Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great unusual hotel!

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels
Classic Swiss hotel in a fantastic unique location. Cool bar, great terrace, taking the funicular up and down is a novelty and not too much inconvenience - every 15 mins during the day and from 7pm every 30 mins till 2am. Rooms are modest but clean and comfortable and have incredible views from the terrace.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Skiing trip

Posted Feb 9, 2017
First time back at this old favourite for many years. Sadly the lack of investment is showing and it is quite shabby in the public areas and the bedrooms are in urgent need of an upgrade. Nothing can take away from the location though.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A wonderful slice of history atop a mountain

Posted Jun 12, 2016
I stayed here for just 24 hours in order to rest and get some work cleared. This hotel is a rarity in a world which measures hotel 'excellence' very uniformly (a certain style with facilities provided in a certain way). What I mean is that this hotel has its very own, unique character. A former TB sanatorium, the clocks used to organise patients' days still illuminate the corridors. The original sinks still feature in the en suite bathrooms. The same heating system is used, the lifts are unchanged. Bookcases containing volumes once lent to patients wanting to while away the months on end up in the mountains in the hope of recovery, line the corridors of the third floor. The former hospital ward on the second floor still boasts the call system. The building is frozen in time yet extremely comfortable. The combined effect of this is one that is ultimately very relaxing; you forget the hustle and bustle and demands of life 'down below'. Deliciously prepared food, a vast space and quiet spacious rooms help the process. And, if the temptations of life down below become too much, excellent free wifi is available across the site. And, if you're determined to measure the hotel through a modern prism, a wonderful new sauna/spa area can be found on the ground floor. I couldn't recommend this place more highly and suggest you go as this space does not do it justice!
4 out of 5
by Janete

Posted Sep 1, 2015 on Hotels
The location is great – you cannot get a better view in Davos. But the facilities are not that great. The rooms are old (they are plain old, not antiques nor historical nor charming). In my opinion, this hotel is overpriced.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2015 on Hotels
Tremendous location. Very pleasent staff. lovely bright big airy rooms, only spoilt by poor beds and mattresses.
5 out of 5
by Benjamin from Rochester, NY

Breathtaking Alpine scenic views and great service.

Posted Jul 30, 2015 on Hotels
Friendly, warm , efficient service. Went the extra mile I had hurt my ankle running the Swiss Alpine Marathon, gladly provided plenty of ice for my ankle. Unparalleled views of the Alps, breathtaking setting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for hiking relax VG breakfast VG wellness

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Great for hiking relax VG breakfast VG wellness Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Frosty Reception

Posted Mar 15, 2015
When I arrived at reception after two flights and a three-hour train journey followed by an interesting funicular ascent, I was met with a very 'frosty' reception and told in a very rude manner that despite my reservation they didn't have a room for me and that I had to go back down to Davos Town and stay at the Hotel Europe which I am sure is a very pleasant hotel but ISNT the BergHotel. I protested very vigorously and after some altercation was grudgingly told that I could stay that night but that they weer full the next day. I contacted reception the next day and they had obviisly had time to rehink this and they told me I could stay but this all left a very sour taste .
5 out of 5
by Andrew from Zurich

A fantastic stay in a gorgeous old hote

Posted Feb 11, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel offers a very special atmosphere. A beautiful old building, very friendly staff, and good service. It was a good mix between good service but not too overbearing.