Ratings based on 313 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Decent Hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2017
This is my second year staying at the Crowne Plaza. I had booked a room for two double beds but when I came go check in they only had rooms with two twins or one king. The staff was extremely helpful and upgraded us to a suite which ended up being enormous. When we got up to the room it was clean but the carpet was coming up, a socket was ripped from the wall and the tub was clogged so when we took showers we were standing in a couple of inches of water. I will honestly probably stay there every year I'm down in Dayton for business because of the convenience but I will do so with the expectations that I'm paying higher price for an amazing staff but a mediocre facility.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Jeff B., Hotel Management
Hello Ryan, Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We take great pride in serving you so we are glad to hear that you found our staff helpful and accommodating. We apologize that you experienced issues with our facility. I have passed along your comments to our director of engineering. We look forward to seeing you next time! Sincerely, Jeff Baumgardner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Hotel is convenient and comfortable!

Posted Jan 29, 2017
When we travel to Dayton we stay at the Crowne Plaza. Staff is always helpful and professional. Rooms are comfortable. Conveniently located, too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First visit to Dayton

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Convenience to downtown and friendly staff
Cons: For people self parking it would help to have signage. I had to pull up to the counter after driving around
Tried find a place to stay for a business trip in Dayton. Staff was nice and facilities were good. Restaurant at the top was a cool experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus Oh

Downtown Dayton

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Super nice staff went out of their way to make our stay the best. Clean room ,comfortable bed. Killer breakfast,nice rooftop bar& hooked us up with late checkout. Definitely be back
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MSP

strange hot water situation, suitcase up stairs?

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Resteraunt on the top floor. nice view - ok food.
Cons: Getting to the parking ramp requires carrying your suitcase up a larger staircase.
Location: slow downtown area.
I can't remember ever not having cold water - even the toilet. Getting to the parking ramp requires carrying your suitcase up a larger staircase. The new front desk guy was very helpful and friendly. The gal training him was impatient with him and me?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Excellent accommodations. Clean with a very comfortable bed. Plenty of outlets. Shower had good pressure and constant temperature. The breakfast buffet in the restaurant had a good variety of choices both hot and cold. The wait staff was very professional and friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
Room was small. Overpriced accommodations. Not many restaurants.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Connected to Convention Center

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: It was across from the convention center
Cons: Update the décor Properly staff the restaurant (actually have staff for breakfast)
Location: It was across from the convention center
The hotel showed its age and did not look like there had been any updates made in a long while. I was told by staff that because I booked through Expedia (Expedia paid?) I could not get my loyalty points. My family was at the hotel less than 12 hours. I called the front desk the night before to see what time the restaurant opened and was told 6:30 AM. When my family and I arrived at 6:45 AM we found a large number of people waiting and no staff. My daughter was unable to get a proper meal before her completion. The front desk offered fruit and muffins, but by the time we got down there all were gone. I find it hard to understand how a business can function for very long when it treats its customer like this and misses the opportunity to gain revenue by not being properly staffed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2016
We were at a gymnastics competition this past weekend and booked this hotel because it was right across the street. Since we were there for 2 nights at $150+ per night we spent a decent amount of money there for accommodations, food and drinks. The hotel (supposedly non-smoking) halls and rooms reeked of smoke. the carpets throughout were dingy and gross, the rooms and elevators are in dire need of an upgrade. Breakfast was the most important meal since we were starting are mornings bright and early on Sat and Sun. Food on Sat a buffet style was unreplenished and a $15 a person was not worth it. the kicker was Sunday morning patrons trying to get breakfast before the meet at 7AM supposedly open at 6:30 and restaurant was not open nor did it ever before we had to go. The hotel staff brought down complimentary muffins, fruit and coffee but this was hardly enough for young athletes. Scores of us were there. The hotel lost a lot of money that morning from those families who would've spent $45+ each at their restaurant. The brand name Crown Plaza means nothing anymore. We will not be back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very convenient to convention center

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Although the hotel was old our room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was small but functional. We were there for a competition at the convention center. It was so nice to walk to the convention center in 2 minutes and not have to worry about parking. One downfall was the restaurant "closed" because of inadequate staffing. The front desk did a great job supplying continental breakfast which was fine for us.