. While the facility is very nice the reason I find myself coming back again and again is the quality people. Congratulations to management on providing obviously excellent training and to the staff for their commitment to their guests. Good Show!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Finished toilet paper roll in the night, no second roll in the room? Had to ask twice to fix a constantly running toilet - than left a message saying it was just a slight adjustment of the chain. Paper thin walls and could hear people above walking in their room (sounded like they were stomping the whole time).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Disappointing and stressful stay

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: The rooms were clean and comfy until the leak happened.
Cons: The lobby, could use some improvement. New furniture would be nice and clean lobby. Hot breakfast could be more appetizing and add more variety.
Location: Great location, near downtown Davis.
The staff were nice and helpful but the facility could use some improvement. No rooms available at check in time of 3 pm, had to wait a while. Lobby was not clean, breakfast was not the best but better than none, the rooms were clean and beds comfortable but you can hear the people walking/running from the room above. Stayed for 2 nights but the second night at around 9:30 pm the bathroom from above started leaking (like rain) in our bathroom where the toilet is situated. Called the guest host and someone checked it out right away, we have to move to a smaller room, from 2 queen beds to a 1 king bed. No compensation were offered for the inconvenience and the down size in room. I was very disappointed and stressed out with the move, have to pack everything in a hurry instead of relaxing to go to sleep. The rooms were a bit pricey but location is very convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corona, CA

Nice hotel close to UC Davis

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Cons: First phone help for driving directions got us lost. Second try was successful. Need to ensure those giving road directions really know the area.
Location: Great hotel for visiting UC Davis. Downtown Davis is fun.
Very helpful staff. Good breakfast offerings. Quiet. Short drive to downtown Davis with lots of fun shops and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Great rooms, staff not so professional.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: The hotel rooms were clean and spacious.
Cons: The staff attitude was bad, anxious and not professional. They could use some training how to deal with situation, when the computer system is down.
Location: The location is great. US Davis with all the amenities and parks is close by. Sophisticated and nice people.
We have been returning back from Europe and needed to stay at the hotel for one night The computer system was down and we had 2 little kids with us. The receptionists let us wait for a long time after our 13 hours flight and with 9 and 7 year old children, who were sleeping in a hotel lobby on a sofa. The staff was rude and nervous and made us feel uncomfortable. The rooms were spacious, clean and we like them a lot.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon City, OR

False advertising/overpriced

Posted Jul 10, 2017
In list of amenities there was supposedly a hotel bar, room service, in room massage. But there was none of that. Their idea of a hotel bar was being able to buy a beer or wine from the overpriced snack bar in the lobby. Which is another gripe I have. They removed all the vending machines so you were forced to use their snack bar. The hotel map even says ice & vending machines on floors 2 and 4. Plus you have to pay $14 per night to park in the parking lot of the hotel you are already paying to stay at.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Excellent hotel for business at UC Davis

Posted Jul 9, 2017
We definitely enjoyed our stay at this hotel with friendly staff, pleasing amenities, an excellent complimentary hot breakfast, and a large and comfortable room. The only gripe was the A/C, which had to be on all night due to the heat but was incredibly loud - sounded like a jet taking off next to the bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Location to campus
Cons: More breakfast items
Great staff and perfect location for campus access