Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Don't Stay Here If Need Flexible Travel Plans.

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: Breakfast is good. Room was clean. Offered ride to train station. Good location. But if you need to be flexible in your travel plans, don't book el
Cons: See above.
Location: Went to a conference at the Conference center a few blocks away.
I reserved room through Expedia; did not pay in advance. Once there, I needed to change travel plans and depart one day prior than scheduled. Hotel insisted that since I booked through Expedia that they "had to" charge me for the final night even though I was checking out early. Expedia could not or would not help. Forced to pay for extra night when checked out (Nothing in the fine print anywhere). Hotel very stubborn regarding me paying for a night after I checked out. So if you need to have flexible travel plans consider one of the may other fine options. The hotel was probably at one time a truly Grand European Hotel; this is still their corporate vision, but certainly is not part of the corporate culture with the employees. Sort of Disneyesque play acting. Will stay elsewhere next year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2017 by Tina Heide, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. S., Thank you for your frank feedback. As per our discussion on the spot upon your departure, I was expecting this review from your side. This is unfortunate, but as this is an official review, I am pleased to have the chance, to also officially comment your note. The offer you booked through Expedia was not a non-refundable rate, which you have confirmed one year in advance prior to your arrival. Therefore we held this room for you for at least 12 month. Expedia´s cancellation policies have been agreed on from both sides. Since, you have left two nights before the original check out date, we have acted generously with a compensation of one full rate. Even though this is a 3rd party booking, we have acted as described, although it was neither our responsibility nor duty, to do so. Therefore it saddens me a great deal, that you cannot appreciate our concession. Nevertheless, we hope to have the chance, to convince of our services some time. Yours sincerely, Tina Heide General Manager
5 out of 5
by ALAN

Posted Jul 25, 2017 on Hotels
Made very welcome with our Labrador. Given free room upgrade. Breakfast excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017
Dear Alan, Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at the Steigenberger Grandhotel Belvédère and for taking the time to rate us here on Hotels.com. Indeed dogs are also welcome in our Grandhotel. It would be nice to greeting you again soon. Yours Sincerely, Tina Heide General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Sehr geehrter Gast, herzlichen Dank für Ihren Aufenthalt bei uns im Steigenberger Grandhotel Belvédère. Ebenso möchten wir Ihnen dafür danken, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben uns zu bewerten. Insbesondere, da Sie uns fünf von fünf Sternen gegeben haben. Wir würden uns sehr freuen, Sie wieder einmal bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen. Herzlichen Dank und beste Grüße, Ihr Thomas Kleber General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from auckland

Great place to stay

Posted Sep 14, 2016
A well refurbished and maintained grand old dame with great staff , food and wine. Why go anywhere else?
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by Thomas Kleber, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at the Steigenberger Grandhotel Belvédère and for taking the time to rate us here on expedia. It is great to see, that you truly enjoyed your stay with us, with our attentive staff and our favorable food and wine offerings. We hope to greet you soon again. Sincerely yours, Thomas Kleber General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best in Davos

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on CheapTickets
Pros: Location
Cons: Outside facilities needs updates.
Location: Go to the mountains
Best location in Davos with free parking. Good breakfast, updated pool and spa. Immaculate beds, linen and bathrooms.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Swiss Trip

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable with excellent servic and facilities
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at the Steigenberger Grandhotel Belvédère and for taking the time to rate us here on hotels.com. I am delighted to learn, that you enjoyed our unparalleled service and our various facilities. We hope to greet you soon again. Warmest Regards SebastianH. Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by Denise from Switzerland

Posted Feb 14, 2016 on Hotels
very friendly and helpful staff, breakfast buffet was great, old style hotel with unhygienic carpet floors, spa section not on 5 star level, kids are allowed in spa section which makes it loud and unpeaceful, if you're looking for quiet, relaxing days this hotel is the wrong choice. The hotel should be modernized.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2016 by SebastianH, Hotel Management
Dear Denise, Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at the Steigenberger Grandhotel Belvédère and for taking the time to rate us here on hotels.com. I am delighted to learn, that you enjoyed our unparalled service and our sumptuous breakfast buffet. As for the SPA, we are currently in the process of reviewing the wellness area in order to maximize the guest satisfaction for all of our customers. I apologize if you experienced such a negative surrounding. In addition, indeed we are modernizing sections of our hotel step by step, initiated through a huge renovation in 2013. We hope to greet you soon again so we can convince you from our ongoing improvement process. Warmest Regards Sebastian Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Cheryl from Geneve

Excellent hotel and weekend away.

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic hotel to stay at, worth the 5* rating. Added to this the free 'Davos card' which enabled free use of all cable/mountain railways made Davos well worth the visit.
5 out of 5
by Marc

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels