Ratings based on 333 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York,ny

Soaked!

Posted Jul 18, 2017
The hotel was nice and I actually gave a 5 star review before my trip was over, I jumped the fun! The carpet was wet when we first arrived and I told this to the maintenance man who came to look at the lamp that fell apart on its on. He said it was because they cleaned the carpet,but much to my dismay I discovered it was the leaky bathroom faucet! By this time the carpet all around my bed was soaked! We were offered a new room but we were leaving that morning. We were also offered free breakfast at the rooftop restaurant, but again we had an early flight out and the restaurant wouldn't have been open. My sneakers were soaked and I had to blow dry them for 20minutes so that I could wear them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Convenient walk to most places downtown. Friendly staff, clean room, comfy bed.
Cons: Service in rooftop restaurant and quality of food. We had free breakfast and glad it was free because it really wasn't that good.
Location: Within walking distance to Schuster Center, Riverscape, 5/3 Field and Oregon District.
Nice evening enjoyed the Dayton Dragons game and Fireworks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Great downtown location.

Posted Jul 4, 2017
We've stayed here before and the Crown never disappoints. The outdoor pool was open and though a bit chilly for July it was a nice soak. Rooms are clean but show some age with ware and tare as you would expect in a frequented location. Parking is easily validated at no charge, to the convention garage which is connected by skybridge. Smaller vehicles recommend!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

A standard 3-Star, nothing more or less

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Pros: New bedding, plenty of outlets, coffee pot and coffee in the room, travel size amenities, 24-hour gym, friendly staff.
Cons: Musty smell-this must have been a smoke-friendly hotel at some point with no carpet removal since, room A/C, room size too small for 2.
Location: On the weekend, Dayton is completely void of cars or people. It was incredibly eerie. There is fast food around the corner, but that's it.
This is a standard 3-star hotel. Almost everything in the hotel is extremely aged and contains the usual musty smell. However, the bedding in the room was upgraded fairly recently, and the room was clean. The room itself is extremely tiny and my husband and I found ourselves walking on top of each other with no space around the bed to walk around or in the bathroom to get ready together. Very, very small for the price. The check-in process was very quick due to booking via Expedia. Considering that all of downtown Dayton is ghost town on the weekend, I'm surprised that they put us on the top (12th) floor. One of the card keys that they gave us did not work, so I'm glad that we asked for 2 so that we did not have to trek back down to the lobby with our bags. The parking is confusing. You actually have to park in the Convention Center parking garage and walk over to the hotel in a covered bridge. I had to call the hotel to find entrance into the parking garage due to all the one way streets. The room was noisy in general from the water running in other rooms and from the loud air conditioning unit. It seemed to have a difficult time regulating the temperature in the room as it turned on for 30 seconds every 10 minutes, and each time passed an electrical burning smell through the room similar to a baseboard heater. All in all, the hotel was good for a 1-night stay, and lives up to its 3 star rating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Convenient to hospital

Posted May 18, 2017
Very cordial staff. Valet, front desk and restaurant staff all pleasant and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

A Worn Out Crowne Plaza

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: The view from the bar and the location.
Cons: Staff training and updating.
I think of the Crowne Plaza chain as being a bit upscale. This one is not. It didn't look like it had been updated since the 1980's. The staff was sloppily dressed and I would say poorly trained. The man ahead of me while I waited to check in had a very expensive problem with his parking voucher and the guy at the desk was just "very sorry" while not sounding very sorry at all... just irritated... and not helpful. However, on the upside, the view from the bar is very nice and the young woman bartender was a peach. However the young waiter started off his conversation with us with a list of what they did NOT have. The breakfast buffet at $11 was just not that good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntsville

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Generally a pretty nice place
Cons: Correct the described housekeeping staff issues.
Location: We were there over the weekend and everything downtown Dayton appeared closed (also it stormed the whole trip).
I put a sign on the door (their sign) to make up the room while we were out. Returned late in the day and it had been "forgotten" and staff left for the day. Management sent someone up with fresh towels etc. I was unhappy.
3 out of 5
by Mark

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Needs a Make Over!
4 out of 5
by Shannon

dayton

Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels
very nice and comfortable stay
4 out of 5
by Frank

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
I am a writer and I go from town to town traveling to different comic cons to promote my books about a female superhero named Tercona. This was the 2nd time I stayed at the Crown Plaza. I was at the Dayton Convention Ctr for the Gem City Comic Con. The room was clean, the service was great, the bed was nice, and it was quite so I could write. The one thing I love is that this hotel is connected to the convention center and it's also connected to the parking lot which makes it very convenient. The only bad thing is (and this is me just nit picking) the restaurant didn't have any hot Belgian waffles on their breakfast buffet. They had them in 2016 when I stayed here the last time. I was looking forward to them again, but...no hot Belgian waffles this time. :( Everything else was great though.