Ratings based on 1,029 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to beach

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Noisy, close to strip bars and bars. Noisy neighbors and thin walls.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Concord, NC

will be nice AFTER renovations

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: rooms need updating
Location: pier within walking distance and good variety of restaurants
This hotel is getting some much needed renovations and does not look like pictures on expedia. Very noisy around 8 am with construction noise. Hard to walk out on beach because all the exits are shut down. Great location and once all renovations are complete should be a nice place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We hope you’ll join us again once work is completed later next month! It’s great that our location was ideal for your trip, but we apologize if you weren’t aware of the renovation work being done; we did inform Expedia. Your perspective is much appreciated.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They need to fix a few things in the rooms

Posted Feb 12, 2017
The tile in the bathroom was cracked there was a water stain on the ceiling and the furniture in the rooms looked very worn
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We will be sure to pass your comments along to our maintenance department so they can investigate and make the appropriate repairs if need be. In the future, we hope we can really wow you on another stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bethesda MD

Well Placed

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Room was well laid out and the furnishings were appropiate.
Cons: Couldn't see anything that rises to the level of commenting about it.
Location: Cannot comment.
As I was there in the off-season, there was quite a bit of work being done on the pool area. From what I can see of the work, it will be a great improvement. Needless to say, at times it was noisy during the work-day. However, that aside, the beds and pillows were comfortable, the room was clean and the internet was reasonably fast. The sunrises from the balcony were as splendid as one can imagine from a sea-view. It was a brief business trip, so I can't really comment on the restaurants and other facilities too much. However, I would definitely venture another stay; this time with the family in tow.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Mark, we can’t wait to have the family with us at the Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort! We’re thrilled that you had a comfortable business stay with us, complete with an incredible view of the sunrise over the ocean. Thank you for sharing your experience at our resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Remodel

Posted Jan 27, 2017
The total experience would have been perfect but for the construction going on at the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Once work being done at our resort is complete, we hope you’ll return for the perfect experience at the Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort! We apologize if renovation information wasn’t communicated to you when booking, and we really appreciate your input.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hagerstown md

Not what i expected

Posted Jan 23, 2017
When you arrive all employees are very friendly and welcoming, curb side appeal is good to, lobby is beautiful, but they are doing renovations, hopefully for the better. View from the room was great. Everything outside was blocked off because of construction, no signs anywhere, took us a good 15 mins to figure out how to even get in. Room itself was ok, but not what i expected for a Hilton, bathroom was dirty, i dont think under the sink had ever been cleaned, wall paper all peeling. Didnt feel safe to open our sliding door bc fence was wide gapped and i had a small child. Both pools were closed for renovation, but we were advised we could go to another hotel for the beach and pool which was wonderful!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
While we’re glad the service you received was friendly, we wish other aspects of your stay were as satisfying. Please note, our terrace fencing meets safety regulations and we will share your comments with our housekeeping team. We hope we can fully earn your trust on another stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Great hotel, and staff. Very clean even tho they had construction. Very convient
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for such great comments on the Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort. We’re working hard to prevent our renovation from having an impact on our guests and are glad you found our hotel to be so tidy. We hope you’ll join us again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick stay

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Location: Joe's crab shack is the place to eat
We spent a few nights after a long week of vacation to see Daytona. Location was good close to pier....area on beach was run down, pool was closed for construction...no one told us that !! This hotel was under construction for hurricane damage.....price was right but they tried to double up on the valet each day to the tune of $24 x 2 !!! Charged the resort fee of $9 even though nothing was open.... room was good for a Hilton......little disappointed with the overall stay.....worth the lower fee of $109...but that's it
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We’re glad our location was convenient for your trip. Unfortunately, with third party booking, we do not receive your contact information, but closure info was communicated with Expedia and we apologize if it wasn’t relayed to you. We hope you’ll give us another try in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from missouri

Close to the beach. But under construction.

Posted Jan 14, 2017
The room was great. But couldn't use half the stuff I paid for. The gym and spa were closed and parking was across the street in a terrible little lot. Not very pleased for the price I paid.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Megan, we apologize if you weren’t able to taking advantage of all you were hoping for during your stay at our resort. Unfortunately, several areas were damaged by the Hurricane, which we shared with Expedia and we’re sorry if this wasn’t communicated with you. We hope you’ll give us another chance.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol UK

Excellent Staff everything elce very disappointing

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: What I liked the Staff the Location
From booking in to leaving the Staff where excellent.How ever there where no swimming pools the so called Restaurant was way below what one would expect. The excuse for no pool was Hurricane Matthew. How ever when I'd phoned from the Uk I was told the hotel was fully functional including pools. We had to give our credit card details at book in from which they took $50 per day. incase we left without paying treated like a thief. The manager did his best and was Very very helpful . Four Stars Na
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Tony, we apologize if the closures at our resort weren’t communicated when booking. We alerted Expedia after the hurricane in regards to the damages and we’d like to mention that the incidental hold is listed online. We’re glad our staff provided you with great service and we hope to have you back.