Ratings based on 404 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Value for the Price

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Location, beauty of the surroundings, friendly staff, and great breakfast.
Location: Love visiting town of St Simons and eating and shops close to this hotel.
Love staying here when we are in the area! Great location, and lots to see and do in the area! Thanks for making this a memorable time.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by A MacLean, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of Hampton Inn Daytona Shores. We look forward to seeing you in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2017
We love Hampton Inn, always enjoy our stays at this hotel .
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by A MacLean, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of Hampton Inn!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa

Disappointing for a Hampton Inn

Posted May 4, 2017
The carpet in our room was damp and there were bugs all over the walls. The staff was rude. Overall the hotel seemed to be in disrepair. I will be back to this area but will be staying at a different hotel. Not what I am used to experiencing with most Hamton Inn hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Crystal River, Fl

Short business trip

Posted May 3, 2017
Mostly remodeled room. Great beachfront location. Hot breakfast. Room had balcony with chairs and pool and beach view.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Ashley MacLean - Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Real Estate - Thank you for your review of Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront. We are pleased to read that your business trip here was a good experience. I would like to inform you that our room renovations will soon be complete, as we are waiting for all new furniture to arrive within the next 2 months. We look forward to hosting you in the future. Thank you!
5 out of 5
by golnaz

Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star review!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beaufort, SC

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Room was clean.
I paid extra for a room with oceanfront view. I was very disappointed for the fact that I had to peek around the corner from the room's deck to see the ocean! When I went downstairs to complain, I was told that Expedia did not reserve an oceanfront room for me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by A MacLean - Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Big T - Thank you for your review of Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront. I apologize for the confusion of your booking through the Expedia website. Unfortunately the room booked was an Ocean view, not an Oceanfront. In the future, you may call the hotel to ensure that your booking was exactly what you were expecting. I apologize for the mix up and any inconvenience this caused you. We do hope you'll try our hotel again.
1 out of 5
by jamez from Daytona

roaches

Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
discussing
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017
jamez - I am sorry to read that your experience here was less than satisfactory.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville

Noisy - no sleep

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: The beach
Cons: Hotel needs to be maintained
My room was close to the stairs and the door slammed at all hours of the day and night. I could not sleep at night or nap during the day (from not sleeping at night). A handyman tried to fix it, but it only lasted a few minutes. I asked to be moved, but the hotel was full. If I had the chance to go back and choose a different hotel, I would. Good luck with room placement.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Ashley MacLean - Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Amy - Thank you for your review of Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront. I am terribly sorry to read that your stay here was less than satisfactory. Here at Hampton Inn, we believe all guests should get a good nights sleep. I would like to let you know that maintenance has resolved this issue and other guests will not have to experience this again. We apologize for any inconvenience this caused you.
3 out of 5
by Teresa

Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Tank you for your review of Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront.
5 out of 5
by scott

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront.