Ratings based on 1,291 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Bend, IN

If you just need a place to sleep

Posted Feb 19, 2018
The overall experience of this place wasn’t the greatest. One of the things that is always a mystery to us in places that seem to be losing quality is lack of attention to details in the room. I know this seems petty but why does the paint job have to be SO MESSY that i feel like we are in a slumb motel? Wall paint on cabinets, on the mirror, etc. I guess that part of the issue we had was as the location that felt a bit unsafe. Would not stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Posted Feb 12, 2018
The room is old and worn. Not cleaned very well. You get what you pay for with this room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2018 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
We are so sorry for your stay.. We are addressing the housekeeping issues... We hope you will give us another try when you come back to town. Thank you for your review.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dayton, ohio

Quick overnight

Posted Feb 10, 2018
I was able to book at the last minute for a reasonable price the room was modest and clean. However there is a 100 deposit and it takes several days to put it back on your card
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2018 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review.. We do apologize for the deposit taking so long to go back to your card.. it does depend on what bank you do bank with. We hope you give us another try when you come back to town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Served its purpose

Posted Feb 9, 2018
The rate was great, the bed comfortable. Shower was a trickle. Would have been nice if Expedia would have mentioned the place required $109 deposit even though we had already paid in full.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2018 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review.. We are addressing the Maintanence issue. We do require a deposit. sorry you wasnt informed about the deposit. We hope to see you in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pa

Relocation

Posted Feb 3, 2018
Hotel is dated. Cigarette butts are everywhere and need cleaned up. Signs in parking lots say hotel's not responsible for a stolen items from your vehicle.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2018 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review.. We are sorry you had a bad experience. We are in the middle of renovations. We hope you give our hotel another try.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just visiting

Posted Jan 29, 2018
Walked into room and it had a very musty smell and the light fixtures in the bathroom were covered in dust and dirt. They did give me another room which was better
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2018 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear about your stay.. We are in the middle of renovations.. We hope you give our hotel another try.. We do apologize again..
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Three star rating? My a**!

Posted Dec 21, 2017
Pros: Staff. I mean the desk staff, housekeeping is terrible.
Cons: Total renovation including housekeeping that cares about their jobs and does it as it should be done.
Location: Did not get out but there appears to be many restaurants and shopping choices in the area. If you stay at a decent hotel.
Reserved this because it is a Wyndham property and had a 3 star rating. Wyndham needs to take their name off this. The room was dirty (not vacuumed, bathroom walls cracked, and bed remade, not changed). Carpet was torn in several places and the bed smelled like it was sprayed with dry cleaning chemicals and not washed. I would not recommend this to anyone. The one bright side to my stay was the staff. Outside of them this place needs to be totally refurbished. They are the only reason this rating was brought up to 1 star instead of 0.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2018 by Assistant Manager , Hotel Management
Hi John, I apologize for your stay with us. We recently went under new management as of November 14, 2017. With that being said we have 6 months to completely renovate rooms. I do apologize for the lack of taking care of our property. We are currently underway with a new outlook here. I can offer you a 15% discount if you choose to come back and stay with us. Thank you for the feedback. Happy New Year.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Ok for the money

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Pros: Cheap
Cons: Updates
Location: Shopping and food
We needed a cheap place to stay on our travel. This fit the bill
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2018 by Hotel Management. , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for reviewing your stay at Hawthorn Suites Dayton North. WE do appreciate your kind words about the hotel and the affordable prices. Thank you for staying for us and we look forward to have you back again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

Dayton Hawthorne by wyndham

Posted Nov 26, 2017
The room was a bit run down. You could see ast repairs to ceilings and walls from possible vandalism (walls) and leaks (ceiling ). All the furniture in the room had damages to the finish in the form of deep scratches and broken drawer runners. The shower area of the bathroom had several spots that had been repaired previously and not done very well. Other conditions in the bath were dirty grout lines, mildew at the base of the tub, and stains on the wallpaper. Found three live stink bugs in the room and another insect that looked similar to a silverfish, although unsure exactly of what it was. Overall, I expected better room conditions from a 3star rated wyndham owned location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2018 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and thank your for you feedback. As we are in renovation process, your feedback is really important to us. We will take it into account as we make improvement decisions. We look forward to have you back checking out our remodeled rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and convenient!

Posted Nov 22, 2017
We always enjoy our stay at the Hawthorn! The staff is friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2018 by Hotel Management , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for sharing your lodging experience at Hawthorn Suites Dayton North. We do appreciate your business and your feedback and we hope to see you back again.